We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$122
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$181
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$360
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanzanite Executive Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$268
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Africa Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$179
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiffany Diamond Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$99
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Cliff Court(Dar es Salaam)
US$170
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
125
116
48
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
116
48
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslow tidelive bandmbudya islandan upgradeair conditionedsea viewindian oceanenjoyed my stayconferencechikutanzaniatrafficclientssafari
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The good
Location is nice with a long private beach. You are however not allowed to stray any further for safety reasons. In general the staff are friendly, service is however often very slow.
Our room was clean and had a nice view.

You can also make an excursion to a nearby uninhabited island. We had a fantastic day there, try the bbq lobster.

The bad
The food was hit and miss. We were on half board and got a very limited choice of dishes. We opted to pay extra to eat from the normal menu instead. The breakfast was extremely poor.

The hotel looks like it had seen better days and some investment is badly needed. The pool is also quite small and they had a shortage of towels when we visited.

We also walked over to the waterpark which was bigger than I expected but also in need of maintenance.

Would I come back? Only if they made some improvements and spent some money on maintenance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking time in writing a review.

Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort values the feedback on our facility. The points mentioned are valid and we will use the guidelines given to improve our services. Major renovations and upgrading are part of our immediate plans. Our swimming pool we find is adequate with our Wet and Wild Water Park next door. All residents have free access to the Water Park. As you mentioned we also have a beautiful private beach.

We have introduced new menus. On job training for the service staff is also part of our daily routine. We are committed in providing our guests the service they deserve.

We would love to welcome you back to Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort in the near future. Please contact me directly with your next booking.

Kind regards

Riaan Thiart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Once again we were at the resort this time it was during Easter, the stay was superb filled with alot of fun for the kids starting from Easter egg hunt to acrobatics show by a local Tanzanian group. The service was perfect and the managers were always concerned about the guests which was quite impressing. My wife is 8 months pregnant so we requested for a ground floor room and we were gladly accommodated for. The staff were very polite and helpful. The food was very good as well especially the dinner that was on the beach however a little more lighting was needed. Rooms are nice and comfortable with a good sea view. Overall it's an excellent beach resort and I would certainly recommend to all to stay at the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayyazAlloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear Mr Alloo

Asante Sana for taking the time to write this positive review. We are grateful for your feedback during your stay with us and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed all the food, services and hospitality Kunduchi Beach Hotel has to offer.

Guest satisfaction is priority number one at Kunduchi and we are constantly striving to deliver quality services that matches this beautiful property.

Karibu Kunduchi Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and enjoyed the stay very much . The management very .
professional and eversince our arrival we were treated like royalty and welcomed with open arms
The hotel in whole has improved a lot since our last stay and one can see a positive and happier staff . Not sure who is responsible for the changes and improvement , but well worth mentioning in this review . WELL DONE KEEP IT UP

Room Tip: all rooms with view
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 282hermanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review. We are pleased that you have noticed the improvements.

We are a new Management Team and has spend a lot of time with training and developing of staff in order to raise the service standard.

Please make Kunduchi Beach Hotel your second home. Looking forward to your next visit.

Asante Sana (Thank You)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I had read a lot of the reviews of this property so I was not expecting much to be honest but I wanted something on the Dar Es Salaam coast and I had already been to the neighboring White Sands. I cannot believe how pleasantly surprised I was and I almost thought I was at a different place to the one I had read about. It does take a really long time to get there from the airport but this is due to the fact they are working on the road there so I am sure once that is finished it will be easier.

The location, one you are there, is wonderful with one of the best beaches I have seen of this coast. The resort itself was really spacious with the most wonderfully attentive staff. We were there over Easter and it was packed but the staff were completely in control. There was quite a few activities for the children which was good. I did learn that there was a new management team on board that had recently joined and already made a big difference and you could see them all the time working as a team which was good.

The rooms are not huge but they for a resort they are just what you would need as you spend most of the time outside. They do all have tv, tea/coffee making facilities and a separate toilet to bathroom.

The swimming pool is nice but it is too small for the size resort and gets VERY busy so that was a bit of a disappointment.

Next door is the Wet n Wild Water Park which was a good addition for the children but it is a bit tired and needs some TLC (and paint). If these were given a little overhaul it would be brilliant (as long as they keep the music down as the was deafening).

The food is buffet in the main restaurant but with a lot of choice and there is also al la carte which was very good.

I would certainly go back there.


I

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for the time taken to write the review.

Kunduchi Beach Resort has a new team who are ALL committed in creating a good guest experience. We have introduced new food and beverage menus. Staff training is part of our daily routine. Even our entertainment program has been changed. We have a lovely facility and the best beach in Dar Es Salaam.

We do realize that the drive from the airport can be frustrating. The new roads will eliminate most of the traffic issues. Your comment regarding the swimming pool is an interesting one. At Kunduchi Beach Hotel we also have the biggest waterpark in East Africa with various pools and slides. The venue is child friendly and a perfect location for a family vacation.

Asante Sana (Thank you )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Kunduchi Beach Hotel should be fantastic- great location, beautiful views and very near to central Dar es Salaam (in distance -it can take a good couple of hours to get from here to town at the height of rush hour). But the experience was disappointing. Although the staff are attentive and keen, the quality of food and infrastructure lets the place down- badly. Buffet food was cold and unappetizing, the room had no hot water and no bath plug, and the air conditioning remote was faulty. Individually these are minor niggles- taken together are indicative of the state of the resort. If you are looking for a high quality experience for a few days break its worth the journey to head to Amani Beach (reviewed last year). If you want a couple of days by the sea try and negotiate a better rate than the one I saw on my invoice for which somebody else was paying. For the price this is poor value.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms as far from the water park as possible- I imagine they would be noisy if there were weekend events.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinchillarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for the informative response.

The points mentioned are valid and constructive. We have introduced new procedures (snag list) in order to eliminate the petty issues. We value your contribution. Guest comments , good or bad, gives us the required tools to improve on the services offered. Your concern regarding cold food has also been resolved.

We do apologize for the inconvenience caused. We would love you to return to Kunduchi. Please contact me directly on your next visit.

Asante Sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews