We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entertaining crowd and good drinks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of q-bar

q-bar
Ranked #215 of 299 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Entertaining crowd and good drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I liked of Q bar the availability of all sort of drinks (not that straight in Bars in this part of the world). Is a multinational environment in a bit of a run-down place but this gives it quite a lot of charm. Decent pool tables and music. Really good for a few beers or drinks and entertaining chat with locals or travellers. Nothing close to romantic, fashionable, luxurious or similar, just a good bar where to spend some good hours

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpancorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    15
    13
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“QBar - greedy doorman”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Friday evening, 8:30. Popping into qbar for a quick beer while waiting for a friend. Doorman asks 5,000 TZS to get in. For what? Music. Ah, Ok. No music playing. A band is setting up equipment though and won't play before I leave. What a rip off. QBar management wake up please and extend more courtesy to your patrons. There are many other, cleaner and more friendly places in Dar these days.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JonesHeinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace in Chaos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

They made me pay to enter.(a bar?) A bouncer who remembered me got me a refund. All seats were taken. Because the club was bumping. Buzzing crowd. All nationalities (and genders). Try the fajitas.Good place to watch a rugby match.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dndavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“not a bad place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

nothing too special. nice to sit and have a drink. There are always some chicks around looking for customers.
When I was there not something I would say really special place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jose677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Party all night loooong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

This is a perfect place to go to take drinks dance and feel a litle bit tanzanian,its a very local pud,and you can find everything for everyone here,they have very nice food and the service is tanzanian.Everyone is welcome here!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravellers85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed q-bar also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to q-bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing