We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended! A+ service!”
Review of Ikoma Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ikoma Safari Camp
Taipei
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly recommended! A+ service!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! The staff was really attentive. Every time we needed something, they were there to help us out. We requested early breakfast and we got it. Pepe, the manager, was especially accommodating. One of my friends decided to not to join us on our safari for one day and Pepe accompanied her basically the whole day in spite of the language barrier. Rooms were large and were given very interesting names. The food was superb and all of us asked for seconds.

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight. Finding where your lodge is at night can be tricky without a flashlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojojojotang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    41
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
35
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights during our safari the first week in July. The staff was very friendly. The food was fine although not the best we had. The best part? Sitting on the little porch on our tent and watching the elephants walking by. Unforgettable! Beautiful place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmy2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Pepi the proprietor, made this place more special than it already was, rooms are large, clean, beds comfortable and had mosquito nets. Continuous hot water thanks to Pepi's ingenious use of solar power. Food was great, service was good and friendly s too. Close location to park entrance. Wild life at your doorstep. What more could you want. Pepi even lent us his data stick so we could check emails etc.

Room Tip: Had family rooms that sleep 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The camp is located just outside of Serengeti, You can hear the hyenas laugh at night, the masai guard the camp and is an interesting experience to see them standing still in the darkness with a bow and arrow looking out for danger. Truly an experience of going back to basics in life! It has hot water only in the evening and early mornings. During breakfast and dinner, do catch up with the chef Mohammed and let him know your preference for food. He will ask you a few basic questions and can create magical 4 course dinner that your taste buds will love! This was the best part of the stay in this camp for me!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prapti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

just want to say PEPE thanks for your warm welcome , and we hope to see you in istanbul-turkey

lodge is very nice and clean , for breakfast place it was superb. dinner time also was very good we liked all meals. staff very helpful , lodge have 24 hours power for charge battery , and for hospitality it was very good from PEPE .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodrumtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Ikoma Safari Camp. My bungalow/tent was big and clean. I enjoyed sitting on the verandah looking out into the bush. There was electricity, a flushing toilet, and a nice shower. You have to charge your electronics at the restaurant as other reviewers have stated. That was not a problem. The food was fine. The only quibble is that the lodge is quite far west and it is a long drive back to the park. There lots of bugs at night, but that's just how it is in the bush. I had to kill a couple of large, scary looking bugs for my peace of mind even though there was a mosquito net. The thatched roof was also home to a genet that I saw crawling on the outside, so I could hear scratching at night, but I ignored it and fell asleep. I did the night safari, and if I wasn't so tired, I think I would have enjoyed it more. I was half asleep during the second half of the night safari (we left at 9:00 pm and came back around 11:00 pm).

Room Tip: I was in room 22, which was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhirldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We loved staying at ikoma safari camp for 2nites.It is an unfenced camp & this adds on to the adventure.They have guards watching over with bow & arrows.We had to use torch lights to go to the dining area.food was good.Pepe the manager there was very warm & welcoming.He ensured everything was perfect,we would have interesting discussions with other guests & Pepe in the evenings almost became friends & must mention Pepe offered Amarulla to add to the fun.We did see dick dicks & gazelle's moving around.Although amidst the jungle we were very comfortable there is 24hrs electricity & hot water.It is just 20mins drive to the Serengetti National park,which is an advantage.Would definitely recommend this place to friends & a must come back for us

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCD_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#2 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
855 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kati Kati Tented Camp
Kati Kati Tented Camp
#9 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikoma Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikoma Safari Camp

Property: Ikoma Safari Camp
Address: Serengeti Tented Camp | Serengeti, Northern Tanzania, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 321

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing