We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Q-Bar & Guest House
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 2 December 2008

I stayed at Q bar & guesthouse for two nights, and I had a wonderful time! With a friend of mine I stayed at the backpackers room, which was quite cheap. The room and beds were clean and the room looked better than many rooms I had seen untill then in Tanzania. The only thing missing were the mosquito nets. We had a shared bathroom, but toilet and shower were very clean.

We went downstairs to Q bar both nights and we had two pleasant evenings there. Although there are lots of prostitutes, it is a nice place to meet people (locals and backpackers). A live band is playing and the bar staff is very kind. When we finally went to bed, we had some problems with getting to sleep, because of loud music playing. However, this music wasn't coming from Q bar, but from a club just behind it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BackpackerMarieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, owner at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2010

We are glad to hear you had a nice stay with us and hope you will find the time to come back another time. We are also glad to inform you that the night club next door has closed down so you will not be bothered by the noise coming from there.
Regards,
Q-Bar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2008

I was on vacation and stay at Q-bar for a week November 2 thru the 9th 2008 before going on to South Africa to meet my sister. I had a wonderful time in Tanzania and shop everyday at the Tinga Tinga Market. Q-bar had good food as they cooked right away for me and everything was fresh. The staff was very friendly and always ready to help out. I'm a 59th year old woman traveling alone so I wanted to feel safe. The night life was interesting and the people arrived at night were looking to party and have fun.( I was that young once so It really didn't bother me. I slept on the 3rd floor so I really didn't hear too much music. The air conditioner could have
been a little cooler and the TV could have a few more interesting
channels. Since this was my first time in Africa and hope not the last I enjoyed myself. Thanks to all the staff especially Joseph and my driver outside Musa who took me everywhere and even got a parking ticket for helping me out.( which I paid ) and woke up on my last day to take me to the airport at 5:00Am, Thank you.
Hope to return next year.
Nereida
New York City USA

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nereida49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, owner at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it. We printed your review for our team to read and Joseph sends his greetings. We have changed most of our ac's so if you visit us again you will not have a problem with the temperature in the room.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

The place was horrible. We stayed there on Saturday night, but I'm not sure the hotel is any better during the week. Rooms were old and basic. The hotel is located just above a very noisy bar/disco club. It was more like a brothel than a hotel. The music went on non-stop and extremely loud from 10pm to 6am. It was impossible to sleep. The hotel is also quite far from the airport (45 minutes journey) and far from the town centre. Breakfast consisted of a slice of toast, tea and orange juice. We stayed there on the last day of our holiday. It was a horrible ending to a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank crizani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2008

We are very sorry you and your spouse did not enjoy your stay. We welcome everyone to make suggestions on how we can improve. You say there was music played until 6am on a Saturday, we have looked through our records in July and there was one Saturday when the bar was closed at 2:40am and the rest before 2am. So we are a bit confused how you heard music until 6am? It generaly takes 30 minutes to the airport and 10-15 minutes to the city centre, ofcourse it happens that there are traffic jams and it may take up to 45 minutes but it is very rare. We are also very surprised that you did not enjoy your breakfast, we are regularly complimented on the Breakfast. Our Breakfast chef is often praised. Please feel free to send us an email if you have complaints or suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Don't be fooled by the "family run" element of the advertising..this place is essentially a gigantic sports bar, which come evening hours is overrun with prostitutes. The guest house is an afterthought, and nice enough as it goes. I'm not a prude, but I was really shocked to see how much sex trade there is in the bar itself -- a single man can't eat dinner by himself without being approached over and over again. And then seeing bewildered tourist families shepherding small children through the smoke, haze and deal-making..I thought no.

So..go if you fancy going to Africa to live in a sports bar. But if you've got small kids please look further -- this place is wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Andrew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2008

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We wish you would have let us know when you were here so that we could have done our best to make it more comfortable for you. We always welcome complaints and suggestions. Our hotel guests are women, men, couples and families and most come back and stay with us again. We spend a lot of time with our guests and always try to make it as good a stay as possible. It is called Q-Bar & Guest House and our website advertises that we show all the major sports. We have a Restaurant balcony for dinner guests and a Breakfast balcony for hotel guests only, where people can eat if they want privacy. We saw that your review for Bagamoyo was not very good either, we hope it does not discourage you from visiting Tanzania again. Please feel free to send us an email with your suggestions and complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Lo mas lejos posible del bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodamon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Isaac B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kibaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Front Office Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Butterfly Hotel
Butterfly Hotel
#46 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
5 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#37 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
150 reviews
3.3 mi away
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
#40 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Peacock Hotel Limited
Peacock Hotel Limited
#59 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#30 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
29 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mesuma Hotel
Mesuma Hotel
#48 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q-Bar & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q-Bar & Guest House

Address: Haile Selassie Rd | Crossing Ali Bin Said Rd, Dar es Salaam 4595, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £29 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Q-Bar & Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hotel on the Msasani Peninsular. Only 10 km from the city centre, a ten minute walk to Coco Beach and right behind the famous Tinga Tinga market. There is now an inside and outside area for the bar and restaurant. You can choose to sit under the stars or if it is too hot you can cool off in the Air-conditioned lounge. We have a Live band on Thursday's and a DJ on Saturday's. The bar is busy and has a good vibe, the restaurant is well known for the BBQ, Sea Food Platters, Steak Flambe and Fajita's. There are also several restaurants and shops within walking distance. The atmosphere is laid back and a great place to meet other travelers and people living in Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Q-Bar & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q-Bar & Guest House Hotel Dar Es Salaam
q-Bar And Guest House
q Bar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing