We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far, with bahari Beach still not reopened the best place to stay at North Dar Beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Having spent some time at the North dar Shore in the 1970s and 80s, Bahari Beach and Kunduchi Beach are the best beach areas. This holds also true for the respective Beach Resorts. With the former Lybian-owned Laico Bahari Beach still not reopened due to the Aggression in Lybia, the Kunduchi Beach Resort remains the best place to stay. The whole compound has a special something due to its unique architecture dating back from 1970s or so. the hotel underwent renovation and was reopened some years ago. The building is extraordinarily beautiful, somehow resembling a kind of Alhambra-Style inside. Generously decorated. The food was very nice and such was the Restaurant, with a nice inner courtyard inside. The beach is nicer than at white Sands. With the lights illuminated, the compound, the pool area is photogenic at night, e.g. from the terrace on the southern side of the compound.
Next time, we would definitevely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

I was in kunduchi during easter holidays for three nights and I had a wonderful time.I wish to commend the management team for the good work.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We've been twice to this place, once with friends, and the other for our tenth wedding anniversary, and both the times our stay has been fantastic. The staffs and the manager were just outstanding. A perfect weekend gateaway. I would definately recommend the place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had stayed at Kunduchi Beach in 1985 when I think it was Government owned and managed. We remembered a fabulous design and great beach but shortages of all essentials which was typical of Tanzania then. Needing a couple of nights before our safari and not wanting to stay in a city centre hotel, we decided to return to Kunduchi Beach 27 years later.

Booking our room had not been easy as they don't take credit card bookings and you need to transfer money from the Uk to their bank as a deposit. It's good hour from the airport - longer in the rush hour. The hotel retains its nice design - open reception and bar area but the rooms are a little frayed around the edges. We had a particular problem when our air-conditioning broke down one night - shades of 1985! Staff were very helpful and the food was fine. The beach was not as spectacular as we had remembered all those years ago and in places it could no longer be described as pristine white sand.Two good bars but we could do without the muic near the beach.

A couple of days was fine - not sure about staying much longer!

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioning is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventurerCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I was here for a conference, my second visit to the hotel. It's claims to be a 'world class' resort are way of the mark but it is a good conference venue and fine for a few days.

I liked the fact that I was upgraded on check in, that all the senior and middle management staff were friendly and helpful and setting is indeed lovely and restful.

My room was a mixture of the old an new. A really nice rain shower but torn curtains, a really dirty carpet, a broken security chain on the door and a constantly dripping air con which made a puddle on the dirty carpet. A lovely ocean view and nice balcony, which had 2 metal chairs without cushions. Basically no attention to details.

The gym overlooks the car park and has huge glass windows to let the sun stream in. The weights machines are ok but the running ones old and a little dangerous. The swimming pool is good for dipping but not really for swimming. The buffet food was reasonable, though repetitive. Service was generally poor (unable to open a bottle of wine, mixing drink orders, slow).

All in all a good conference choice for a reasonable price. If I was on holiday and paying the advertised rates I would not be happy. A 3 star venue.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We held our 2 days business meetings at the Kunduchi Beach Hotel in November 2011 and I was responsible for making sure that the logistics of the meetings are running smoothly including participants' requirements. I would like to commend Luca (manager) and his staff for their responsiveness to all our requests. My special thanks goes to the following staff: to Catherine for intervening with the billing problems. To George and Zedek for arranging our airport pick-up and fields trips, and for ensuring that the bills for our group are done correctly. To Patel and Mensa for the wonderful meals they prepared for our meetings and the scrumptious grilled lobster on our last night was awesome!! To Winnie and her team who assisted us during our conference for being very responsive to our special requirements for our meetings. To Robert (reception) for his calm demeanor and patience in handling with some of our frustrated participants. And lastly to Raymond who drove us around to go shopping and for helping us with the translation.

The place was relaxing, secure, the rooms were clean, However, we had some compaints from some of our participants about the airconditioning not working, but overall the resort was awesome! The friendly and warm staff made our stay pleasant and our meetings successful!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NenucaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Very nice resort on the beach.
Buffet could be better but A la carte food is good, especially see food and king prawns
3500 Tsch for a beer, 20.000 for the buffet, 40.000 for a Shiraz red wine

Staff is very friendly, smilly and helpfull.

A bit far from city center (25 km) which can mean over 1 hour with the traffic during the day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JF K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
374 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
6.7 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
516 reviews
11.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#11 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort

Address: | Kunduchi Beach, off Bagamaoyo Road, Dar es Salaam 1000, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £74 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort has direct access to the most beautiful stretch of beach in the area, and has activities such as beach volleyball, mini soccer on the beach, swimming pool and the Wet & Wild Waterpark on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing