We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights while on a five day Safari in late April / early May. The camp is carved right out of the bush with a dozen or so large, well appointed tents. These are serious tents with proper beds, linens, lights, and running (hot) water. The only thing they didn't have were electrical outlets for charging cameras / electronics but there is space in the main lodge to do that.

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. There is nothing like a cold beer and hot meal after tracking animals in the Serengeti all day. After dinner there is a camp fire to gather around to share stories, gaze at the stars, and practice your Swahili.

Very cool experience to be staying among the wildlife. There were two giraffes visible from our tent the first night and several elephants further in the distance. We were a little nervous to be staying in the African bush at first but the camp is well patrolled and protected by the Maasai.

Absolutely wonderful place. The staff also knew it was our honeymoon and provided champagne in the tent and went as far as making us a special cake on our last night! A big thanks to Frank and his staff!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at Mapito for 3 nights during safari in late November 2013 and loved it. The tents are nice and big with two compartments for sleeping and dressing (a good sized area to store & hang clothes), followed by a mostly covered, very private, but open bathroom area. Taking a nice, hot shower you can look up and see the trees and stars and hear the birds. The meals were all excellent, served buffet style, with a variety of dishes to choose from (incl vegetarian dishes). The dining room and other common areas were done in modern, but rustic decor and were very comfortable. There's an upper porch/loft-like sitting area where we enjoyed cold beer every evening, taking in the vast Serengeti views. Although we weren't there for the Migration, we caught some of the reverse migration so could really appreciate the location of Mapito. It's a little outside the north entrance to the park, so it does add some drive time to your daily excursions, but for the Migration or reverse migration, all you have to do is sit on your tent's front porch, sipping your hot coffee, and you'll see and hear this amazing site. Also - being a bit outside of the park made for a more secluded, quieter, 'in the bush' kind of feel which we really liked. We recommended Mapito to friends who went on safari in January 2014 for their honeymoon and they too raved about it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBNYC2DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We arrived at the camp to find out we were the only ones there as it was the slow rainy season but the enployees spared nothing we were treated like Royalty. After a short speach on the lodge we were showed our tent which is nothing like any tent I have seen. A king sized bed surrounded by a mosquito net and a full outside bathroom with running hot water and flush toilets.
The two nights we stayed they gave us some personal bow and arrow training followed by a nice campfire and bar service. Dinner and breakfast were great only out done by the sunsets and sunrises that pour into each tent every morning. My only complaint would be that they had the worst pillows of our trip, being no more than a sheet covering another sheet. We slept like lions and rose like giraffe. This place is great!

Room Tip: I would stay as far from the campfire as possible as voices travel and people talking around the cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coopervanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights in late February at Mapito.It was a thrilling experience.In a tent in the Serengeti with wild animals nearby!!!Of course the tented camp is very very nice with running water,toilet,outdoor shower so really it was glamping but who cares it was great.The food was tremendous the hosts Frank and Bernadette were wonderful and it was once in a lifetime experience.Don't miss out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We absolutely loved Mapito Tented Camp! Staying there with friends and family with kids over Christmas for three great days. We thourougly enjoyed every minute. Good food, great manager, always nice for a chat, friendly and well trained staff. Peaceful location in the middle of the bush - logfire in the evening - early morning coffee at your door steps - open air bathrooms, spacious tents. The kids roamed around and felt as in paradise. The nature walk provided by the camp was very educative and we all learned a lot. Thanks to Frank and his team and we hope to be back one day

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannelore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I loved the camp! Very comfortable, great staff and fantastic food. Staying out in the middle of the Serengeti at night when there are no lights or noises other than the animals is wonderful. It was my favourite place that we stayed at in the whole 6 weeks we were away. Great stone walled outside bathroom with the stars for light, comfortable beds and lots of fresh air, just wonderful! Really would like to thank Frank, Michael and Naneema (sorry about the spelling! ) for being so welcoming.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Wonderful lodge middle in the wild. The tents were very comfortable, nice done up with beautiful details and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the lunchboxes were the best we had during the safari trip. We would come back to Mapito anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
2.9 mi away
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented Lodge
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented L...
#62 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
55 reviews
6.6 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#63 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
88 reviews
30.9 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#41 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#24 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
271 reviews
28.4 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
460 reviews
15.5 mi away
Kananga Special Tented Camp
Kananga Special Tented Camp
#32 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti

Address: Near Ikoma Gate, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £254 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing