We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Giulia P
London, United Kingdom
2745
Nice spot
Reviewed 28 Jan 2019
We spend 3 days, and it was enough. It's far way from the center, so there is nothing to do outside of the hotel. after the first day that we rest after the long trip, the second day we rent the boat and we went to Mbuya Island, which I strongly advice to go! but after that nothing else. Strongly disappointed with the breakfast, and the food was okay during the day.
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£75
  • Expedia.com
    £85
  • Agoda.com
    £58
  • Hotels.com
    £85
6.4 miles from Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£136
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.7 miles from Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£77
  • Expedia.com
    £76
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £77
6.7 miles from Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£72
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £87
  • Agoda.com
    £64
  • Hotels.com
    £75
6.9 miles from Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£39
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £40
  • StayForLong
9.2 miles from Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    £168
  • Agoda.com
    £104
  • Priceline
6.9 miles from Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £149
  • ZenHotels.com
    £84
  • Hotels.com
    £147
3.6 miles from Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £209
  • Preferred Hotels
    £158
  • Expedia.com
    £173
3.2 miles from Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £119
  • Expedia.com
    £157
  • Priceline
2.7 miles from Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £43
  • Agoda.com
    £37
  • Hotels.com
    £43
10.5 miles from Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
181
148
52
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
181
148
52
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lounge area seafood rooms are comfortable an oasis sea view swimming pool hot water dar tanzania masai kettle ac safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2018 via mobile

Over the years I have heard so much about this place. We were really looking forward to celebrating a family wedding here. However we were disappointed. The venue is beautiful but the restaurant got very hot and stuffy (shame the windows can't open to let in the beautiful sea breeze). The service was slow and not always warm. The bar closed and No one came to tell us and we were unable to get any water. Granted it was late but as room guests of a reasonably pricey place we would have expected to be able to get water regardless of the time. Breakfast was average and again not always with smiles. Such a shame as it really is a beautiful setting. I doubt we will be back.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2018

Very nice setting on the beach with lush tropical gardens. The rooms were nice and the hotel grounds very beautiful. The restaurant and bar area was well laid out and the seafood was excellent. Very good service at reception and restaurant. Fast internet throughout the hotel and grounds.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

I arrived late, as already advised. The hotel would not accept my Amex, despite this being the card I used to pre-book. The room did not have sea or pool view as advertised, smelt bad (maybe mosquito spray?) had a lot of mosquitos and was as hot as an oven. The receptionist called to say I would have to pay extra for the room in the morning as she had only charged me single occupancy. I showed her a hard copy of my booking to show she had charged me the rate as advertised when I booked. The room was too hot to be fit for occupancy and the receptionist refused to refund the money I had paid.
Customer service - zero and a room unfit to be occupied by anything but a Thanksgiving turkey.
Totally not recommended

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank tropicopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alas abdinur a, Owner at Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Dear Bob Evans,

First, and foremost, we want to extend our apologies for your experience. We can assure you that your experience is not the way we treat guests and that is not the typical feedback that we get about our rooms or our service. We pride ourselves on providing high-quality customer service and we will find out what happened and get back to you.

Although we have a seaside and poolside rooms, in our system we don’t allocate specific rooms unless there is a special request or note from the guests and in your booking didn't have any specification or special request.

Hope we can welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We stopped over for a few days between flying into Dar from Europe and going on Safari. Nice base if you want to spend a day or two seeing the city. Good place to recharge after the long journey. It is very nice to be able to overlook the sea from the restaurant - and actually going for a dip at the beach. The staff are nice and helpful and the rooms spacious and comfortable

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank madsanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and clean and the location is good. Unfortunately it did not serve my purpose since I slept there on a work trip but the hotel is very noisy and there is partying going on with loud music so it’s not easy to get any sleep.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Aija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews