We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a bit of R&R in Dar Es Salaam.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect for a bit of R&R in Dar Es Salaam.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We used this hotel as our hub in Dar Es Salaam during our 3 weeks Tanzanian vacation. We spent all together 5 nights in here in the 3 weeks period. The hotel is situated right on the beach and perfect for some R&R. However, if you have work to do in the city you might be better off choosing a hotel closer to the city since traffic in Old Bagamoyo Rd. is terrible. It can take you hours by car to get into the city and its only 10-15 kms. away.

The rooms are a bit worn down, mattress hard as a rock (but that seems to be the way they like it in Tanzania) hotel is clean enough, but you cannot compare this or any other hotel in Tanzania with what you expect in Germany, France or Italy, you have to compare it with other Tanzanian hotels in the same category and then it scores high.

Be aware, if you pay cash in USD you get a 10% cash discount, but you don't get it unless you ask for it. The first 2 nights we didn't get it even when we asked for it since I didn't pay good enough attention when I received the bill and paid without checking, my mistake. Later when we complained there was never a manager nearby who could allow a payback so never mind, just keep an eye on the bill in the first place and you're fine.

Doing one of our excursions when we only a limited amount of stuff with us, the hotel reception let us leave our excess luggage in the room and then they collected it and stored it until we were back. Super service !!!! They also arranged transfer to the airport and pick up in the airport so by paying just a little bit (really little) more we got excellent service and no hazzle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikingsven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    105
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
38
63
26
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Location is fabulous but I would easily say that staff training plus speed of service is critical but was sadly lacking.. (1/2 hour for drinks, place empty) the bill came in double quick time! I would say at least 5 years behind India..

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Focusmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

i am here for the famous monthly party of Saturday right now while writing this review

its amazing party

although the place is very typical african, but party is going on great

heard a lot about the parties here, witnessing for the first time

and its great

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

A lovely relaxing stay but the transfer to and from the hotel from the airport depends on the traffic so check times with care. Service was fine and the pizzas looking out to sea great. Rooms are a bit tatty but not bad value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotters S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

It was so affordable that each of us (4 in our group) had our own large private room - normally I plan to share - what a luxury! The staff are SO accommodating, friendly and helpful. Getting to know the Masai guards is a wonderful experience. A couple we met had a small daughter with them and they were so impressed by the care the Masai took to be sure she was safe, even going to the beach area and throwing Frisbee with her. It was clean, the garden areas are immaculate, the restaurant has the best home made pizza due to the authentic Italian style oven they use. I would return in a heartbeat to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiewaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My colleagues and I stayed here several times while teaching at Muhimbili University and we love the place! The rroms are spacious and comfortable (laundry service is very affordable). Before and after work we had a choice of jumping in the (nice size) pool or in the Indian Ocean (if the tide was in). The people who work at the hotel are personable and friendly and clearly take pride in their work. Management and staff seem to have an excellent working relationship (if you travel a lot you will know how rare that is, especially in Africa). And the food! I cannot say enough about the food! Some of the best Italian food I have tasted anywhere (including Italy and the USA). Mediterraneo offers the best of Tanzania and Italy, as well as the best of Dar es Salaam (short distance to everything) while still being outside of the centre and on the beach. In summary: the PERFECT alternative to all of the places on the Msasani penninsula. I can hardly wait to bring my family here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuyMrefu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

The Mediterraneo Hotel and Restaurant is one of my favourite places in Africa, and for me the best in Dar es Salaam. This is true for food (really delicious italian cuisine) as well as for accomodation. I have tried the Med on five occasions, and service and quality have been consistent over the past years.

Hotel rooms are simple but decorated in friendly colours and all a bit different. Comfy beds, AC is a bit dated and noisy, but efficient. Bathrooms perfectly OK. Mosquito netting (important in Dar es Salaam) is provided, as is a spray can of insecticide.

But wait until you leave the rooms and take a seat at the bar or the restaurant, where the waves of the Indian Ocean are literally lapping at your feet... You can sit in old dugout canoes or lounge chairs and enjoy a cold Kilimanjaro Beer, while a gentle evening breeze is driving the mosquitos away. A perfect place to enjoy an evening drink with friends, or to while a day away with a good book. At night the whole bar/restaurant area becomes a mystical place, with lounge music, and sometimes with a band. Internet is available at the reception and bar area, and you will certainly make your loved ones jealous if they see you on skype, chatting with a view out onto the turqoise Indian Ocean...

Thanks to the girls at reception for accomodating our needs, this time finding rooms for us even under difficult circumstances or on short notice! And always with a wide smile!

A little downer from our last stay: we had chartered the hotel owned boat to take us out to one of the nearby islands, but the owner decided to take the boat himself for lunch. They promised the boat would be back to pick us within 20 mins, but we waited for two and a half hours, cutting our trip to the island short. A bit of a service - or attitude - flaw detected here...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vienna-onthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
2.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
5.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#16 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Tuari Road Kawe Beach, Dar es Salaam 36110, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#11 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterraneo Hotel and Restaurant is a unique resort style hotel located by the Indian Ocean in Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania. Situated close to the commercial centre of Dar es Salaam with attractive gardens overlooking the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel And Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing