We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our expectations in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serengeti Bushtops Camp
Certificate of Excellence
White Salmon, Washington
2 reviews
“Beyond our expectations in every way”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

It is beautiful, with luxurious private tents. The service was excellent and meals delicious. The guide/ranger and spotter did an excellent job and were very available to our group.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
128
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My family and I stayed at the Serengeti Bushtops Camp during the last week of July, 2011. We had an unforgettable experience. The photos on the camp’s web site don’t begin to convey the beauty of the place. We arrived in the middle of the summer wildebeest migration. The numbers and variety of animals was beyond our expectation. It was like being in a National Geographic film. There were thousands of wildebeest and every kind of animal you can imagine. We saw lion prides, cheetah, rhino, elephants, buffalo, giraffe and much, much more.

Things that made Bushtops special:
• The general location is in the less travelled northwest Serengeti so you are alone in the wilderness. This was not like other parks where you find twenty vehicles surrounding a lion. We seldom saw other vehicles so we were alone with our guides and the animals.
• The camp is situated about 15 to 20 miles from the Mara River at a higher elevation so we did not experience any mosquitoes or flies in the camp. Closer to the river, where most of the other camps were located, there were biting tsetse flies.
• The tents overlook a savannah hillside. There were zebras, antelopes and buffaloes grazing around the camp while we were there. There were also baboons and at night you could hear hyenas and lions.
• For the game drives there were special modified vehicles with open, elevated seating that made viewing animals much, much easier than the typical closed vehicles used at other camps.
• For each animal drive there was a driver-guide plus an animal spotter to assure that you did not miss any sites or animals. Our guide, Godson, was very well read and did an excellent job. Not only could he find the animals, but he knew all the scientific information about animal habitat and behavior so he could explain what specific animal actions meant. Very interesting, adding to the richness of the experience. This was the only camp we stayed at that provided two people per drive to spot animals. The camp hires animal trackers from the local village located just outside the park boundaries to assist the guide in spotting animals during the drives. Having two people to spot animals was a great benefit to make sure you don’t miss anything. Local villagers also escort you at night to the dining tent to make sure you are safe with wild animals around the camp. They also guard the camp at night.
• For the sunrise drives, the camp provided blankets and hot water bottles that made the drive comfortable in the cool morning air.
• For the day game drives, there were great picnics provided on a portable picnic table (not the lunch boxes we received at other camps or lodges).
• After each drive staff and management waited to greet us with warm towels.
• We were in the connected family platform tents that were perfect for our family. The tents were well designed with a great observation seating area overlooking the hillside. You could sit and watch animals graze in front of your tent. Our children enjoyed the hot bubble baths provided in the tent jacuzzi after the day drives.
• The cuisine was excellent. In addition to an excellent chef they have an additional pastry chef that made some beautiful and delicious desserts.
• The management and staff were friendly, polite and helpful.

An incredible experience at an unforgettable place.

Room Tip: All tents have great views. Request family tents if you have a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Basel_CH_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Gordon, the manager is an absolute delight, going above and beyond to make sure every guest is having an fabulous stay. This attitude rubs off on the staff. The game in the area, outside actually seeing the migration crossing, is just so-so. The southern serengeti is better for that, although not nearly as private. The camp is brand new and the rooms are on par with a five-star hotel with canvas walls. The tents open on three sides and are set so that they are still private, which makes for 270 degrees of view. All food is a la carte, which is a great find among mostly buffet or set menu safari camps and lodges. The down side is wine and spirits are not includes, but the wine they have for purchase is very good. Massage is in included as well and after the bumpy ride to the camp, it's well appreciated! Our driver, Jaffrey, was great, and his spotter, John was also well spoken and easy to be around. Game drives are not always private. We were able to pay extra for a walking safari for which we had an armed ranger, an armed massai warrior, a guide and a land cruiser following us within sight. After 6 days of drives, it was cool to see everything up close, though animals run away from people on foot much more quickly than they do from vehicles. We walked for 2 hours to meet another vehicle that had set up a full bar and sitting for "sun downer" drinks watching the sunset. I highly recommend for 3 nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsAbTabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed at Serengeti Bushtops for 3 nights in July this year with our 10 year old daughter. The campsite, if you can call it that is spectacular as is the level of service. Our ranger, Gordon, was fantstic, he had a vast knowledge of the area and was very friendly and an amazing storey teller! From the camp manager, to the butlers the service was impecable and definitely a five star experience. We saw two crossings of the wildebeest and a variety of other game. Our only negative was our inability to get up close to the game as we have in other wild life reserves as you cannot go off road at all in the Serengeti. Can definitely recommend Bushtops, we will be trying their sister camp in the Masai Mara next! Thanks for making our trip so special.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleNZ2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Wow, is all we could say upon arriving at Serengeti Bushtops. This place was pure luxury. The Prince of Saudi Arabia had been there a few months prior, enough said! The lodge was so modern, exactly my style. From the bubble bath hot tubs, to the most amazing butler Sharon to the incredible inclusive massages everyday, we were in paradise!

We had really nice fireside chats with our rangers every night followed by dinner. Lunch and dinner were 3 courses and way too long after a long safari drive. That being said, we are Americans and not very patient:!

Our only complaint was our guide during the day took us on drives that were way too long, some lasting 11 hours! I don't think this was the norm though and we saw other folks taking shorter drives and having more time to enjoy the camp.

We never saw a crossing and we waited hours. But we did see lions, cheetahs, leopards, giraffes and every other animal you can imagine.

Paradise, incredible service and luxury were an understatement at this pristine establishment! We hope to come back on our anniversary some day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My husband ,my very difficult to please 15 year old and myself spent a lovely few nights here We were initially not booked to stay here but the migrating wildebeests had other plans for us And thank our lucky stars for that ! From the moment we arrived to the moment we had to leave, the manager Pantaleo and our personal butler Fadhili made us feel precious. They gave us a family tent which had 2 equally huge tents so we had so much space.. Every whim was catered to ; from coffee with mini muffins for wake up calls, hot tubs baths with divine canapes to nibble on, a massage overlooking the Serengeti plains and champagne breakfast . We managed to catch the migration a couple hours from this camp as well So all in all everything we wanted we got ! I think it says everything when your teenager says with a faraway look in his eyes " i will be back here someday Mummy "..... well i am hoping he brings me too !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplemini69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

From beginning to end our stay in the Serengeti BushTops was magnificent. As this was the second part of our honeymoon (we had already stayed in the Mara Bushtops) it did not disappoint at all. The tents are spacious and fully appointed, the view is breathtaking, the personal room service exceptional and the food excellent. Your welcome will be warm and sincere and you will not want for anything. As honeymooners
we got the tent furthest away (wonder why?) which is a shortish walk but not overly so.

Once you get over all this, then sit back and relax while you get taken and shown some of the best wildlife in the world. We marveled at two Cheater brothers hunting in the grass - and there was not another soul around for hours.

Finally, our 'special surprise' was amazing and will remain as a part of our memories for ever more

Andy and Claudia, you have created something very special - don't change a thing

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt_Kaz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
28.9 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#11 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
309 reviews
35.1 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#18 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
209 reviews
22.2 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.9 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
501 reviews
15.4 mi away
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
#47 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
103 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
#48 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Bushtops Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Bushtops Camp

Property: Serengeti Bushtops Camp
Address: Wogakuria 10, north western Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 14708, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:5 star — Serengeti Bushtops Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tanzanian haven for serious safari seekers, Serengeti Bushtops is an oasis of 5-star luxury within one of the world's most magical settings. Picture yourself gazing out over the stunning scenery of the Serengeti. Imagine returning from safari and watching the sun set from the comfort of your tent's private hot tub. Consider the thrill of watching the annual migration thunder across the mighty Mara river. Or simply revel in the thought of being pampered by your butler and our friendly staff, before enjoying our fabulous cooking and fine wines in the comfort of our restaurant and shared spaces. This combination of safari adventure, first class facilities and blissful relaxation has delivered Serengeti Bushtops' unwavering promise of Wild Luxury ever since we opened in June 2010. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serengeti Bushtops Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing