We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tented camp”
Review of Ikoma Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ikoma Safari Camp
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good tented camp”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The tent was clean but kind of old (not as good as the previous tented we did). No wooden floor.
The restaurant was great. Breakfast and dinner were amazing.
People with guns escort you around the camp to protect you from unexpected animal presence in the park.
The camp is conveniently located close to Serengeti park.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    41
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
35
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Ikoma Camp for two nights during our Safari in the Serengeti. It is a very beautiful place to sit and have a G&T watching the sun go down!
Our host, Pepe was wonderful and looked after us. Our friend had his birthday while we stayed there and his team made a lovely cake and serenaded him!
Loved the fire pit!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthOConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Rustic tented camp. A bit of a drive to get into the park thus they recommend you bring lunch to have in the park.
I celebrated my birthday there with lots of song and dance which was fantastic and certainly festive.
A tour operator from a different tour recommended we return for 1 lunch and request the East African lunch. They should advertise that and put it in all the guide books. It was amazing. We had a fabulous lunch, outside in the field with the wildebeests organizing themselves in the background for their migration. There was lots of singing and dancing (audience participation required).
Thank you Esther, David, Mohammed and Satima, you are stars:)
The Serengeti is of course jam packed with any animal your heart desires.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musoma, Tanzania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Ikoma Safari Camp is located a few kilometers from the Ikoma Gate to Serengeti National Park. The accomodations are nice, but have a rustic feel. The water heaters are solar, and if you are there on an overcast day you shouldn't expect a warm shower in the evening. The evening meal in the dining banda was tasty. They prepared a private banda for our breakfast, which was a really nice way to start the day. Others have complained about the box lunch that they provide, but after some experiences at other camps in Tanzania, I was quite pleased with the box lunch.

Pepe, the owner, was an unusual guy to find hanging out on the edge of the Serengeti. He is very sociable, however he wasn't the most responsive to my mother-in-law's request for a new lightbulb outside her banda. She had to ask several times before he did anything about it.

It was a good option, significantly cheaper than the lodges inside the camp, but could use some improvements.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andthebooksays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Nice budget lodge, Pepe is a great guy! It is clean and airy! Not too far from the main gate. Food could do with some improvement, more lighting in the dining area would make it better. The sounds of the migrating animals at night was too wonderful.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Raajeevbopiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

All what you expect from a tented camp. Very close to the Serengetti National park, which results in hyiena's, zebra's, elephants, and wildebeast directly around your tent. Camp is good protected by armed guards. Comport in tented camps is good, not more. Clean and well maintained tents.
Food in the restaurant is average to good. Friendly people and good service. Furthermore not too much facilities, but all you need for a sleep over during a safari in the Serengeti.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at Ikoma for 3 days and we had a wonderfull time. The bungalows , the food , the staff and the owner , Pepe were great. We arrived as visitors and left as friends. Will include Ikoma Tented Camp to my tour if we ever go back to Tanzania.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stronkie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#1 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#12 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#22 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikoma Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikoma Safari Camp

Property: Ikoma Safari Camp
Address: Serengeti Tented Camp | Serengeti, Northern Tanzania, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 321

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing