We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rock hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Clean rooms and adjacent double rooms for families. Built into and around a copjes rock formation in a beautiful part of Serengeti. Good views from all rooms and pool area (the water was freezing cold in july). Restaurant food was average. Furniture and rooms built at the same time as Ngorongoro Wildlife lodge, but a lot more charming due to the different levels and the combination of rocks and buildings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSaabye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    94
    56
    32
    17
See reviews for
51
110
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Ok so what's the beef with the rubbish reviews. Our 1night at lobo was great. Excellent views and freindly atmosphere. Comfortable rooms with great views of buffalo and impala from my bed free WiFi would have been a bonus but actually being out of digital contact with the world was even better

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank clarereeading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here in June. The property itself is beautiful, with expansive views of the Serengeti. The room was small, but okay. Our problems related to other issues. The food, as mentioned by another reviewer was just not good, nor was it appealing. I ordered a glass of sauvignon blanc, which came to the table an amber color. I told the server that it was old, and he returned with a glass of the same, which I sent back again. The third glass was acceptable - from a new bottle. The boxed lunch provided on the safari included a burnt piece of chicken, a wedge of Laughing Cow cheese which was dried up and a boxed juice which would expire in two weeks. I did not drink it.
The hotel charges for internet access - $10 USD which must be used continuously in a specific room (not available in public areas or your room) for 1 hour. They will not put this on your bill - you must pay cash. Another snag, upon checkout they convert all charges from Tanzania shillings to USD at a very unfavorable rate. If you want to use a credit card they assess an additional 5% to the bill.
There are other tented camps nearby, which are a much better value, and will provide a much happier experience. The two properties we stayed at owned by this chain-- Wildlife Lobo and Seronera were the absolute worst of our travels in Africa. I would avoid if other options are available. There is a recurring theme here - most of which relates to the arrogant management.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Serengeti National Park hotels

Ahmedabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The high point of our stay at lobo lodge was the viewing deck from where u can hav the 180 degree view of the vast forest .we paid a high price for d rooms as this place was almost full cause annual migration.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadhwanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

great place to stay
We stayed one night in the Lobo Lodge and we loved it. The property is very large, but the decor of the lobby to the rooms and the dining room is very nice. The rooms are all the same, but better to choose those with views over the valley. The pool is comfortable and has a magnificent view over the valley. We were in a little tourist period and therefore was not very affolato.
The restaurant is very nice, but mediocre food and buffet anyway ..
The strong point is its stunning scenery

We traveled with Base Camp Tanzania.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raffaella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This lodge used to be a governement run place during the socialist periode of Tansania. The rooms are small, if you have a neighbour in the next room (which was not the case, since the occupation was about 10% at the time we were here) you can here him rather good. The buildings are beautiful integrated into the landscape, the view from the room is limited to the surrounding savanne, however you see at most times animals walking around. The swimming pool area is a spectacular place with full view on the savanna. Vervet monkeys, rock dassies and agama lizards are all the time around. The service is a bit slow and well below of other lodges within the serenget. The food was excellent - it looks like the chief in the kitchen is a Indian - as well as the management.

Room Tip: I assume, that all rooms are about the same with also the same view. Top floor is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Day 14-15 and the last 2 days of my safari This is sad and as I look across the Serengeti from the viewing platform I become a little bit emotional During this safari I have become emotional 3 times when I saw my first gorilla ,when I witnessed the Mara river crossing and looking across the vastness of the Serengeti. This is my 3rd and final trip to Africa and if it is on your bucket list do it.
Lobo lodge is again built into the landscape and governed by generated power usage.
For the second time in 3 weeks the staff either choose not to understand English or are just rud but that aside the rooms are presentable although the one that I had had an odour about it.And at least there was hot running water even if on the last day my shower became completely detached from the wall!!!!!! oh well I am in Africa It is something about Africa that they have an aversion to flushing toilets and non working hot showers.
Hyrex rule again but more importantly are the baboons Of a morning they use the corridors to descend from the trees and welcome in the day I had one outside my room looking at me as I looked at him. So keep the door closed.
The doors are decorated with animals and the pool is built into the cliff.
The décor a bit dark and dated but again complimentary toiletries and water.
The view of the Serengeti from the deck is amazing and of an afternoon you can observe the Ruppell's Griffon Vulture soring on the thermals so close you can almost touch them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeenTraveller12372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
23.5 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
430 reviews
41.5 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
877 reviews
64.1 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#12 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#11 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
309 reviews
20.6 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#20 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
268 reviews
38.3 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#17 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobo Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Property: Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Address: Northern Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 2633, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lobo Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lobo Wildlife Lodge is a dream of romanticism in its remote location, strategically hidden inside an enormous volcanic rocky outcrop. It is the biggest Lodge on the migration route. You can watch and witness the migration by lying in the pool. Artistically made of wood and glass elements around clusters of large boulders, harmoniously merging with its surroundings, the Lodge affords from its raised location stunning views of the most amazing natural spectacle to be seen on Earth.Lobo is ideally set in the migratory route of over two and a half million of wildebeest in their desperate struggle for survival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Lobo Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lobo Wildlife Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing