We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
Review of Sleep Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn Hotel
Ranked #66 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I stayed at Sleep Inn Hotel for 3 days last week...the staff was very helpful and friendly..location of the hotel was good...and what is more you pay 50 dollars for singles and 60 for doubles and get a 5-star hotel quality. my friends stayed at a hostel in the same area paying 20 dollars each and in return they get a basic room..I highly recommend sleep inn especially if youre travelling couples..

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozturkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

well i was there in june 02 2011 in city center new sleepinn which is really good and you must visit it nice room like 4 star hotel and they offer 50$ starting pice and bank,police station ,hospital etc etc in 3mins walk and is opposite the hotel in jamhuri street city centre ... they have the main hotel called sleepinn hotel which is in lumumba road which is for budget people we went there a well to spend a last night and it was really good if you want to stay for big fish market etc etc keep it up

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This hotel is primarily used by Tanzanian and Indian business travellers. Run by Indians, it is like any cheap Indian business traveller hotel, which means decorations and furniture that Westerns would simply consider "poor taste" or kitsch at its best. The bright fluorescent tube illumination of the breakfast area, lobby etc. makes you feel like being in a warehouse. Expect a merely functional place without any atmosphere.

The hotel has two wings, called "the old wing" and "the new wing". Should you consider staying at Sleep Inn, always ask for the "New Wing" as the installations are newer and wireless internet is working (whereas in the old wing it isn't).

In Dar-es-Salaam in general, hotels are overpriced and so is the Sleep Inn Hotel. If you compare to hotels which are of backpacker standard at around half the Sleep Inn's rate (such as Econolodge or Jambo Inn), Sleep Inn is maybe cleaner and the furniture is newer (at least at the new wing) and you get wireless internet, but in terms of the rather rude staff and poor breakfast there is no major difference. I had the feeling that the staff thinks that if a Westerner stays at their hotel (and not at the Movenpick or other luxury hotels), he or she must be really poor (for Western standards) and therefore doesn't deserve to get a smile or nice treatment from them.

If you stay in the old wing (same room rate), I think there is no difference to backpacker category of hotels at all.

The hotel is not good at all for what you pay, but I haven't found any other option in Dar-es-Salaam so far which is not a dirty backpacker hostel or a much more expensive hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Botoxmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

this is a new hotel opened in march 2011,this sleep inn is in city centre very close to all shops ,the prices start at $50 per night.,The staff are very friendly,and the rooms are like
4 star hotels, The breakfast is only thing letting this hotel down.You are allowed only 2 eggs for breakfast and you can only have whatever juice they put out for the morning.
everything is walking distance.
would recommend this hotel to friends

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hk2ny2kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel while on holiday and visiting freinds and family. The hotel staff were helpful and courteous. The location of the hotel is fairly central in Dar-es-salaam, so it is easy to get around. The main market of Kariakoo is within a walking distance, however the market is very very busy. It is easy to get a taxi from outside the hotel. There are two parts to the hotel the old wing and new. The rooms are fairly small but have AC and fans (no mosquito nets). The rooms are ensuite with wetroom showers and also have a fridge and a small TV. On the whole this is a good mid range budget hotel. The buffet breakfast included in the price was adequate for us. They provided some fresh fruit and juice. They also provided some hot food (omelettes, toasts) with tea and coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I've stayed at this hotel for the last five years. Unfortunately my recent visit will be my last.
1) Mattresses sink in the middle to almost nothing
2) Pillows are very poor
3) It is important to realise that this hotel has rooms with doors between them so even if you book a single or twin room its as if a total stranger is sharing your personal space because everything can be heard going on next door (in my case spitting in the shower, TV noise, radio noise followed by the groans associated with you know what and then came the snoring. I cannot recommend this hotel anymore. The breakfast is terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkerEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

From the Accommodations till the Airport Transfers -Everything was just classic... !!!
Unforgettable trip..
I would recommend everyone to Sleep Inn Hotel.
Very Budgeted hotel with all convenience around you!!!!
I would eagerly go Back once in Dar again..

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank suprise111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.5 mi away
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
#40 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Butterfly Hotel
Butterfly Hotel
#46 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#30 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Blue Pearl Hotel
Blue Pearl Hotel
#71 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#35 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peacock Hotel Limited
Peacock Hotel Limited
#59 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Hotel

Address: Mahiwa St, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £33 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sleep Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Sleep Inn Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing