We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Great migration”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a safari,in the Serengeti to view the great migration three of the nights were spent at Olakira Camp, if you want to be in the heart of the migration you would be hard pressed to find a better location, a better equipped camp, for great game drives, great guides and drivers(a huge thanks goes to Albert for the excellent game spotting)with great food, great service and great staff, who go out of their way to ensure you have a great holiday safari,
the "TENTS" are huge and serviced two or three times a day, they come with electricity, flushing loo's hot water bucket showers as and when you need them, bathroom luxuries, robes, torches for the dark hours, walkie talkies if you need assistance, but you always had a Masai warrior guarding your tent in the dark hours, roaring lions and a roaring camp fire with a cocktail, wine or beer to try and outdo your fellow travellers stories of great animal sightings, and there are plenty to share, I have already recommended this camp to both family and friends, and if we are lucky enough to go back to Tanzania, Asilia's Olakira will be on the bucket list, superb, many thanks for the great memories.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed 3nts in this camp and it was simply fantastic! The service that I got from everyone in the camp was exceptional! Food was brilliant and sitting round the fire for pre-dinner drinks etc was just out of this world! The last night I was there the camp was besieged with wilderbeest the entire night! Absolutely brilliant! I loved every minute of it. The tent was amazing and I just loved the walkie talkie to let the staff know that you were ready for your shower! It was absolutely great and I was really sorry to leave!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent our last 2 nights in Tanzania at Olakira Camp. It is a fabulous camp and Alex greets you as you arrive and makes you feel quite at home. Our tent was number one - which proved interesting on our last night when a pride of lions set up base extremely close to our tent and serenaded us all night long; buffalo grazed round our tent the night before. It has to be experienced as words cannot do justice to this trip. Alex and his staff are so welcoming, the food is first class and the tents extremely luxurious. The hot water bottles at the bottom of the bed were just a fabulous touch. I disagree with a previous comment about the bucket shower and dank shower stall - the bucket shower is absolutely adequate and the showers most certainly are not dank. You are in Africa - if you want luxury of a non-stop shower then don't go on safari! My husband and I look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzzySx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed 3 nights at this excellent mobile tent in the
Serengeti. This was a wonderful experience. The "tent" was actually a sizable room with a huge bed. We would go to sleep at night hearing the sounds of the birds and animals, all the time knowing we were safe in our dwelling. We found the bathroom, with the shower , to be totally fine. The staff was very friendly and did their very best to make our safari experience memorable. Alex ate dinner and sat at the campfire with us each night, and enhanced our stay with his willingness to share his knowledge and expertise regarding the wildlife, Masai culture, and Tanzania in general. The food was superb, and it was a great pleasure sitting at the communal table each night, sharing game -viewing highlights with the other guests while eating gourmet food and sipping wine or drinking beer. I also want to put in a good word for our guide Nathan, who was superb! I would recommend Olakira highly!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenniseyeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We did not have great experience at this camp. It was not all bad - the food was really good. But there was a noticable lack of management. At the other camps we went to there were hosts that were front and center and as a result everything ran smoothly. At Olakira there did not appear to be anyone in charge and things feel through the cracks. Also, it was a bit too rustic. The shower situation is awful - bucket showers that had to be scheduled and gave you only minutes to shower in a dark and dank shower stall. There was a rain storm and our daughters tent flooded. After the rain the mud was a huge problem. Luckily they provide rubber boots - walking to and from the dining tent was a challenge as you sank into inches of mud only to arrive at dinner with your boots and pants covered in mud. Also the road to the camp is so bad that we saw a number of jeeps get stuck. So, I can't really recommend this camp - it's got too many negatives.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank colorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We arrived to find we were in tent 9 - the tent furthest from the main camp buildings. As we walked to it we saw the front entry was surrounded by zebra. Of course, as we came closer, they moved away; and we realized that we were really 'at a bush camp.' During our stay we could watch the wildebeest walk right by our tent. The other reviewers give an accurate description of just how well Alex and Kenneth and their staff run this camp. Our guide/driver Elia was instinctive as to where we should be for the best photos.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musingsretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is one camp that you need to include in your itinerary for the Serengeti. The whole experience is just something that I will remember for a long time.

From the moment you arrive you feel at home and the people really cares about you. Everything were carefully explained, from the showers to the walkie talkie. Joseph that filled our buckets for the showers every night was a star. The tent is huge and the bathroom section has everything that you will find in a chalet. It was wonderful going to bed each night with the unspoilt view of the
surroundings.

Every meal is superb and they present the food beautifully. I was a bit sceptical about eating at a table with people that you do not know, but I really enjoyed listening to everybody's stories of what they have seen during the day. You do not need to worry about your safety because you are walked to your tent at night by a Masai warrior with a spear! There is a separate tent with lots of reading material and a place to charge electrical appliances. My washing was done without charge not like the other lodges where we stayed.

They pitch the tents where the most wildlife is at present and that enlarge your chances of seeing all the wildlife. I departed with a sad heart because it seems that in two days time we have made friends for life.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tuscany987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
52.7 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#7 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
499 reviews
97.9 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
532 reviews
38 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#3 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#8 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
275 reviews
74 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#13 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
327 reviews
62.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the Great Migration at Olakira Migration Camp. You will feel the earth vibrate during brave winter crossings of the mighty rivers in the north, or be moved beyond measure by the mass summer calving on the south's grassy plains. Olakira follows the massive herds of wildebeest to two spectacular locations in the north and south of the Serengeti National Park. Home from December to March is the southern Serengeti, where herds of wildebeest calve simultaneously and the plains throng with new life. As the dry days of winter arrive, Olakira relocates north to the confluence of the Mara and Bolongonja rivers for spectacular game viewing at the Mara River itself and around the Lamai Wedge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing