We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms by beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Simple elegant new garden rooms are good value, though lack of fridge or kettle was a pain. Hotel right on beach. Stylish restaurants expensive though nice Italian pizzas affordable. Reception process slow and no welcome drink offered after long hot journey. Traffic makes it a long expensive journey from town, ferry etc. But a very pleasant hotel with style.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for sea view , you won't see much of it and the garden rooms are newer and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KoreG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

Delicious Italian food by the Ocean on a tastefully decorated , beautiful deck... The restaurant has two sections; Italian and Japanese Sushi. We had the Italian food. Every dish was well prepared and nicely presented. The service was great! I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aleafaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A bit outside from the city, which we appreciated very much. Clean and nice rooms, not big but good enough for what you need in such a place! The air conditioning and flat screen TV was working. Good beds, good bathroom, nice restaurants, nice staff. The internet connection was not good! They could improve that!...We liked it very much and I would certainly go back next time in Tanzania.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room 12g-16g
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amarnaMontreux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff were quite friendly. Aileen was truly amazing and made my family feel at home her. The hotel generally is a work of art very original and very clean.The meals are great and so is the breakfast .
If you are looking for a holiday with the family i would most definetly recommend meditereneo.
We needed a peacefull break and we got it.

Room Tip: the suite was quite nice the suite was value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel is located far from the city but offers a good escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. The rooms are not very luxurious but are clean and fairly decent. The staff at the resort was excellent and the Italian manager took a personal interest in making sure you were comfortable

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

A nice and clean hotel with very good managers but slow workers.
Enjoyed the stay and their meals.
Made a visit to the islands close by which have white sandy beaches and cook fresh sea food
Also tried out Vanessa's which is a walk away on the beach for Jamaican cuisine.
New year party and the beach was a disappointment compared to mombasa.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank mwanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have stayed at Mediterraneo on three occasions and loved my stay there. The views and gardens are really beautiful and relaxing.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. Aileen from the hotel's management always made me feel at home every time I stayed there.
I would recommend Mediterraneo Hotel to anyone visiting Dar es Salaam on business or leisure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#4 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
534 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#9 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
404 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
#17 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
322 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
528 reviews
3.6 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#28 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Tuari Road Kawe Beach, Dar es Salaam 36110, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#11 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £60 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterraneo Hotel and Restaurant is a unique resort style hotel located by the Indian Ocean in Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania. Situated close to the commercial centre of Dar es Salaam with attractive gardens overlooking the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel And Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing