We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect way to start off my Tanzanian adventure!”
Review of Babylon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Babylon Lodge
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect way to start off my Tanzanian adventure!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I came to Tanzania for a research project with my university in the USA. We decided to spend our first few days at Babylon Lodge before going to Arusha. It was a very good decision.

We were met at the airport after a late arrival by very friendly and attentive staff from Babylon. The driver was very safe - which was much appreciated given the night driving. We were greeted with fresh juice, tea and coffee - and a late dinner. The rooms were really nice - clean and comfortable. The Lodge itself is very beautiful - with wonderful gardens. The free breakfast was hearty and a great start to the day. We ate several times at the Lodge - and all meals were very tasty. We also went for the Cultural Day Trip in the surrounding area. It was a great way to explore a very beautiful part of Tanzania.

By far, the highlight of Babylon Lodge is the staff. They are all incredibly friendly and welcoming. We were able to have very interesting conversations about a range of topics, and they made sure that we were introduced to more of Tanzania than is usual for most tourists. A special thank you to Evans and Babi for making our stay so special.

They then provided us with transport to Arusha. Once again, the driver drove very safely, and Evans also came along for the ride to explain more about Tanzania during the drive. They also helped us find great value accommodation in Arusha - making our journey so much simpler.

I would highly recommend Babylon Lodge as a wonderful way to experience more of what Tanzania is really about.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms at the very highest point of the Lodge. They had a great deck area in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    26
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
23
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CUMBRIA ENGLAND
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at Babylon for four nights just for a rest in the lovely climate on the slopes of Kilimanjaro. Walks on the lower part of the mountain can be arranged, or guests can walk around the local lanes and visit the weekly market. I had the blue 'tadelakt style' cottage which was very nice, and probably one of the best rooms. The bathroom, with two washbasins, is integral to the room, and yes, the loo does reflect in the mirror.....but I suppose you could cover the mirror with a sarong if required! The room has a little terrace with a tadelakt seat for relaxing. The gardens are beautiful with a large variety of trees and flowers. Breakfast is plentiful, varied, and very nicely presented, and the staff are willing to serve it early in the morning for people with an early departure. The staff are kind, helpful, and professional. I have to mention Eddie and Evans, two great guys on the staff who are an enormous asset to the hotel. I would thoroughly recommend Babylon Lodge.

Room Tip: I had the 'blue room' and it was probably the quietest. The bathroom is integral to the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susansusanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The staff here are very friendly and very competent. My friends and I spend 2 nights her recently before and after climbing kili. The atmosphere is great here, food and drink is good, rooms are clean. The beds are very comfortable. The food was a bit slow to arrive after ordering but that is ok as there is a lovely garden to sit in and have a few beers while waiting for food anyway. There was limited hot water. Overall this is a fantastic place to stay. Ill come back if I'm ever in the area again. It is locally owned and run - it is important to support locally owned businesses. Top marks.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustytimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Babylon Lodge is a superb budget hotel/lodge in Marangu, very close to Kilimanjaro National Park. Our flight was delayed but they still picked us up from the airport OK and brought us here. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. The food is great. We had a day trip up the mountain to the first camp and Maundi Crater - a tough walk if you're not in shape, but not at all technically difficult; and another one day trip - a cultural walk around the Chagga village: both were excellent. The wifi and electricity can be a bit intermittent but hey, this is Africa not London or LA! I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great value, friendly, comfortable, full service lodge

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julian888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I spent a couple of days before my climb up Kilimanjaro along the Machame route and few more recovering afterwards. I firstly needed to change a couple of dates before my climb which was easily accommodated by Bobby the manager. The communication before my climb was terrific and it made sure any anxiety I had before the trip was under control.

When I arrived I was graciously received and shown around the Lodge and greeted by each and every staff member we passed. I had previously spent 9-10 weeks travelling from South Africa up to Rwanda and spent time at various hotels/motels and camp sites along the way. This was definitely one of the better run facilities with many personal touches.

I was travelling solo and so my interactions with the crew was much more personal such as Bobby taking me to a number of sights including one night out before I left to return home. I also spent time with another great guy by the name of Eddie who helped me learn some Swahili, along with the rest of staff members which were more than willing to teach me also.

I was also quite unorganised with my flight plans out of Kilimanjaro and needed help whilst climbing the mountain to organise my flights out. Unbelievably Bobby bought my tickets and I paid him back when I got back down from the climb some few days later. The tickets weren't cheap to say the least and I found this generosity quite unique for anywhere in the world. I would definitely not suggest this is normal procedure but was definitely appreciated. This speaks a lot for the way in which this place accommodates each and every guest.

I would recommend this Lodge for anyone staying around Kilimanjaro before their climb.

All the crew there went out of their ways on different occasions to make my stay more comfortable and enjoyable. I had an early flight out at the end of my stay and had three people greet me at around 4 am or something ridiculous like that in the foyer/reception area. They were all professional and cheerful so even on my departure at 4 am for a drive to the airport my expectations kept being exceeded.

For my entire stay in Africa I would say it was the most outstanding in terms of service, cleanliness and friendliness of the staff.

Thanks to everyone in Babylon Lodge and all the best for the future!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Hi
I Can give my Best recomandation for this Hotel. The staff is extremely helpsome and every one do there allmost to make the stay for you to a outstanding experience. The hotel arranged our hike to Kilimanjaro. This was also done in a very Safe and professional Way. Have a Nice stay there....I will come back, if I go to Tanzania again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I should have known not to expect too much at this price! The good things first; the garden is just amazing - like a garden of Eden. Then the critic; The rooms are terrible, mostly because they are so dark you cant see anything and it get claustrophobic to stay in the room, even at daytime. The place is dirty and I suspect them to just wrap the napkins again without washing them. But an evening around the fireplace was nice and we met many young travelers who liked the place. WiFi did not work and you could not pay by card. We had a nice walk alone up the road from the Lodge and met many nice and friendly local people. The Lodge arranged a day hike to the first Base Camp and we enjoyed that walk a lot, even if it was tough walking up and up. If you are senior travelers with some expectations, avoid this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente Vold K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby L, Manager at Babylon Lodge, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your review. Babylon Lodge is a beautiful Budget hotel on the slopes of Mt. Kilimanjaro. For any guests who is looking for budget but good services then this is the place to be. But for someone who is looking for five star hotel service then it might be hard to meet the standards. Our rooms are basic and we keep them neat and clean. All our cleints enjoy the lodge because of its charm and its services. We have always marketed ourselves as a beautiful budget hotel and if a guest come with that mindset then Babylon Lodge would be one of the best places you would have stayed. We offer value for money and our prices are affordable. We always offer clean napkins at our dinning the food is always tasty. The wi-fi was new at the time of your arrival and we had informed the guests that they are still working on it. It is now working well and all our future guests can enjoy this free service. I am glad you indicated that you found other travellers who liked the place! For a budget hotel we offer quality and affordable services and all our clients are always happy with this.Babylon Lodge is always growing to meet our customers needs and we will make sure we meet your standards in the future. I am also glad you enjoyed the walks that we organize and we will continue to improve to meet the expectations of our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilimanjaro National Park
9.9 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
13.7 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
219 reviews
14.5 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
312 reviews
13.8 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
167 reviews
20.7 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 67 in Moshi
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babylon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babylon Lodge

Property: Babylon Lodge
Address: P.O Box 227 | Marangu-Kilimanjaro, Kilimanjaro National Park +255, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Kilimanjaro National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Kilimanjaro National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilimanjaro's Best Budget Hotel! Babylon Lodge is situated in a lush garden setting, just minutes from Kilimanjaro National Park. Locally owned and operated, we provide service and amenities that equal the more expensive hotels at a much lower price. We have recently remodeled with new restaurant, bar and garden areas. Also, since we are from the area and have no need for middlemen, we can help you to find low-priced, quality tours that you might not find at the larger resorts. Babylon Lodge is the perfect place to stay for a weekend away or before/after a climb. Babylon Lodge is the only hotel in Marangu that offers free Wi-Fi to its clients. Welcome to Babylon Lodge for quality and affordable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Babylon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing