We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel after climbing Kilimanjaro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel after climbing Kilimanjaro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after climbing Kilimanjaro.
It's a real surprise gem in an otherwise poor part of the world.
The staff were friendly, attentive, and helpful. The rooms were spacious, very comfortable and very clean.
The bar was brilliant, Internet connection, pool, spa, laundry service - it's pure luxury!
My only gripe was that the food wasn't brilliant - but then you do have to remember that you are in the middle of a jungle in a very poor part of the world,and the fact you can get a margarita pizza at all is a wonder to behold!
Defo recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    36
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
11
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed at the Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort Hotel either side of a Kilimanjaro climb in August this year.
From the moment we arrived, we were very well looked after. Everyone is very friendly and accommodaing, and nothing is too much trouble.
All of the rooms were very spacious and clean. Bathrooms were also huge. There is a good bar which also serves food, as well as the main dining rooms. We had breakfast and dinner included as part of our package, which was served buffet style in the dining rooms. This was pretty basic, but nice and wholesome. The night we arrived, we ordered from the a la carte menu as we arrived quite late. The hotel kept the kitchen open for us, which was really kind, and the menu choice was still very good. All of us really enjoyed our food options (much better quality and selection than the buffet!).
The hotel also offers a (much needed after a Kili climb!) laundry and boot cleaning service, which is brilliant - inexpensive and a very quick turn around, to allow for those guests departing early the next day.
There is also a fantastic beauty thearapist who offers massages, manicures and pedicures, which we can also recommend.
The hotel arranged a local guide for us when we arrived, to show us around the local area. This was really interesting and informative, and well worth doing, to familiarise yourself with the local area and local history.
All in all, a really enjoyable stay, and definitely worth coming to the hotel around your Kilimanjaro climb!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_lou2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights before & after the trek to Kilimanjaro. The staff are extremely friendly and the place is great to relax before and after the exhausting trek of Mt Kilimanjaro. The hotel is 15 mins drive from the Marangu gate so its great if you are trekking on the Marangu route or, like us, on the Rongai Route as you will return via Marangu gate. The rooms are large and well maintained and the food in the restaurant is pretty good. The bar is a great place to relax with a nice fire going in the evenings. It has the feel of a jungle lodge. My friends got a massage done by Lily and were quite impressed. All the staff, mostly women & girls, are friendly and helpful and maintain a very cheerful atmosphere. Thank you all for a great trip to Kilimanjaro!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajashekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in August 2013. The place had extremely spacious, clean rooms and great public areas. The food was nowhere near as bad as other reviews led us to fear. Ok it was buffet style and a bit canteen-ish, but everything seemed fresh and was quite tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trentmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for two separate nights as part of a trip up Kilimanjaro.

We were given a warm welcome and the staff helped us take our heavy bags to our room.

The room and en suite bathroom were both large with a balcony overlooking the pool, flat screen TV with English channels, hot powerful shower, a bath, tea and coffee making facilities and comfortable beds. Some of the things in the room like the bed linen and rugs seemed a bit dated but were generally clean.

We had the buffet for dinner on two occasions which was a bit over priced for what it was but was still nice. Breakfast was also alright.

Some staff were amazing very friendly and attentive and eager to help, others were a bit down beat. The hotel seemed to employ a lot more women than men which was refreshing.

The bar area was very cool and had a little fire going as it was cold when we were there. We were celebrating in the bar after summitting Kilimanjaro and were impressed by the patience of the staff with some of our friends who were a bit demanding.

The hotel also offer manicures, pedicures and massages which we would definitely have had if we were staying longer. The laundry service was a bit too expensive for us but there was a walking shoe cleaning service available for $3 which we would have used if we would have known about it.

There is no wi-fi but Internet is available on the hotel's computers although the connection is quite slow.

There are a few treks that you can do to see waterfalls from the hotel and the hotel grounds are quite pretty and well kept.

All in all a good comfortable place to start and end your trek up Kilimanjaro.

We were charged $90 plus tip for a transfer for two people from the hotel to the airport. I'm not sure if this was the hotel price or the tour company's price but either way we thought that this was extortionate as a transfer from Arusha to the hotel which is about 60-90 minutes further had cost us $80.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Well appointed hotel overseen while we were there by the efficient Margaret who had a special capacity to get things fixed right away, always handy. Rooms were well appointed and we had the fun of appearing in a promo video for the hotel. Food was hot and plentiful but could be a little more adventurous I feel and they would benefit from extending the wine offering maybe.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchardsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

After a hefty day of climbing the Mount Kilimanjaro we liked something to sooth our drained body. Our host Kilimanjaro Mountain hotel seems to have solved it all.

Though drinks seems to be so expensive compared to other Tanzanian Hotels.
The owner should also check on the quality of food served.
It is a perfect place for viewing Mount Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilimanjaro National Park
11.9 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
12.6 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
21.1 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
11.3 mi away
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort

Property: Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort
Address: Kilimanjaro National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Kilimanjaro National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kilimanjaro National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilimanjaro Mountain Hotel Kilimanjaro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing