We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to relax before & after trek”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilimanjaro National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights before & after the trek to Kilimanjaro. The staff are extremely friendly and the place is great to relax before and after the exhausting trek of Mt Kilimanjaro. The hotel is 15 mins drive from the Marangu gate so its great if you are trekking on the Marangu route or, like us, on the Rongai Route as you will return via Marangu gate. The rooms are large and well maintained and the food in the restaurant is pretty good. The bar is a great place to relax with a nice fire going in the evenings. It has the feel of a jungle lodge. My friends got a massage done by Lily and were quite impressed. All the staff, mostly women & girls, are friendly and helpful and maintain a very cheerful atmosphere. Thank you all for a great trip to Kilimanjaro!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajashekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in August 2013. The place had extremely spacious, clean rooms and great public areas. The food was nowhere near as bad as other reviews led us to fear. Ok it was buffet style and a bit canteen-ish, but everything seemed fresh and was quite tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trentmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for two separate nights as part of a trip up Kilimanjaro.

We were given a warm welcome and the staff helped us take our heavy bags to our room.

The room and en suite bathroom were both large with a balcony overlooking the pool, flat screen TV with English channels, hot powerful shower, a bath, tea and coffee making facilities and comfortable beds. Some of the things in the room like the bed linen and rugs seemed a bit dated but were generally clean.

We had the buffet for dinner on two occasions which was a bit over priced for what it was but was still nice. Breakfast was also alright.

Some staff were amazing very friendly and attentive and eager to help, others were a bit down beat. The hotel seemed to employ a lot more women than men which was refreshing.

The bar area was very cool and had a little fire going as it was cold when we were there. We were celebrating in the bar after summitting Kilimanjaro and were impressed by the patience of the staff with some of our friends who were a bit demanding.

The hotel also offer manicures, pedicures and massages which we would definitely have had if we were staying longer. The laundry service was a bit too expensive for us but there was a walking shoe cleaning service available for $3 which we would have used if we would have known about it.

There is no wi-fi but Internet is available on the hotel's computers although the connection is quite slow.

There are a few treks that you can do to see waterfalls from the hotel and the hotel grounds are quite pretty and well kept.

All in all a good comfortable place to start and end your trek up Kilimanjaro.

We were charged $90 plus tip for a transfer for two people from the hotel to the airport. I'm not sure if this was the hotel price or the tour company's price but either way we thought that this was extortionate as a transfer from Arusha to the hotel which is about 60-90 minutes further had cost us $80.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Well appointed hotel overseen while we were there by the efficient Margaret who had a special capacity to get things fixed right away, always handy. Rooms were well appointed and we had the fun of appearing in a promo video for the hotel. Food was hot and plentiful but could be a little more adventurous I feel and they would benefit from extending the wine offering maybe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orchardsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

After a hefty day of climbing the Mount Kilimanjaro we liked something to sooth our drained body. Our host Kilimanjaro Mountain hotel seems to have solved it all.

Though drinks seems to be so expensive compared to other Tanzanian Hotels.
The owner should also check on the quality of food served.
It is a perfect place for viewing Mount Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here for a night before and after my recent trek up the mountain. Enjoyed my stay and would happily recommend the place - decent rooms, with comfortable beds and the very necessary washing facilities: you will feel filthy when you come down from your climb: I had a bath and a couple of showers!

There's also a great (cheap and quick) laundry service available through reception - I thought my boots were ruined forever, but for $3 I had them back the next morning as good as new.

Friendly and helpful staff, a lovely bar area with a nice range of (cheap) local beers and a chiminea - nice to sit warming your toes and chatting - plus a small gift shop, an internet cafe (very slow connection) and a nice looking pool. The menu for bar food is good too ( I can recommend the burgers, the sweet and sour chicken and the chilli beef) - service can be a little slow, but nothing to worry about. Breakfast is a buffet, and the cooked to order omelettes are recommended.

One tip from our party: don;t bother trying to check in on-line for your return flight - you'll need to queue at the airport anyway.

Do use this hotel: it's a great part of the Kilimanjaro adventure.

Room Tip: Try and get a ground floor room when you get back - your legs will be aching and a room on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

After we finished our successful climb to the summit of Kilimanjaro with Tropical-Ice, we stayed at Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort to re-group and get a much needed hot shower and a much anticipated bed to sleep in before the trip back to the states. Anna and Margaret are so friendly at the front desk and did everything possible to make our one night stay memorable. It was nice to sit in an open air bar for a drink before dinner and relax in front of a fire pit laughing with friends who you spent 6 days being with -- and you know what a fire pit brings? NEW FRIENDS! And before you know it, everyone is sharing stories and enjoying the company of fellow climbers. We were only there for one night, so all I can say is the beef sizzler entree was great!! I definitely picked a winner on the menu. If you don't notice it, I will tell you that there is a patio on the roof. There is no elevator, so you have to climb (yes, CLIMB) six floors up -- but you won't be disappointed in the view!! They have gardens behind the hotel, so there's plenty of "down time" to relax and walk under the trees and view all the flowers. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilimanjaro National Park
0 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
0 mi away
New Dodoma Hotel-Dodoma Rock Hotel
0 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 17 in Moshi
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
246 reviews
0 mi away
Aishi Machame Hotel
Aishi Machame Hotel
#3 of 17 in Moshi
35 reviews
0 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort

Address: Kilimanjaro National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Kilimanjaro National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kilimanjaro National Park
Price Range: £192 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Kilimanjaro Mountain Hotel Kilimanjaro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing