We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Solid 3 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Very Solid 3 Star”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I really liked the Protea Courtyard in Dar. The rooms are three star. A bit dated, some are cramped. I stayed there twice during my trip there. One room was roomy, the other not. But the A/C worked well, and I had no material complaints. The beds are quite comfortable.

The staff is excellent. Very very friendly and genuine. The bar is cozy and well stocked. The breakfast fare was completely satisfactory. Okay, the coffee could be better. But an espresso sitting in the courtyard makes up for that.

Lots of wood in the lobby, giving it very homey quality. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: One that ends in "08"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear William C

Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this review. I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic experience and that you will be back again. Sorry to hear that you found some of the rooms cramped/dated. Almost all of our rooms are about 23-25 sq mtrs. We had renovated all the rooms a couple of years ago and hence should not have appeared to be dated. Please do share more details with me. But I will definitely check the rooms that you stayed in to ensure that anything that we may have overlooked is attended to immediately. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We look forward to host you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    154
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
69
23
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had gone there for dinner last night, and I enjoyed the choice of food in their menu. The food tasted fresh and was well prepared. The staff were always attentive. The portion of food was adequate, well prepared good presentation and the price was also reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear GUEST

Good day, thank you for dining with us and taking time to write this review. I am really glad to hear that you found the food, service and ambiance of great value for money. We look forward to serve you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The service was absolutely impeccable! at the reception, the restaurant, the bar, the concierge and the housekeeping. The rooms are very nicely decorated and there courtyard is very pleasant to spend time at, whether for a beer, a swim or a dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theo-Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Theo-Pierre

Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this review. I am really glad that you had a fantastic stay with us and that our TEAM looked after you very well. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Don't let the shabby entrance and building fool you, for inside lies a gorgeous property!

The service is great, room was small but simply gorgeous, and the breakfast spread was fantastic.

I did have a problem with the plumbing (leaking wash-basin drain pipe) but it was quickly & efficiently sorted out for me.

The hotel even supplies condoms in the room - truly a first for me!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sizzleralive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear GUEST

Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this candid review. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear that you found our entrance a bit unappealing, but any work done outside the main gate area needs to be approved by the concerned authorities and we are in the process of beautifying the entrance and the surroundings. This will include paving, landscaping etc in the exteriors and remodeling our main-gate. As a part of Tanzania's ongoing fight against HIV, PH Courtyard and many other hotels provide access to free condoms in hotels. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/ Znz
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, warm hospitality - I travel a lot and do not often come across this level of service. Immaculately clean rooms. Fresh and well laid out complimentary breakfast. Restaurant offers decent menu, great food quality. It's a small property, not a 5 star, but doesn't miss out on gym, bar, pool (small one). Outstanding value for money.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GSYuvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear GUEST

Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this great review. I am really glad that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you found us to be of great value for money. All credit goes to the TEAM, who work relentlessly to ensure each every GUEST's comfort. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very nice inside. I stayed here for one night. Old world charm comes to mind when you enter the lobby. Check in and out very easy. All staff very nice, efficient and helpful. Location is in a good area of Dar es Salaam with short ride to number of Dar's attractions. Courtyard is very nice to relax in, pool clean and shady. Rooms generous in size and very comfortable. Bar has a good feel and the barman very nice. A lovely stay whether short or long term.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dejamls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear GUEST

Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to review your experience. I am glad that we pleasantly surprised you! We always strive to deliver more than what GUESTS expect. All credit goes to our lovely TEAM. Thank you once again for the great review, we look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Zanzibar
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I agree with most of the positive reviews. I stayed for three days and two nights - the hotel is a charming refuge from the hussle and bussle of Dar. Compliments to:
- housekeeping for spotlessness throughout;
- the chef and team for an excellent spread and delicious fare (try the gobi manchurian - a cauliflower dish that I had every day for three days - yum);
- the waitstaff, bar and F&B manager for a contemporary World Cup theme;
- the general manager for personal involvement and a hands-on approach

This is an old-school hotel, kind of colonial with uniforms and livery, chefs in enormously tall chef hats, starched table cloths, whirling ceiling fans, a wood-paneled bar, an art deco dining room (it is that more than it is a restaurant) ... I loved it. I just reread that and it makes it sound stiff and formal. It isn't - a totally relaxed place where you could wander around in your kanga (sarong) or safari kit. Bedrooms are a bit dark inside but bathrooms were immaculate, aircon worked like a dream (needed even in mid June which is mid "winter") and the courtyard garden very tranquil. If you want glitz and glam this isn't your place. If you want attentive service, homeliness and authentic excellence, then you're in the right place. Oh, great beds - I slept like a log both nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landtheplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear GUEST

Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this great review. I am delighted that you had a great time & our TEAM looked after you very well. I could not have described our hotel, its services and the ambiance any better! I will share your feedback with the TEAM for whom nothing is too much trouble. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Zanzibar
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
1.3 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Address: Seaview Ocean Road, Dar es Salaam 1000, Tanzania (Formerly Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Courtyard offers affordable accommodation in Dar es Salaam, the financial hub of Tanzania. Apart from the friendly and efficient service, along with the high quality facilities, Protea Hotel Courtyard’s location makes it one of the most preferred hotels by both corporate and leisure travellers. This is because the hotel is only 12 kms from the airport, 3 kms from the city centre and 500 metres away from a tranquil, beautiful beach. The hotel offers attractive rates for overnight accommodation to leisure travellers before or after safaris to the famous Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Crater, Lake Manyara, Sealous Game Reserve and Zanzibar. All 52 en-suite rooms are built around a beautiful, lush, green courtyard with the view of the pool. They are tastefully decorated and are equipped with all modern amenities including 32 inch LCD TV offering satellite TV channels (DSTV), personal electronic (laptop friendly) safe, mini bar and direct dialling enabled telephones. Free high speed internet is available via WIFI for our hotel residents. Protea Hotel Courtyard offers a wide array of wining and dining facilities, which comprise of Langi Langi – our multi-cuisine restaurant, Open House – 24 hr coffee shop, Jahazi Bar and 24 hour room service. With so many activities in the area, like a swimming pool, golf courses, yachting and a gym; get ready for an action packed holiday. Not to mention the shopping facilities nearby for all those last minute gifts and memorabilia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing