We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dunia Camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I am a huge fan of Asilia camps. We stayed at two, and they were both spectacular. Sure, they are pricey, but for the level of service, accomodation, guides, and food, it is worth every penny. Our timing was not great for this camp (Aug 2012), but we did have some incredible lion sitings. But, know that a lot of the wildlife was up North during this time, and it seemed a bit deserted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmh200886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

What a wonderful place--staying in the tents allows you to continue to experience the wildlife and sounds of the night. The staff is just exceptional and always ready to answer a question, provide assistance and just generally make the stay a pleasant one. Richard and staff made you feel like part of the family, especially traveling on your own. I would recommend highly and would like to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a truly amazing safari holiday to Tanzania. We stayed in total luxury at The Manor at Ngorongoro before arriving here for three nights. Although this accommodation is totally different it was every bit as enjoyable.

We received a lovely welcome from Peter and his staff, our jeep ride from the airport was a game drive in itself!! We saw Leopard, Giraffe and Elephant along with many birds.

The tents are great and I am in no way a camper!! beds are comfortable and spotlessly clean. Even the showers were nowhere near as awful as I expected, in fact they were really nice.

Ladies..you just have to forget about hair for a few days as there are only a couple of sockets in the central area to use for recharging etc.,

The staff are extremely friendly and approachable, nothing is too much trouble.

Location is spectacular! you are looking out over the open plains and can see wildlife all around you, also it is brilliant to hear the animal noises during the night.

A fully flushing loo is great however a curtain would be nice for privacy.

Hamza, our guide was so brilliant! friendly, funny and sooo much knowledge!! we thorough;y enjoyed our time with him.

Game drives were very flexible, you can do whatever suits you. One day we had breakfast and then a picnic lunch not returning until 5pm, another day we had picnic breakfast, came back for lunch and then did an evening drive. All food including picnics was exceptionally good.

Meeting around the fire for pre dinner drinks was so nice, chatting and swapping stories of the day. We did feel like token Brits during our stay as most guests were American. Everyone was extremely friendly and sociable.

This time of year proved to be great for us. The expected short rains were not a problem, we only experienced a couple of showers, the plus point being that as things were quieter there were never more than three jeeps at a time vying for position!!

Mozzies not a problem although we did use spray, we got a couple of very sore tetse bites, however they left no mark.

We absolutely loved the Serengeti and saw loads of animals every time we did a game drive.

If you have the chance to go, go!! you will remember your holiday for ever!!

Room Tip: All tents equally private.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We arrived at Dunia camp in the pouring rain but despite this there were people waiting outside with umbrellas for us, a tray of drinks and towels to freshen up. The service at this place is just incredible and Peter and Richard and the team could not possibly have done more to make our stay perfect.

The tents are gorgeous, the showers long and hot, the food wonderful. Sitting around the fire talking to others with aperitif after aperitif was lovely. And then the night that we were whisked off to a table under the stars just for us with a little fire and a bottle of chilled champagne (in the middle of the Serengeti!!) as it was our honeymoon was one of the highlights of our trip.

In the mornings we were brought fresh coffee and home made biscuits. On the first morning I opened the tent to a bright red sunrise and 3 giraffe walking past. The next morning we sat at breakfast and saw elephant, giraffe and buffalo in the distance as we tucked into the wonderful food. We really didn't want to leave and neither did anyone else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Peter was in charge when we were there in middle March 2013 (Richard was at Olakira) and Dunia was just super. Although in tents, this can barely be described as "camping" with great accommodations, super food, a bathroom in the tent, and a very helpful staff. We would not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Here you are at the end of the bumpy road, having spent a long day on Safari, seeing lions, cheetah,hippos,giraffe,black faced monkeys, elephants, and swatting tstetse flies(hoping the guide is right and they really aren't the ones that cause sleeping sickness) and you think this is as good as it gets. But, you are wrong. As soon as you get out of the land rover,you are met by the manager and his staff with ice cold towels and cold drinks. They carry your luggage to your three room tent, collect clothing you want washed and escort you to the welcoming tent. Here seated on comfortable furniture you have another cold beverage,learn about safety rules(call staff on your walky-talky for emergencies or if you want to leave the tent after sunset, the hours of breakfast ,lunch, and dinner. The honor system bar, and the time of the evening get together camp fire. You think you have died and gone to heaven!!!!
The meals are superb by any standard,the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful, the room accommodations(complete with warming bags,to take the chill out of the sheets) are fantastic, the guests are fun,and the location could not be better

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethesdashrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I hate saying anything bad about this camp as the staff were just fantastic. Richard and his team wanted to please and our stay started with them bringing us exactly the same drinks that we had ordered at Olakira while we were there. We had a tough afternoon as we got stuck for over 2 hours at the Naabi gate coming into the Serengeti due to a "banking" issue with our tour company. So, this nice touch was sincerely appreciated and put us in a better mood immediately.


This camp is about an hour south of the Seronera area which we found so crowded that we just wanted to leave so I would recommend staying out of that area. I think maybe there are a lot of lodges in that area.

We had elephants joining us for dinner one night and lots of animals talking in the night. If you do stay here make sure you visit the Simba kopje as we could have stayed all day and watched the Wildebeast and Zebras navigate the river and the elephants playing games with them. The hippos down the road are also quite a scene. The Mobu (sp?) kopjes were not as productive and I wished we hadn't wasted our last day going there and the Seronera area.

I had wanted to invite our guide the last night for dinner and because the camp was not full it was not a problem. That was a treat for us and hopefully for our guide as well.

Dunia is also a semi-permanent camp but unlike Olakira it does not move with the migration. The tents and bucket showers are the same as Olakira. The dining is a bit different here as they have separate tables if a couple wants to dine alone. In fact the first night we stayed there were 3 couples on their honeymoon and this was their last night so Richard and his team went all out and put tons of lights out in an area close to the dining tent but still secluded and gave each couple their own candle lit table. Very nice touch! The elephants showed up and interrupted but no one seemed to mind.

It may have just been our bad luck with timing but the tse tse flies here were just obnoxious. We all got bit - my Mom and I quite a few times. They can't bite through the safari material that makes up most people's pants and shirts but they got our hands, neck and ankles - even through thick cotton socks. In hindsight I would have preferred staying 4 nights at Olakira based on time of year and just traveled into the Simba area via Olakira.

Having said that we still thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we were only an hour from the Serengeti air strip for our flight back to Arusha.

Room Tip: They are all the same. If anyone in your group has mobility issues just ask for a tent close to the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie123081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
31.6 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#5 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
457 reviews
1.0 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#3 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
254 reviews
19.1 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.3 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
513 reviews
3.8 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#21 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
180 reviews
36.4 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#12 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Moru Kopjes, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitched on a major wildebeest migration corridor in the Central Serengeti, Dunia Camp offers easy access to the scenic Moru Kopjes and superb sightings of the big cats, leopard and rhino that roam the forests on the fringes of the Seronera River. Dunia is a tranquil semi-permanent camp with just eight spacious tented suites, each with expansive views of the pristine wilderness and game-filled plains from a large private veranda. Attention to every detail is balanced by a graceful simplicity in harmony with the serene location. Enjoy an exclusive Serengeti safari with superb sightings of resident game and migration viewing twice a year, and round it all off with a sunrise hot-air balloon flight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing