We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great hotel and I would recommend it to anyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is a great hotel and I would recommend it to anyone”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I don’t usually write commentaries on hotels, etc. but yet again my stay at the Mediterraneo was excellent which has promoted this comment.

I have stayed in all the big hotels in Dar but I discovered the Mediterraneo through a friend who took me for a meal. I have stayed at the hotel since 2008 on my frequent business trips to Dar. This is not a 5 star, unfriendly hotel it is warm and friendly.

The welcome starts at the reception and this is followed through by attentive service throughout.

The hotel is right on the beach with wonderfully relaxing views over the sea. It is just the right place to relax after a busy day in Dar. It has a wonderful bar and sitting area which has been imaginatively designed using old dugout canoes. Don’t let my term old put you off.
It has the best Italian food in Dar, I’ve been to Italy many times and the Mediterraneo’s food puts many Italian restaurants in Italy to shame. I always go for the specials as the pasta is fresh; if you like crab go for the crab tagliolini accompanied by one of their Italian wines. As the restaurant is virtually on the beach the winds keep it cool but you can wear shorts and a T-shirt.

The rooms are comfortable and the aircons work backed by a good generator which is essential in Dar.

Try it you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricaBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    106
    35
    8
    8
See reviews for
41
65
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I stayed at Mediterraneo for 7 nights during business travel, and it was the perfect place to relax after work every day! The grounds were beautiful - green garden, swimming pool, the most wonderful lounge area right next to the beach, nice restaurant and cosy rooms. I couldn't be happier!

The hotel was also very accomodating - I went away to Zanzibar for a few days, but I was still able to leave my suitcase at the hotel and just bring a small bag to Zanzibar. When I returned to Mediterraneo, I found my suitcase already placed in my new room. Nice service!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mithrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I didn't stay here, but came to eat.

Excellent Food.
Excellent pizza.
Excellent seating arrangements.
Excellent view.
Excellent Band.

Excellent.

If you are staying in the North Beaches of Dar, make sure you come here for dinner at least once. Not the cheapest, but worth it every schilling.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crashlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

...from any country you come from, and you want to feel at home or in "Alice Wonderland" and to feel a sound of Africa, you can go to Mediterraneo Hotel.
If you want to save our world that's the way to develop in the ecology respect and human way like the Mediterraneo family does.
Thanks for the wonderfull time and for what you do for the human rights!!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank monica092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This was a perfect place to spend our first day in Tanzania. It was so relaxing to sit by the Indian Ocean and enjoy the excellent service from the bar and the restaurant, whilst we recovered from the night flight from London! Our room was comfortable and quiet, and we had a good breakfast before starting our safari.
Tip: we left the hotel at about 8:00 and immediately joined a slow queue of traffic which meant that it took us about an hour to leave Dar. If you have a choice, it would be a good idea to leave the hotel earlier...or later!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2010

My wife and I, want you to know how pleased we are with the outstanding service given to us during our stay at your hotel.
The food was excellent, and the staff at the reception and in the restaurant were extremely friendly and accomodating.
We will strongly reccomend your place to couples that want to have a cosy weekend in Dar Es Salaam.
Thanks from Alexander & Maria

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ale-maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2009

the sea view wasnt want kind of sea view that i was expecting; from my bedroom window i could see the garden with some trees, the sea view was quite away and we paid an extra money for that so that we can see the seaview properly. The service was excellent, the lounge was right by the sea and that made the place soo relaxing with your food and drink.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
2.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#16 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
2.8 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#14 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
315 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Tuari Road Kawe Beach, Dar es Salaam 36110, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#11 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterraneo Hotel and Restaurant is a unique resort style hotel located by the Indian Ocean in Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania. Situated close to the commercial centre of Dar es Salaam with attractive gardens overlooking the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel And Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing