We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 2 separate nights before and after climbing Kilimanjaro. The road to the hotel really could do with being finished sometime soon but the hotel is lovely. The rooms are spacious and clean with baths. They cleaned my walking boots for 3 dollars and did a brilliant job almost like new. Food was ok maybe more choices would have been welcomed. Beds were comfy , has a small pool and gym. Had a good sleep here great stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    36
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
11
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Let me start by saying the reception staff are great.
But it all goes down hill (ha) from there

cleaners are sullen , bar staff are rude, and the restaurant staff are cold to hostile
Plus the food is so bad.

It is poor quality ingredients, badly cooked and poorly served.

We had better food out of a tent at 4,700m!!!!!

Only if very cheap!!!

Room Tip: all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonVerdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilimanjaro National Park hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Really good hotel with spacious rooms ensuites etc.
Great bar area and pool. The bar prices were OK but the food was poor and expensive.
The pool was cool but refreshing!
The frequent power cuts added to the experience.
Great location for the Kilimanjaro trek.
The staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after climbing Kilimanjaro.
It's a real surprise gem in an otherwise poor part of the world.
The staff were friendly, attentive, and helpful. The rooms were spacious, very comfortable and very clean.
The bar was brilliant, Internet connection, pool, spa, laundry service - it's pure luxury!
My only gripe was that the food wasn't brilliant - but then you do have to remember that you are in the middle of a jungle in a very poor part of the world,and the fact you can get a margarita pizza at all is a wonder to behold!
Defo recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed at the Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort Hotel either side of a Kilimanjaro climb in August this year.
From the moment we arrived, we were very well looked after. Everyone is very friendly and accommodaing, and nothing is too much trouble.
All of the rooms were very spacious and clean. Bathrooms were also huge. There is a good bar which also serves food, as well as the main dining rooms. We had breakfast and dinner included as part of our package, which was served buffet style in the dining rooms. This was pretty basic, but nice and wholesome. The night we arrived, we ordered from the a la carte menu as we arrived quite late. The hotel kept the kitchen open for us, which was really kind, and the menu choice was still very good. All of us really enjoyed our food options (much better quality and selection than the buffet!).
The hotel also offers a (much needed after a Kili climb!) laundry and boot cleaning service, which is brilliant - inexpensive and a very quick turn around, to allow for those guests departing early the next day.
There is also a fantastic beauty thearapist who offers massages, manicures and pedicures, which we can also recommend.
The hotel arranged a local guide for us when we arrived, to show us around the local area. This was really interesting and informative, and well worth doing, to familiarise yourself with the local area and local history.
All in all, a really enjoyable stay, and definitely worth coming to the hotel around your Kilimanjaro climb!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_lou2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights before & after the trek to Kilimanjaro. The staff are extremely friendly and the place is great to relax before and after the exhausting trek of Mt Kilimanjaro. The hotel is 15 mins drive from the Marangu gate so its great if you are trekking on the Marangu route or, like us, on the Rongai Route as you will return via Marangu gate. The rooms are large and well maintained and the food in the restaurant is pretty good. The bar is a great place to relax with a nice fire going in the evenings. It has the feel of a jungle lodge. My friends got a massage done by Lily and were quite impressed. All the staff, mostly women & girls, are friendly and helpful and maintain a very cheerful atmosphere. Thank you all for a great trip to Kilimanjaro!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajashekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in August 2013. The place had extremely spacious, clean rooms and great public areas. The food was nowhere near as bad as other reviews led us to fear. Ok it was buffet style and a bit canteen-ish, but everything seemed fresh and was quite tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trentmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilimanjaro National Park
11.9 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
12.6 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
12.1 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.9 mi away
Babylon Lodge
Babylon Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kilimanjaro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort

Property: Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort
Address: Kyalla - Marangu West | PO Box 301, Kilimanjaro National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Kilimanjaro National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kilimanjaro National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilimanjaro Mountain Hotel Kilimanjaro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing