We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kipepeo Beach Village
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at Kipepeo Beach Village Hotel for one night during April 2014. Their huts are quite good, unique and nicely decorated in Swahili traditional style. The huts are about 200 metres from the beach area. The huts are like this, down is bathroom only, and if you climb stairs then you can reach your bedroom and there is a big balcony also. Do not expect much furnishings in your room, there is no air conditioner, no fan, no tv, no safe, no coffee maker ... but I still suggest everyone to try this hotel atleast once for a different experience. Only one serious problem which really bothered us is that, after sunset there are plenty of mosquitoes, it's better to carry anti-mosquito spray when going there. Their food was quite delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHATRI_TANZANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Average campsite. Upgrades for twin beds look nice from the outside but lots of bed bugs and holes in the mosquito nets.
Toilets are ok showers are good.
Nice view of the beach and good area to swim.
Nice and well stocked bar. Good stop over place of Zanzibar.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank erlusby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Came here as a group of 11 at the end of a month long trip in Moshi, Dar and Arusha. The service wasn't good; very slow waiting on/bar staff and quite the stroppy manager. But then again, everywhere we went in Tanzania it was as though time was never an issue and the slow pace was reflected everywhere. The white beach and clear blue sea was impeccable, with very few other occupants other than the sellers who go away quickly if you don't want anything. An expensive watch of mine was taken from the table as we were having the plates cleared and all staff denied any knowledge; it was my own fault for leaving it there. Stayed in a 2 bed cabin - lovely and on the beach. Bugs are an issue as you can imagine but mosquito nets are provided (albeit with rips)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lscwy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a very basic, but pleasant place on the beach. I was camping myself, and they do have fine camping grounds. Only stayed one night and the facilities, i.e. shared toilets and showers, were good. the grounds around the bar, restaurant and beach are also nice. The people who stayed in the chalets were very happy with their rooms and thought they were quite beautiful and smart, using the ocean-breeze as a natural aircon. The beach is nice, lots of waves. There's wifi, but limited. They do warn you about "thugs" on the beach, so you should be careful with your valuables. The camping grounds had armed guards.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank stoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Unfornatly we were stolen in our room while we were enjoying the journey in the beach. We think it was someone from hotel, probably the room cleaner, because 250 euros disapear from a wallet which was holding 350 euros in total, leaving there the rest of the money, camaras, movil phones and other value stuff.

On the other hand, the place is nice, the beach is wondeful, and the service is ok, except for the manager who gave us the explanation that we got stolen beacuse we are in Africa, and we did not get away the money to keep away temptation. Shouldn¨t you have a honet staff working at your hotel so I can be relaxed on my holidays?

Room Tip: The best rooms provided with bathroom are 250 m away from the beach front. The ones with the best lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed over at Christmas and enjoyed the same way when I visited the first time 13 years ago! Thank you Dale and Erna, we had a lovely time and when we have time we will be back. Best beach location by far in Dar es Salaam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelindar1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I've booked in to stay just 3 nights, just to have the nice Sea Breeze atmosphere. After day 1, I booked for the rest of the week, stayed overall 7 nights.
If you want to break away from the daily rush, go there. You can buy internet vouchers, if you really need to have technology.

No, aircons, no fans, but you have a sea breeze that give you fresh air. I stayed in the Chalets, beds are very comfortable, you have your own bathroom, clean, not luxury,

I could find myself again after the years of rush and "keeping busy" I hanged in my hammock every day after a very nice breakfast, just listened to the singing of the birds.

Food a bit expensive, I think, as its not that great, but the service of the people, you will need to look far to exceed this.

I enjoyed it and would gladly go back on a next trip

Room Tip: Stay in a Chalet, the other places, although much cheaper, you have to share bathroom facilities and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kobus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
6.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard
14.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
408 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mikadi Beach
Mikadi Beach
#29 of 132 in Dar es Salaam
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kijiji Beach Resort
Kijiji Beach Resort
#2 of 133 in Dar es Salaam
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Beach Resort
Sunrise Beach Resort
#82 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
100 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hunch Backpackers
Hunch Backpackers
#5 of 132 in Dar es Salaam
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipepeo Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipepeo Beach Village

Address: Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £14 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Kipepeo Beach Village 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kipepeo Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipepeo Beach Village Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing