We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean rooms in a cold atmosphere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleep Inn Hotel
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean rooms in a cold atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Dear travellers, as recommended in travel guides, if you are looking for clean rooms at good value in DAR, this hotel might suit your needs. Central DAR is not the ideal location for people staying more than one night. I strongly recommend to dish out extra Thz and stay by the sea, where atmosphere is more agreeable. Neighbourhood has nothing to offer. Please note that this property doesn't have a restaurant. Also this is a dry property, and no alcohol beverage is allowed on premises. The manager was really nice, and made everything he could to meet our needs. On the flipside cannot echo this to his staff who was quite rude and literally lied in our face.

Also despite the credit card info required, this hotel accepts cash payment only. Was there for business and recommend this hotel more for leisure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street have a balcony (with no chair nor table), but are noisy. If u feel for a good ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EveM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    21
    21
    11
    16
See reviews for
10
26
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

This place was just horrible. The staff were incredibly unfriendly and unhelpful. They woke me up at 2am with a wake up call for a cab I did not order, and then when my cab I actually ordered was at the hotel at 730am, everyone sat around and watched the television and did not mention the taxi had arrived. Breakfast was toast and watery baked beans that came out of a Tupperware into a food warmer. Coffee was sachets of instant coffee. You have to stand over the toilet to wash your hands the washroom is so small and the entire premise just felt unsafe. There is no where to eat dinner past 8pm in the area, so if you arrive late, you also stay hungry. Don't stay here, you will regret it. Worst place on my 3 week business trip.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank addyinabox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have been traveling through Africa over the past month and my trip ended with a 3 night stay at the Sleep Inn hotel(if you can even call it that)

Every hotel I stayed at during my trip, which was within the same price range as this hotel, offered nice rooms, bottled water, towels, telephones, safes.

When I arrived at the hotel, I went to my room, which is decent at the very least,and attempted to make a phone call to a family friend. The call didn't go through so I asked reception why the call was not going through she said that there is no shone service to dial
outside the hotel and she suggested that we top up the credits on her cell phone and then we could use her mobile phone to make the call.

I had to ask the reception
for towels and only received one towel for a shower, no hand towels.

The breakfast selection was horrible and they had a sign that said eggs to order yet no one was around to make the eggs.

The television in the rooms have horrible sound quality and overall the helpfulness of the staff was not on par with any other hotel I have stayed at.

The beds themselves are not that comfortable.
And overall there is no real feeling of safety in this hotel.

I would definitely avoid staying here and would advise all others to do so as well.




  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at the Sleep Inn in the city center. And this COULD have been a nice hotel. It's clean, it's walking distance to the Zanzibar ferry, it's in the middle of town, it's fairly cheap for Dar.

But then you meet the staff. Let me say that housekeeping is great. They're quick, clean, and honest. But the reception staff are unhelpful, they have no knowledge of anything at all, and they can hardly stop talking to their friends on the phone or in the lobby to take the time to help you. I asked for towels (we were two people in the room and only one towel), they never came. When I needed to use the phone to make a local call to a van driver, I first had to pay for someone to go get a token to fill up a cell phone. One of the receptionists on call during the night gave the impression that she was on some kind of drug, she left the reception, no one knew where she was, and she moved like a zombie.

The dining hall staff is even worse. We had to ask for things all the time, because they didn't refill anything. Juice, toast, clean glasses etc. Once I asked for eggs (because on some days you could ask for eggs by order) and the message wasn't given to the kitchen at once because the man kept staring at a soccer match on the tv screen instead. The breakfast is weird - only thing for your toast is a terrible synthetic mixed jam. The coffee is instant. The juice is watery and overly sweet and with strange flavours. No one greets you, or smiles, or says "here you are" when they give you anything. In a country with such high unemployment it's really strange that they can't get anyone with basic manners to work in the hotel. We stayed several other places in Tanzania, and we have traveled a lot in Africa, and usually it's the people who are nice and the hotel which is a bit unclean or with things that don't work. Here it's the other way around.

If you DO decide to stay here, try the Pakistani street BBQ a block down.

Room Tip: The rooms have very different sizes. Get the ones that end in 01 or 02, they are larger. Seems to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moshi, Tanzania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I had been at the sleep inn Lumumba, several years ago and was looking forward to staying there because I had such good memories. When I visited the hotel in August, I found that it's not quite how I remember it. It used to be a great hotel but it is now worn-out.
The rooms are just clean, the bathrooms are usable, the bedding is so so and the toiletries are just ok.
The breakfast was meh...
Frankly for 65,00Tshs for a double room, I expected more. I have been to commendable places in Dar for the same price.
What is still as great as I remember though is the customer care, very helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rasberry_blush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel has no charm but it's a very good value. You get all the comfort of a luxurious hotel for a cheap price. Especially after 3 week s of dust, and buses, the shower was great!!!
Actually it's a hotel for businessmen, and it's situated in the indian area, so you have street restaurants open at night (otherwise Dar is empty after 6PM...). A very good adress!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Rooms are ok, breakfast is...boring. Everything is extra, we were two adults and one child in a double room and they wouldn't give us a third towel. Stayed in two different rooms. The shower did not work in the first room, the A/C was a bit dodgy and tiles missing from the floor. If your just sleeping it's ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#31 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#29 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#7 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#28 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#27 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#24 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Hotel

Property: Sleep Inn Hotel
Address: Mahiwa St, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sleep Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Sleep Inn Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing