We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I had to stay here after President Obama decided to take over the Serena Hotel. I was very pleased I did. It is a very nice hotel indeed. professional staff on reception and a big cheerful guy called Arnold on the door(Please buy him a new shirt). He deserves it.
The rooms are beautiful, if a little small. The courtyard itself is very nice. The pool is more of a splash pool than a swimming pool but Ok. The breakfast has a wide selection. I wish the staff would be a bit more cheerful and energetic in the restaurant at breakfast time.
The only downside is the distance from town but the traffic is bad everywhere there.
I will stay here again on my next trip. Wifi is free and reasonably fast

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear GUEST

Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard, thank you for staying with us & taking time to share your experience with the travel community. I am glad that you were satisfied with the facilities and services. Arnold is a great guy, will definitely pass your comments to him. We are in the process of changing our STAFF uniforms, you will see him with a new shirt on your next visit!. I will chat with the TEAM about the breakfast service, please accept my sincere apologies for any shortcomings. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels-Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    153
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
28
67
23
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This, by far, is the best Protea Hotel I have ever stayed in! Service was outstanding as were the dinners. Rooms may be small but they are beautifully appointed and well serviced and the beds are comfortable.

What stood out most for me was that it was obvious that the people working at the hotel had a real commitment to their guests and looked happy to be at work no matter what their duties are.
Highly recommended and good value for money! A calm oasis!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Cherry B

Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard, thank you for staying with us and taking time to sharing your experience. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I am immensely proud of our TEAM, they are the true pillars of our establishment. I will definitely pass your comments on to them. We look forward to host you again, karibu tena!

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a very good place to stay. A calm ambience. Food is very good. The highlight was Coconut water served in breakfast. Rooms are very clean. I will definitely choose this as my first preference when I travel next to Dar Es Salaam. Congradulations to the staff and management and keep it up.

N.Ramnathan
Chennai India

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramanathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Ramanathan

Good day, thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dar es Salaam. I am glad that we managed to exceed your expectations, which is what we aim for. I will pass your comments on to our TEAM. We look forward to host you again at the Protea Hotel Courtyard.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels-Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I stayed in the Protea Courtyard twice in the last month and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. The hotel design is lovely - very cute and cosy and I liked the little touches like the laundry bags made from kitenge which reminded me I was in Tanzania and not just an anonymous business hotel anywhere in the world (which some Protea's can feel like). As with other Protea's I have stayed in the staff are exceptionally great - really eficient but also friendly. I thought the food was good and after 2 weeks of nyama choma elsewhere in Tanzania I really valued the vegetarian options in the menu's Indian section. the breakfasts were good and I loved the local options including the masala tea and the coconut water. The hotel was very clean and the beds very comfortable.

(Very) minor complaints include the shower basin filling up very quickly so I had to turn it on and off to allow it to drain (I love the powerful rain head, but the drainage should be able to cope with the water!), the sealant around the shower looking a bit old and in need of replacing, and some noise in the rooms from the courtyard at night, moslty in the rooms near the stairs (bring earplugs!)

Room Tip: Away from the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Emma J

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay apart from a few issues which you mentioned. Since the hotel was built over a decade back using the materials ( predominantly wood) and technologies available at that time, proper sound proofing has not been incorporated. We are looking at ways to sort this issue out. I have noted your comments about the shower taking time to drain & the sealant looking a tad tired. We will be addressing both these issues towards Dec/Jan when the hotel is less busy. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel in Dar Es Salaam which I found via Agoda. It seems to be refurbished recently, the rooms are comfortable and the setting is cosy. Great value for money and I will defensively book this hotel again should I need to go back to Dar Es Salaam!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfrogk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear tfrogk

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this great review. I am delighted to hear that you found us of great value for money. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazzaville, Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I am traveling a lot in Africa. I can say that this hotel is one of the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Very clean, secure, very friendly and efficient staff, every thing in the hotel works. Guests are treated with special attention that makes you feel at home.

Congratulations to the management and staff!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPhilip_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear MrPhilip_6

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this review. I am glad that we managed to ensure that you had a 100% satisfactory stay with us. I will pass the compliments on to our TEAM. We look forward to welcome you back again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The Courtyard is a wonderful hotel...beautiful (especially when they light the lanterns in the courtyard at night), calm, quiet and excellent service. The rooms are lovely with colorful Tiffany lamps. The wifi is excellent. The breakfast has lots of options...even fresh coconut water on some days!

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Corinne A

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review your experience. I am really glad to note that you had a very satisfying stay, we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
1.3 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Address: Seaview Ocean Road, Dar es Salaam 1000, Tanzania (Formerly Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Courtyard offers affordable accommodation in Dar es Salaam, the financial hub of Tanzania. Apart from the friendly and efficient service, along with the high quality facilities, Protea Hotel Courtyard’s location makes it one of the most preferred hotels by both corporate and leisure travellers. This is because the hotel is only 12 kms from the airport, 3 kms from the city centre and 500 metres away from a tranquil, beautiful beach. The hotel offers attractive rates for overnight accommodation to leisure travellers before or after safaris to the famous Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Crater, Lake Manyara, Sealous Game Reserve and Zanzibar. All 52 en-suite rooms are built around a beautiful, lush, green courtyard with the view of the pool. They are tastefully decorated and are equipped with all modern amenities including 32 inch LCD TV offering satellite TV channels (DSTV), personal electronic (laptop friendly) safe, mini bar and direct dialling enabled telephones. Free high speed internet is available via WIFI for our hotel residents. Protea Hotel Courtyard offers a wide array of wining and dining facilities, which comprise of Langi Langi – our multi-cuisine restaurant, Open House – 24 hr coffee shop, Jahazi Bar and 24 hour room service. With so many activities in the area, like a swimming pool, golf courses, yachting and a gym; get ready for an action packed holiday. Not to mention the shopping facilities nearby for all those last minute gifts and memorabilia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing