We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brothel cum decent Dorm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Q-Bar & Guest House
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 26 October 2013

First things first, there is definitely some soliciting going on here. I'm not saying that it is anything to do with the dorm or its owners, but if that sort of thing puts you off, look elsewhere. However, the girls definitely have a target market and it is not travellers but rather seemed to be the middle aged expat crowd. Having lived in Africa for a long time, this is perfectly normal and you will see it anywhere. The girls usually know each of their clients and dont bother anyone else, so dont let it bother you.

Dar isnt a great place to stay and there are limited options, so QBar offers something for travellers on a budget which I appreciated, the fact that its one of the more lively expat locations in town can be taken as a plus or minus. I though the live music and busy scene was good fun, so for me it wasnt an issue.

We stayed in the dorm, which is only 4 beds so I would recommend booking online in advance as we did, which was reliable. There was air conditioning and decent shared bathrooms and though the price was high, one must remember this is a big city with limited options and with the location just 10 minutes from the Zanzibar ferry (if there is no traffic, which is unheard of) its hard to get better on a budget.

The food was pretty good and very cheap, great BBQ most nights and drinks were reasonable. A lot of people complain about the noise and there is a lot, but the dorm, the cheapest room, is on the 2nd floor at the back of the building and as such, the front courtyard where the bar is cannot be heard once the door is shut to the dorm.

Have premiership football with several decoders too so a great place to watch this. If I was an expat, this would be my bar of choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kampala_Hoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are very glad to hear this would be your bar of choice if you lived here and equally happy that you were comfortable in your room.
I can assure you that Q-Bar has nothing to do with the "girls" and have spent the last few month working hard at discouraging them from entering. It is a problem that we are continuously trying to control.
Once again thank you for the review and we hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

I am a regular visitor to Tanzania for work and pleasure and I choose to stay at Q bar. OK, it can be a bit noisy at weekends (ask for a room further away from the bar) but in this location, close to Coco beach, near to many offices of international companies and organizations and adjacent to great restaurants and supermarkets (albeit upscale) this is an amazing option. The rooms are well appointed, with AC, reasonable beds, flat screen tvs and desks. The staff are consistently helpful and considerate. And all for rates starting at fifty dollars (less if you opt for the backpacker option). If you need convincing that this is value look at the prices for the closest hotels in the vicinity -Protea Oyster Bay or Dulcie, both more than three times the price. The food is fine too- its not high cuisine but its basic , well cooked food for hungry people. Gargantuan portions. There are some prostitutes in the bar- its the nature of bars in East Africa. The rooms are away from the bar and unless you actively seek them out its not a problem. I love Q bar and will keep on coming back.

Room Tip: HIgher levels away form the bar- but these are more expensive. Noisier towards the end of the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinchillarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you so much from myself and our Team for your great review.

We love all kind of feedback and feel very motivated with a review like yours. We hope you will be able to come back and stay with us again.

Thank you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed in the 'backpacker's dormitory', which consisted of two sets of bunk beds and is the cheapest option on site. AC was great, the bathroom was passable and conveniently located, the beds were comfortable. I arrived with two other backpackers, which meant that the three of us basically had the room to ourselves. The WiFi was intermittent but free and, when it worked, fast. The location is great - we walked to the beach, walked through the neighborhoods, found interesting shops and delicious international and local food, just around the corner from a grocery shop.
But I met up with friends of a friend who were surprised I was staying at such a disreputable place. It turns out Q Bar is known for ex-pats finding prostitutes at the downstairs bar and taking advantage of the cheap room rates. Sure enough, we saw some sketchy people downstairs, but the dormitory room is on the back side of the building and we felt little residual effect of the goings on downstairs and elsewhere in the building.
Rumor has it EconoLodge downtown has decent private rooms available for almost the same price, but I would still rather be in this location than in city centre. When my two friends, a couple, visited Dar again they stayed at Q Bar once more, and I would do likewise.

Room Tip: One of the only dormitory options in Tanzania, and only one room - not much choice there. But if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay and would come back again. We are working very hard to have a good, fun and respectable crowd at the Q-Bar. We are making many changes to the Bar and the Hotel and hopefully you will come back soon to see.

Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Unfortunately we chose to stay in Q-bar on a Saturday night. The rooms are comfortable and although our airconditioning and toilet were not working they did offer us a change of room. The food was good to for a reasonable price. The main reason for the poor review was the noise level. You are right above the bar and although I have a reasonable tolerance for sleeping through background noise and music it was impossible to sleep. The music was so loud that our door and bed were vibrating. Most of the guests checked out the morning after due to lack of sleep. The guy on reception was very apologetic but the manager did not really seem that fussed. He gave us five dollars off our 60dollar room but I think it will continue to be the same at the weekends. I'm sure it would be better during the week.

Room Tip: You could try getting a room away from the bar but I think it would still be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc0pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Owner at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you were comfortable in the room and enjoyed the food. It is always great to hear when the receptionist has done a good job and made sure you got a room you were happy with. I am very sorry that you did not have a similar experience with the manager.
I am not sure about your experience from the Saturday DJ, you can definitely hear the music but it sounds like it was extremely loud from your description. He is not supposed to be playing very loud and should stop by 1am.
I hope you will be able to come back and try staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I've stayed in Q-Bar a number of times for work and while the other reviewers comments about the music and the bar are true, I've never experienced any problems, and know that on weekends especially there is going to be music and noise in the bar.

That kind of reputation can be intimidating for a woman staying solo but in fact the staff have always been helpful and friendly, and the separate upstairs restaurant area means you can get away from the main bar if you want to.

The food is good and quick and amazingly the only thing that has disturbed my sleep there is the dogs next door.

There is a shortage of good mid-range hotels in Dar and Q-Bar is reasonably priced and in a good location for the peninsular and down-town. The rooms have always been clean and the breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cryptomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed all your stays with us. We have started upgrading the rooms with flat screen Tv's, new full size mosquito nets, and of course bedding and towels. We hope you will be back with us soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I had to find some where central to crash for 1 night and this wasn't a bad choice.
A loud boer-ish bar packed with heavy drinking rugby watchers, high density of predatory prostitutes.
Saying that it is what it is, a decent choice for lone guy stuck in Dar for the night. Beer, dinner and lady of the night, if that's your thing!
Rooms were basic, clean and good value. You would need to be pretty drunk to sleep before the bar closes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kris_mzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The bar and restaurant has a very mixed crowd but perhaps South Africa was playing when you were there. They do tend to be the most passionate of the supporters. We do have Live Bands on Thursday's and Friday's and a resident DJ on Saturday's. Even with the double glazing windows we put in you can still here some of the music, the music stops at 1am.
We also have couples and families staying here. There is an upstairs balcony as well as the Breakfast area where hotel residents can eat and socialise.
We have made a few changes both in the bar, events and hotel rooms. We hope you will be able to come back again to experience them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We were here on a saturday night, and as suggested by the other reviews the noise from the disco at the bar was quite loud. We had a budget room at the back of the building (no 11) and we could hear the bass line, although it didn't stop us sleeping after a few beers.

The room was fine but basic (which is why we didn't consider it was worth the price) and the shared shower didn't work when we tried to use it. Breakfast was good and the cook was lovely!

The bar itself was pretty sleazy on a Saturday night with a fair few young lady/older man couples, but given the lack of options in Dar it serves cold beer at a not too inflated price (3500tsh).

Our taxi from the airport cost 35,000tsh

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMiles2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for your review.

We agree that the Budget room is quite basic, it has AC, Tv, Refrigerator, Safe and a desk, but could probably do with some paintings. We thank you for your suggestion and will rectify it immediately. We are not sure why the shower did not work for you, I wish you would have informed us so we could have fixed it or shown you where there is another shower.

We will let the Breakfast cook know that you enjoyed her Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Butterfly Hotel
Butterfly Hotel
#46 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
5 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#37 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
150 reviews
3.3 mi away
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
#40 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Peacock Hotel Limited
Peacock Hotel Limited
#59 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#30 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
29 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mesuma Hotel
Mesuma Hotel
#48 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q-Bar & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q-Bar & Guest House

Address: Haile Selassie Rd | Crossing Ali Bin Said Rd, Dar es Salaam 4595, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £29 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Q-Bar & Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hotel on the Msasani Peninsular. Only 10 km from the city centre, a ten minute walk to Coco Beach and right behind the famous Tinga Tinga market. There is now an inside and outside area for the bar and restaurant. You can choose to sit under the stars or if it is too hot you can cool off in the Air-conditioned lounge. We have a Live band on Thursday's and a DJ on Saturday's. The bar is busy and has a good vibe, the restaurant is well known for the BBQ, Sea Food Platters, Steak Flambe and Fajita's. There are also several restaurants and shops within walking distance. The atmosphere is laid back and a great place to meet other travelers and people living in Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Q-Bar & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q-Bar & Guest House Hotel Dar Es Salaam
q-Bar And Guest House
q Bar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing