We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faru Faru was fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Singita Faru Faru Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
372 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Faru Faru was fantastic”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at Faru Faru for four nights recently as part of our honeymoon. My hubbie is a safari buff so has travelled extensively in Africa and he was impressed. Our experience at the lodge was fantastic. The food was exceptional - every meal was exceptional (and we are foodies). We liked the platters at lunch which were very healthy. Rama was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The rooms similarly were also beautiful, large and very comfortable. We didn't expect Air conditioning so that was a plus. Our guide, Anthony who was recommended to us also was very experienced, dedicated, and tried very hard. Our stay at Faru Faru was the highlight of our honeymoon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegemitelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
86
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've built camps and stayed at 100s of safari lodges/camps over the past 30 years as a safari guide.
I simply loved it here at Faru Faru. The rooms are first class and the food was absolutely the best I've had EVER on safari. Well done Singita! But its the wildlife we go to the bush for RIGNT? From woodland to grassy plains to dense riverside forest this area has great variety. Likewise the wildlife seen. Excellent resident wildlife means that every drive is interesting. I shall return for sure!

Room Tip: All are wonderful. Turn off the AC and just have one fan on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

It's all been said about this place before so I have little to add about the exceptional experience you'll get here. However, they say a picture say's a thousand words so here are a few shots I took in and around Singita faru faru in April 2014. We stayed two nights - it wasn't enough. The highlight for Jo and I was undoubtably the people. The facilities were amazing, the game viewing astounding but it was the people who really made the experience one we'll treasure for a lifetime. I'd go back in a heartbeat. An especial thanks to Jeremiah our guide and to Zedi who looked after us like we were royalty. You guys are the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylorpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We loved this hotel! We stayed for three nights and everyone and everything was fantastic. Our guide Anton was full of interesting facts and took time to show the kids all sorts of things as well as sitting in the rain with us tracking a leopard, who was tracking zebra. The food was out of this world, we are particularly grateful to Peter and his team for cooking us a “local” meal – just divine. The rooms with the huge windows were beautiful and clean. The lovely touches, such as giving us painting sets, meant we all did something different. The telescopes were great for watching wildlife in the morning while still in bed. The kids also loved showering in a storm, almost tripping over a moitor lizard on the way back from breakfast and archery with the very patient Anton. Finally, the riding safari just made my whole trip; thanks you to James and his team. Madeline and Roger thanks to you and your team for making it such a special end to our trip – I really want to come back already.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealWomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

To begin with, the lodge is situated in a way that you can not see it as you approach. You are met on a path by the lodge manager Madeline and her staff along with Sentries or Scurries. Each part of the lodge is secluded in it's own way and as you enter each, it opens into a amazingly beautiful and spacious rock and antique decor.

From the very first moment, you and your traveling companions are their first priority and you can tell. Met with hot towels and drinks, and each time afterwards Paul knew exactly what our and the kids favorite drink was waiting for us freshly prepared.

The rooms are immaculate and I felt as if I was that biologist in the early 1900s with the luxury of todays amenities. Everything on their website is true and more.

Peter, the Executive Chief is amazing as well and the food was FANTASTIC!!

Our only complaint was they we could not stay longer than the two nights there due to availability. However we moved on to the Exploror Camp which was fabulous as well. I will write a detailed review separately about it.

There was only one real issue with the Spa Treatments for my wife and mother-in-law but it was resolved quickly.

Mathew, (The Maasai Warrior) was our Field Guide and our personal daily escort and driver while at both Faru Faru and Exploror Camp. I can't say enough about my "Brother from another mother". He loves the kids and the kids him. His knowledge about the animals, how to find them was unbeatable. He taught us how to brush our teeth with certain trees and how to survive in the wild in a pinch. His driving was extremely professional and his service to his clients TOP NOTCH!!! Mathew truly made this trip for us!! He will forever be in our hearts and minds. Our children cried when we had to depart on the 6th day from Exploror. My son keeps the Maasai walking stick that Mathew made for him everywhere he goes and my daughter keeps her wooden sword with her. We plan on keeping in touch with Mathew as he is forever a part of our family now.

Thank You Madeline, Rodger, Paul and Mathew as this was a once in a life time experience that we will have to repeat. However we don't want to go back without Mathew as our guide.

++The outdoor rock enclosed showers was a major enhancement. But the wildlife does watch..!

Room Tip: It's hard to enjoy everything they have to offer if you do not stay on the schedule they propose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machspeed777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This review is of our stay in early June 2103..First of all we got there in the middle of the migration - so i'm a bit biased..The migration is one of the planet's greatest spectacles and is to be seen to be believed. Singita Grumeti is one of earth's most remarkable places and the beauty of the landscape is matched by the abundance of the game. We saw a million or so widebeest, innumerable zebra and giraffe, 10 lions feeding on a wildebeest, 2 unsuccessful lion chases, a pair of mating lions, all the big 5, a widebeest river crossing !! Jeremiah - our guide was unbelievable - he made our trip !!

The lodge - the best we encountered in Africa. We saw Sasakwa and Sabora as well and I have to say that Faru Faru is the best of the 3. From the room design to the hospitality to the food - Faru Faru is the best I have experienced in the world ! The lodge manager ( forgotten her name ) was so hands on, hard working, organised, friendly and just looked like she was so eager to make sure everyone had a super experience..brilliant attitude ( wish I could have employees like her )..David - our chef - should get 3 Michelin stars for serving uncomplicated food that looks and tastes sensational..

BTW - we saw a bit of the migration from the outdoor shower of our room one afternoon. This is a once in a lifetime experience - which I hope I'll be able to do again and again..Faru Faru - Thank you..

Room Tip: All are brilliant ! you just cant go wrong here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARJUNP921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

What more can I add to previous reviews? This is an exceptional lodge in every respect. Rooms are huge with every amenity. Free calls to the USA, air conditioning, two minibars, outdoor stone shower, huge windows for game viewing, comfy bed. Service is impeccable. Guiding exceptional. Just great. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norm5Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
22.2 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.8 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#31 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#64 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
42.2 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
39.9 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singita Faru Faru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Faru Faru Lodge

Property: Singita Faru Faru Lodge
Address: Grumeti Reserves, Serengeti National Park 0, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singita Faru Faru Lodge is set in Grumeti in northern Tanzania, forming part of the Serengeti Mara ecosystem. Built on a gently sloping hill, this riverine lodge, positioned on the renowned migratory route, is a place where you can quite literally expect the unexpected. Informal, unconventional and surprising at every turn, Singita Faru Faru Lodge is a mix of contemporary, organic style and the quirky practicality of a traditional botanist's camp. With such close proximity to the river and plains, guests have the unique opportunity to experience a very close connection with the wilderness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Singita Faru Faru Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing