We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beyond expectation”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have joined gate 1 small group discovery tour and stayed in this tent (hotel) for 3 days, the experience was beyond my expectation. The food was better than the hotels we stayed in Arusha and Tanrangire,the service was impeccable,the "talking showers",flushing toilet were wonderful,they even do your laundry (3 pieces clothing per person)! All drinks are inclusive too!
I definitely rate this as the best trip of my life, so far. I cannot imagine to travel Africa in the wilderness with this kind of comfort, especially in a tent with a king size soft bed,hot showers,washing basin and flush toilet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review. I am delighted you had such a wonderful trip with us and look forward to seeing you again in Africa. Hope you have some lovely photos to share your memories with friends and family and do share on Facebook if you have a chance as the team at Ewanjan love looking at them.

Have a wonderful day

Regards

Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
91
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My brother, mom and I had an excellent stay last week at this "camp" It is an absolutely beautiful setting and the tents are large and comfortable. Joseph, the cook, made delicious meals and it was one of our favorite lunch boxes of the whole trip. We were able to see the sunrise from our tent with fresh coffee every morning and it was a fantastic end to our trip. A special thanks to our tent helper, Praygood, as well as Barnaba, Justin and Goodwin for being friendly and helpful hosts. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Kate,

thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. The team were absolutely delighted to read your comments and its such great morale for the staff when they see guests doing exactly what you have done.

Its highly appreciated and I hope you have lots of photos to remind you of your great trip to Tanzania.

Warmest regards


Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hills, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

what a wonderful place in the middle of the Serengeti.wood floors, great beds and plenty of room to lounge in a tent! I don't know how they do it, but the cuisine is amazing.The staff really cater to your needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mbenoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed the food. The chefs have been really having some fun creating their menus for the season so hope you will find some time to visit again and sample their cuisine once more.

have a wonderful day

Warm regards


Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and 3 kids (14, 17, 20) stayed here 3 nights. By far our favorite place we stayed on our safari. The staff was very friendly & attentive. The "tent" was amazing. We loved being our wake-up greeting and coffee delivered to our tent. The showers were the best we had during our 17 nights in Africa. The food exceptional. The campfire at night was wonderful. A great way to meet and visit with others staying at Lemala. We LOVED staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you SO MUCH for a truly delightful review and to be considered your favourite place you and the family stayed on the trip is really an honour. I am delighted you had a wonderful time and that the family enjoyed it too and that our 'talking showers' were so well appreciated as was the camp fire often referred to as bush tv.

The team loved reading your comments so thank you once again for sharing.

Warm regards

Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Calling this a "bush" camp doesn't do it justice. I was as comfortable here as I was in hotels where I didn't have the thrill of hearing something skittering on my tent top and hyenas howling in the distance.
Hot or cold showers, flush toilets..what more could you ask for.

Outstanding service, friendly staff, and great accommodations. Add game drives that always resulted in magnificent views and animals...the result? Everything I imagined and more

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Sharon,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share with other travellers. I am delighted you had a lovely time with us and that the wildlife experience was equally fabulous and should you ever consider returning to Tanzania we would be most delighted to welcome you once again.

Warm regards


Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were very pleased with our experience at this camp. While it is more primitive than some of the other "camps" we stayed at on Safari, it was overall comfortable with great staff and marvelous food.The pictures posted by another guest who stayed in May 2014 are accurate. Godwin, the camp manager, and his team were very accommodating to our needs. The tents had real beds on a wood platform, a camp shower which, with 10 minutes notice, would be supplied with hot water and a flushing toilet. There was also a guard to escort us to and from the main tent after dark (necessary because the facility is wide open to the Serengeti plains). Beware that it is warm in the afternoons with no relief from table or ceiling fans.

Room Tip: This is a small facility, so all the tents are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for taking time to post and share.

We do hope that the rest of your trip went well and that we will enjoy the pleasure of your company once again in Tanzania at Lemala.

Warmest regards


Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Of all the beautiful places I stayed during my Safari in Tanzania, Lemala was my favorite.

The accommodations were beautiful, the sink in the bathroom was nicer than most hotel rooms. The room and bathroom were impeccably clean, and beautifully furnished. It looked like a picture of what luxury camping should be.

The rooms were just the tip of the iceberg, the best part of the experience was the warmth of the staff who worked there. They were welcoming, thoughtful and fun. Felix, Big Tom & Joseph were just a few of the people who made our stay wonderful.

One of our favorite things about Lemala, and something I did not experience anywhere else, was something they called Bush TV. Bush TV was sitting around an open fire. We sat under the stars overlooking the Serengeti, enjoying drinks, snacks, and stories. It was one of the most memorable experiences.

The meals we had at Lemala as well as the boxed breakfast and lunch they provided were excellent. Each morning, with our wake-up call, we were brought a silver tray of coffee, tea, and a small biscuit. Along with the beautiful view of the Serengeti just outside our tent, it was a wonderful beginning to each day.

I hope to return to Tanzania again, and if I do I will definitely return to Lemala.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
What a wonderful review of Lemala Ewanjan. Felix and Big Tom and Joseph to name but a few bring such a charasmatic charm to the place and a genuine warmth that we hear about and get reviews on. I am delighted you think and feel the same. As for bush TV - its a Lemala trait that the managers have together created and is throughly enjoyed by all and is truly a wonderful place to meet and catch up and enjoy drinks and snacks and exchange stories of the day. I am so pleased you had such a wonderful time and look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards


Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
21.3 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
430 reviews
8.8 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
877 reviews
59.3 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#17 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
449 reviews
6.1 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#18 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
134 reviews
43.4 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp

Property: Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Address: Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LEMALA EWANJAN is a deluxe camp with 12 beautiful suite tents set within the game-rich Seronera Valley in a secluded part of Central Serengeti. The camp offers breathtaking views of the Serengeti plains and its prolific wildlife and sunsets. The Seronera valley is renowned for its year round game viewing due to its abundance of water, as well as its large population of resident cats. Between April and June and November through January the area receives the wildebeest migration, turning the area into an exciting wildlife paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing