We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Vista & Surrounds saves this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Ranked #17 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Vista & Surrounds saves this Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Having read some of the other reviews, I am left wondering if we stayed at the same resort. We had a 3 day conference at Kunduchi with about 60 persons. Here are some of the realities:
1. My colleague was asked to vacate his room after just checking in since something was wrong in the room with assurances that he must come back later & they will allocate another room. After dinner there was no room available!? after having checked in. He was transported to some Giraffe hotel (30 minutes away) once there he was told to return since they found a room! What a shambles.
2. The staff are not very well trained & most cannot understand good English or remember simple requests.
3.Rooms need updating
4.The Bath shower had no mat in & I slipped one morning.
5. They arrived at 21h30 to turn down the bed one night - after I was already sleeping.
6.The meals are so-so
7. 9 persons at a table in the conference room with 4 peppermints in the bowl.
To all travellers please note: they have a 5% charge if you pay by credit card.
On the positive side : The view is great with the local fisherman coming & going everyday. The drink prices are reasonable by hotel standards. For African Hotels the rate is also reasonable.
I was also told by the manager that the hotel will be upgraded by its new owners/ management agents & the container with new stuff is on its way.
There must be better places in Dar Es Salaam for conferences.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are nice since you can walk directly onto the pathways
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest

It was wonderful to meet you during your recent stay with us and I am grateful for you to have taken the time to post your review.

We are busy with refurbishment and some positive changes are already visible. All our back of house areas had a face lift and we have already achieved our compliance certificate from OSHA.

Kunduchi Beach Resort was overbooked on the night of your arrival as we had the Prime Minister in house.

We value your comments and appreciate your contribution. Should your travels ever find you back , I do hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you once again.

KARIBU TENA!

Kind regards
Riaan Thiart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    96
    45
    20
    9
See reviews for
75
57
9
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed at Kunduchi Beach Resort at the end of August. I was very impressed with the hotel and the standard of service provided.

I am also a hotelier(chef) and are in general quite a critical person. Yes, the hotel needs a refurb, but the service and beach makes up for any short comings. Service you can compare to any four star resort. The staff makes Kunduchi better than any resort I have stayed in. The beach is also top notch. Had a picnic on a nearby island. What an experience and very nice for snorkeling.

Rooms are comfortable and spacious. The food is fresh and of a good standard.

Many thanks again. Will stay at Kunduchi Beach Resort on my next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sea facing, but enjoyed the rooms on the third floor. Stayed in room 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Michael


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Kunduchi Beach Resort is a beautiful property with surely the best private beach in Dar es Salaam. A lot of work has been done towards training. A positive guest experience we value the most.

Once again, thank you for your comments. I will definitely share your review with the rest of the TEAM. It is always good to hear when our GUESTS find our resort to be of such a high standard as we pride ourselves on delivering the best.

Should your travels ever find you back to Dar es Salaam, I do hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you once again.

KARIBU KUNDUCHI BEACH RESORT

Kind regards
Riaan Thiart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at Kunduchi Beach Resort at the end of July 2013. It was at the end of our Selous safari.

What a treat it was. We loved the staff. Our private dinner on the beach will stay in our memories forever. The staff was singing Jumbo Jumbo. On two of our three nights we also had live entertainment.
Rooms were comfortable with great views. The facilities were well looked after. We made use of the gym and spa. The trip to Mbudya island was very special. WE had a lovely picnic.
Wel Gedaan. Asante Sana

Room Tip: Room 210 opposite the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Grant


Thank you for your review on Trip advisor, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Creating the perfect guest experience is the key to hospitality. In the end it is ALL about the guest. I do value good service as the number one ingredient in the perfect guest experience.

I will share your positive remarks regarding the service with the rest of my TEAM..

KARIBU KUNDUCHI BEACH RESORT

Kind regards
Riaan Thiart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Asante Sana Kunduchi

I was part of the Comesa conference. It was an experience to remember. The hotel has a beautiful strucure. Beach is better than most I have seen in Zanzibar and Mauritius. The service is the big plus. Staff were always pleasant and eager to please. The conference went smooth without any problems. Only small minus is the internet that seemed a bit erratic.

The rooms are comfortable with great views. There was live entertainment every night. The food was tasty and of a good standard. I would recommend Kunduchi as a beach resort.

Many thanks again to the Kunduchi Team

Room Tip: Room 225 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear John


Thank you for your beautiful comments.

The property of Kunduchi Beach Resort is really beautiful. Beach is safe and very clean.
I will share your comments with the TEAM.

KARIBU KUNDUCHI BEACH RESORT

Kind regards
Riaan Thiart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moshi, Tanzania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Although we were greeted by a poorly trained receptionist who gave us the fifth degree as to why we were entering the hotel, the first impressions of Kunduchi Beach Hotel gave us the idea that we were entering a grand palace. The Zanzibari architecture and white paint give the hotel a feeling of grandeur. It is disappointing that the owners and management have not kept this gem in shape. The rooms stink of rats, bats and old carpet, and the decor is sadly out of date. Maybe if the air conditioning was used on a regular basis, it would help the overall maintenance. The prices seem too high for this mediocre hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bekbekbeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest


Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.We are disappointed with your findings , but realizes the value of even negative comments.

I would firstly like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. A Thorough investigation will be done on your assessment. I do agree that the architecture is unique and that we have a beautiful beach to compliment. Major renovations has started on the East wing and we are determined to make Kunduchi Beach Hotel sparkle again. An interior decorator visited Kunduchi Beach Hotel and I am sure we will see the positive changes arriving soon. Refurbishment will start shortly.
The smell must have been dampness as we have a recognized company ( Rentokill) responsible for the fumigation at Kunduchi Beach Hotel.

Please contact me directly on + 255 688 915 345 on your next visit. We invite you to visit us in future to experience all the positive changes.

Karibu Kunduchi

Friendly greetings
Riaan Thiart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our stay with Kunduchi was pleasant overall, however the hotel needs a lot of maintenance. Some examples here in below:

- The sofas in executive room 125 are torn.
- Room 114 does not have a tub drain stopper
- What happened to the original amenities of the hotel? the photocopied paper labels are a big
negative
- Bulbs in the lobby pillar lamps bulges out and some do not work.
- Rugs in the lobby are very old
- Most rooms still have big bulky CRTs

Positives:
- Structure of the hotel - Excellent
- Food - very good and a good variety
- Bed was comfortable
- Staff were pretty pleasant

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZedSafarisTanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest


Many thanks for the review written. We appreciate all the constructive feedback, good or bad.

The couch in room 125 has been replaces. An interior decorator was here and we are awaiting her feedback. The lounge and room furniture will be changed in the near future. Renovations has started on our East wing. We are positive that the Kunduchi Beach Hotel will return to its former glory. I will share the information with the rest of my TEAM. Your positive remarks regarding the food and staff are appreciated.

Karibu Kunduchi

Friendly greetings
Riaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had an awesome experience at the Kunduchi Beach Resort, the room was perfect and the staff were very helpful and professional.

I was on business and the serenity of the place made my work all the more pleasurable.

I would certiainly visit again !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RakeshRickySingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan T, General Manager at Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for the great review.

A pity you had to be on business as Kunduchi Beach Resort is the perfect place for a holiday break away. We are blessed with the best beach in Dar.

Your positive comments will be posted on the notice board for the whole TEAM to see. They will appreciate the comments...good for motivation.

Kind regards
Riaan Thiart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
2.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
#23 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
10.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort

Property: Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Address: Off Bagamaoyo Road | Kunduchi Beach, Dar es Salaam 1000, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing