We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay and lifetime experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serengeti Bushtops Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay and lifetime experience”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Four of us went here to pamper ourselves after hiking kilimanjaro and stayed for 3 nights. It was a great decision! This experience is still fresh on our minds 3 months later. Highlights:

- Outstanding service. We had a butler and were offered drinks any time we spent time in the main tent. Our driver/guide Jaffrey was great.
- The serengeti is beautiful. two of us had stayed in a park in South Africa where the animal density was much higher, but this was certainly a more stunning landscape.
- We had an amazing experience watching sunset over the serengeti - we were brought atop a large rock where after climbing up a ladder had a picnic area with drinks and snacks.
- We talked with the owners on the flight over and at the main tent, and enjoyed our short conversation with them... down to earth, and very pleasant.
- The lodging is the fanciest "tent" you'll ever stay in, with hardwood floors, a jacuzzi tub, nice shower that views out to the open (you can close it if you want to of course). sure beats the tents in kilimanjaro!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windycity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
127
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

After a short flight we were greeted by our Ranger 'Deus' and Spotter 'Yusuf' who served snacks with a welcome cold bottle of beer and or wine. What a welcome! Then off for a drive, where we saw a large number of animals.
When we arrived at the camp the ever enthusiastic manager 'Pantoleous' was there to greet us, he had us all laughing in minutes. He is a complete asset to the camp and heads up a great team, who can not do enough for you.
Our tents (which are not like any normal tents!) were very luxurious, with the most comfortable beds, each tent has its own toilet, showers that look over the Serengeti, even a hot tub on your own deck. This isn't camping its Glamping...!
Every evening guests have pre dinner drinks around an impressive open fire, the chef circulates introducing her dish of the day. The Menu is impressive, as is the wine list.
Deus' knowledge of the animals was extensive, Yusuf's eye for spotting well camouflaged animals was quite incredible; he spotted a couple of leopards and the ever elusive Cheetah. Unfortunately we didn't get to spy the Black Rhino, apparently there are thought only to be 6 in this area of the park.
Due to the size of the Serengeti (approx the size of N Ireland) it isn't crowded, it's easy to go for quite a time without seeing other people which is quite refreshing as at other parks you may find yourself swamped by vehicles and lenses! On the other hand there is a quite astonishing number and variety of animals including 'herds of Wildebeest sweeping majestically across the plain' as John Cleese might say.
Such a memorable stay, I hope one day I have the opportunity to return.


NOTE:
-It is cool in the morning drives and the weather varies from region to region in the Seringeti, so bring warm clothes.
-No mosquitos therefor no Malaria, but there isTsetse fly
-Daily washing available, which is returned by night fall, so no need to bring too many clothes if weight is an issue
One slight negative:
- get taken to your tables at night early, so if you happen to be last to be seated service can be slow.
-We requested ahead of our stay that we could go on a walk, we were told to arrange on arrival, when we came to do so apparently we needed to have someone with a gun; it therefore wasn't possible. In stark contrast after a balloon ride we walked across the plain amongst the wild animals to get back to a vehicle and none of the locals had a care in the world about any of them!


Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We unfortunately only had one night here, although we really enjoyed the limited time we did have. Really fantastic location during the migration – we saw a river crossing just a few minutes after our plane had landed along with cheetah and countless other animals!

Check in was very efficient, helpful, and gracious. All the service was great. We received a lovely tented room with a huge outdoor deck with a hot tub. The deck was so nice we chose to eat our dinner at the table there. Breakfast was also very good. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLadyinRed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

There is nothing else that you need or want at Serengetti Bushtops; the set up is incredible, the staff are attentive, very caring and friendly, the tents are big and luxurious (your own hot tub looks out to the Serengetti). We stayed for 3 nights for our honeymoon and whilst it was a lot more than we were initially hoping to spend it was worth every penny. It is definitely a once in a lifetime experience (although we now want to save up to return). Thanks to our butler(you have your own one) Said, and the bar and waiter staff Sifuni, Francis and the manager Pantaleo for making our stay so welcoming and perfect. Our guide Kokan and spotter Amos were superb and good fun - the Jeeps on safari are open and you get a much better experience than being boxed in. The food was also delicious. We can't recommend this place enough!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Bushtops for 3 nights during our tanzania - Kenya Safari. The place is absolutely beautiful. Hot tub after the afaris was relaxing and free drinks top it off. definitely would recommend this place as the on that stood out. Our waiter Francis excelled and performed better than the best waiters ive seen at top restaurants in NY city.they truly know great customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxurycat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This formed the second part of our safari, having stayed at the Mara Bushtops before.
In some ways the Serengeti Bushtops have to work a bit harder than the Mara, as they do not have the natural salt lick that the Mara has, nor can they offer night game drives. However, they delivered on every angle. The rooms are more modern than Mara, with full telephones in room rather than buzzers for example. And the tents felt slightly bigger as well. The views were on a par, facing the sunset rather than sunrise at Mara. They have the same superb trucks for game drives as Mara, and a camp fire in the evenings which is lovely. I think the food was a step up from Mara, it was absolutely superb. Lobster Ravioli, Fillet of Beef, all executed perfectly, this was a real stand out. Our driver and spotter Jeffrey and John were simply outstanding. So incredibly informative and great eyes. They were the reason we found the elusive Black Rhino, and also Leopard. For much of the trip it was them finding the animals, which meant we had some time with them in private before other trucks arrived. We really felt like the lead party! It is also worth mentioning that all our game drives were private, which is a huge plus when you are out all day as it means you can go totally at your own pace and structure your own routes and priorities in terms of game targets. Most of the other trucks you pass do seem to have multiple groups, especially in the Mara.
Again we had massages each day which was a great finish to the day.
Only negative was that our tent was around 500m from the communal areas, which is fine, although over many days, and also in the dark often, this walk can get a bit tiresome. The camp is far more spread than the Mara Bushtops. However, I do believe that they are working on getting a golf cart fixed at the moment for shuttle runs, and they will give you a lift in a truck if you want, but it feels a little lazy always asking for that!
But that aside (a very small issue indeed!) this is a very special place indeed and I wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craftyninja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

After a 3 week trip to Africa, our stay at Serengeti Bushtops was easily the highlight. I've never been on Safari before, and it was only our second trip to Africa, so perhaps all camps in the Serengeti offer similar services. The only problem here is, I'm not sure what more one could possibly ask for than what Serengeti Bushtops provide? I mean, I'm sure you could come up with some strange requests like "we'd like to be woken up with Giraffe noises", or "please ensure my coffee is Fair-er trade than other camps", and I'm pretty sure they'd find a way to make it work. So perhaps other camps are offering other, crazier stuff, but as far as I'm concerned, Bushtops satisfied pretty much everything we could have ever thought of.

This was our honeymoon, and admittedly, we spent a lot to stay with the Serengeti Bushtops. They're not cheap, and so I felt like it was going to be difficult to live up to the expectations of spending the old 80/20 rule (where 80% of your honeymoon budget goes to 20% of your time there). I can say with upmost certainty that we got our money's worth and then some. Hopefully the following can help you with your decision on Bushtops, which is obviously a big move for any budget. I should say also that our stay at the Bushtops was entirely made using TripAdvisor reviews and my discussions with their manager, Claudia Stewart. None of my friends had ever been there, and deciding to book there was a big leap of faith. Turns out the internet notched a big win with this one, we were SO glad that we did this, and we have the inter-webs to thank for it alone.

They picked us up from the airstrip and offered us coffee, booze, and cookies in a nice little spread by the side of the runway as our guide got our applications processed at the game ranger office. This type of spread would follow us wherever we went in the camp/on the drives. The drive back to the camp took about an hour, but we stopped and saw hippos on the way and just as we were pulling into camp we spotted a herd of elephants blocking our path. Said welcome committee delayed our arrival by about 20 minutes, but I can think of no better a reason to enjoy a delay. Watching them ripping down branches and meandering through the grassland next to the camp in the dusk light was borderline spiritual, and it set a high bar for the rest of the trip. A bar, I might add, that was raised with each day of our subsequent game drives.

The camp itself is a set of residence platform-raised tents for guests (you get your own tent). Each tent is immaculate, spacious, far away from everyone else, and allows you all the comforts of home without sacrificing just how close you are to the untamed wild of the Serengeti. It's entirely safe, though, and the camp takes precautions to make sure you feel even safer, like having local tribesman roam around the camp looking for animals to intimidate. In addition to the tents for sleeping/washing/hot-tubbing, there is a communal dining tent, (Think a 5 star restaurant with a great dining room with the best view on the planet), a reception tent, a fire pit, and a great, small but perfect pool overlooking the Serengeti.

The Game Drives: You're coming to the Serengeti, and while you are probably here for the luxurious experiences, I can hopefully assume you've come to see the animals, of which there are so, so many. We did three consecutive full day game drives (up at 6, back by 5), and don't understand why everyone doesn't do that. The more you're out there with those awesome rangers and spotters, the higher the probability that you'll see truly exceptional stuff. For us, there were two standout stories that we came away with: A cheetah hanging out on the hood of our jeep for a few minutes, and watching a massive pride of lions (with 9 cubs) feast on a Buffalo kill and then enter into what can best be described as post lion thanksgiving food comas. The guides were awesome, able to answer our 10,000 questions about this or that with enthusiasm and great detail. Oh yeah, and they can see animals about 10 minutes before you can, so tip them well for making your drives that much better!

The Service: Ever wondered what it would be like to be Teddy Roosevelt on Safari with a staff of 60 looking after your every possible inclination? That's how I felt, and I gradually learned that they wouldn't balk at any request I threw their way. My adventurousness in requests gradually increased in complexity as I learned that they didn't know how to say no to anything. Example of a request, Day 1: Can I have a glass of Rose please? Day 2: Can I have a bottle of rose in my tent? Day 3: Can I have two bottles of Rose prepared for my return from the game drive waiting for me in my tent? Day 4: Can I please have 2 bottles of Rose in my tent, the hot tub prepared, and masseuses ready to help us iron out the knots in our shoulders attained after a long day of watching animals kill/have sex with each other? I like Rose wine while on Safari, what can I say? Their manager, Pantaleo has possibly the best trained staff I've ever experienced anywhere, let alone the MIDDLE OF THE WILDERNESS. One final thing on the service, tell them it's your honeymoon, and prepare to be freaking wow'ed even beyond their already high standards of exceeding expectations.

The Food: You're in the middle of the Serengeti, but you wouldn't know that by the food. We loved it all, no complaints whatsoever. Everything tasted fresh, the courses plentiful, and our stomachs repeatedly were pressed to find more room to accommodate such great food.

Overall: It's a ton of money, but it delivered above and beyond our wildest expectations. I don't know what other camps do, and frankly, as long as Bushtops is in existence, I never wll. We're already trying to figure out how to sell non-essential organs to fund a trip back there. Don't dawdle, this place fills up fast and we booked months and months in advance. Trust in the internet...we did, and we were so so glad we did.

Room Tip: They're all the same except for a double tent, go for the ones furthest from camp to enjoy total...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank iamthecoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
28.9 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#13 of 116 in Serengeti National Park
293 reviews
39.9 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#7 of 116 in Serengeti National Park
476 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
#48 of 116 in Serengeti National Park
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#3 of 116 in Serengeti National Park
393 reviews
35.1 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#21 of 116 in Serengeti National Park
188 reviews
15.4 mi away
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
#40 of 116 in Serengeti National Park
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Bushtops Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Bushtops Camp

Property: Serengeti Bushtops Camp
Address: Wogakuria 10, north western Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 14708, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:5 star — Serengeti Bushtops Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tanzanian haven for serious safari seekers, Serengeti Bushtops is an oasis of 5-star luxury within one of the world's most magical settings. Picture yourself gazing out over the stunning scenery of the Serengeti. Imagine returning from safari and watching the sun set from the comfort of your tent's private hot tub. Consider the thrill of watching the annual migration thunder across the mighty Mara river. Or simply revel in the thought of being pampered by your butler and our friendly staff, before enjoying our fabulous cooking and fine wines in the comfort of our restaurant and shared spaces. This combination of safari adventure, first class facilities and blissful relaxation has delivered Serengeti Bushtops' unwavering promise of Wild Luxury ever since we opened in June 2010. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serengeti Bushtops Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing