We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serengeti Bushtops Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Rooms: The family tent, where we stayed, had a bridge to combine two equal tents. The location is near the restaurant tent and very convenient.
Service: Before we stayed in Mara bushtops, where the service was absolutely perfect. The first dinner we were a little disappointed, as the waiters were in such a rush - efficient, but almost too efficient, that we didn't have the feeling of a dinner with style. The tow extremely noisy American families next to us didn't help... The food took rather long to be brought out and my husband got the wrong meat... I complaint and the manager reacted with understanding and really took some actions. Next day we had our anniversary and we took the dinner out in the bush. It was absolutely gorgeous - two fires burnt, we got champagne and two guards took care, that we didn't get eaten by a lion. Absolutely impeccable and an experience not to forget.
Cuisine: The cook in the Serengeti though seemed to be at her limit - I guess there is the little minus, where I think the Mara Bushtop is further ahead.
Guide: The guide was knowledgable and again we enjoyed the open vehicels as in the Mara bushtop, which make the Safari feeling perfect.
July / August: Bring warm clothes - also during the day, because it was rather cold.
Massages: Lovely, that you get every time a massage if wanted, when coming back from the Safari.
Breakfast: At the last day we hat again a bush breakfast and this was absolutely stunning.

Overall an excellent experience - we thought though that Mara bushtop topped the Serengeti bushtop. Both Camps perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ursula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is the Four Seasons, if you will, of all Safari Camps. Everything was outstanding and the service, lodging, amenities and meals were over the top. You will not be disappointed. Although Called a Camp, it's really "glamping" with amenities that surpass any resort. There's even a zero edge pool. Simply the best. Period.

Room Tip: There is no bad 'tent'. The deck has a jacuzzi sized tub, full sofa, and they will give mass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KonaBear81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have travelled extensively and stayed and many luxury hotels and hotel chains and we have never had luxury like at Bush Tops. The level of service and attention to detail is higher than anything we have experienced before. The “tent” is essentially a luxurious hotel suite, but more beautiful, with its own deck looking out onto the Serengeti plain and a hot tub on that large deck. There is a personal butler for each tent that catered to our every need, including laundry, room service, preparing the hot tub, or anything else we asked for. They treated us like kings and we truly felt that there was nothing they would not do to make sure we are enjoying ourselves. The food rivals the best restaurants in Paris or New York with an additional personal touch. We had our own Maitre D’ who, for every meal, remembered our preferences, from chocolate sauce for our daughter at breakfast to hot peppers accompanying my wife’s pasta at dinner. The chef would come out to tell us her specials for the evening and accept any special requests we may have. We felt that the words “no” or “we cannot” did not exist. Special thanks to Pantaleo, the property manager, Sifuni, our Maitre D’, Dennis the bartender for the delicious made-to-order drinks using juices he squeezed himself, Mustafa and Suddy, our butlers, one for each of our 2 tents, and of course Simon our Safari game drive guide (with his spotter Amos) who was truly an expert and made such an extra effort to go after every possibility for a sighting. Our safari experience was truly exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for four wonderfully pampered, luxurious nights after a climb to the top of Mount Kilimanjaro. Our tent was the Kopjes tent and maybe a 5 minute walk from the dining area. We were constantly offered golf cart rides to and from our tent as it was one of the farthest away (we enjoyed the walk and declined the rides).
The tent is beautiful and is secured (zipped up) at night. The hot tub overlooks a spacious view and the sunsets are spectacular. We did have a huge herd of water buffalo near us one morning. We enjoyed breakfast at a proper table on the patio every morning before we left for safari. The last morning we went to the dining tent and enjoyed the buffet of fruit and breads along with a hot breakfast. The shower has great pressure, the floors are wooden throughout, and the bed is really, really comfortable. I loved everything about this room. My only minor criticism is that the lighting in the bathroom area is faint so if you need to apply makeup, it's a little dicey. My headlamp hanging from the mirror helped with that issue.
Pantaleo is a very passionate manager and interacts with all guests constantly. Every establishment should have such a terrific representative. Every single staff member was courteous, respectful, and just bending over backwards to ensure a pleasant stay. Our butler was very attentive.
Food was deliciously prepared and presented. Service could be slow from time of first course to the main course. I didn't time it but it could have been as much as a half an hour. But hey, I was on vacation so nothing else was pressing. Management is aware of this issue and my guess is they are working to resolve it.
The safari trips were fun, safe, and informative. We were picked up and returned to the airstrip by the same driver we had on the safari. Kokan took care of everything paperwork and luggage wise. He is such a nice man and really enjoys his job!
The website and other reviews sum up what can be expected. I would only be repeating all the greatness. For me, this will remain one unforgettable place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fly_momFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Four of us went here to pamper ourselves after hiking kilimanjaro and stayed for 3 nights. It was a great decision! This experience is still fresh on our minds 3 months later. Highlights:

- Outstanding service. We had a butler and were offered drinks any time we spent time in the main tent. Our driver/guide Jaffrey was great.
- The serengeti is beautiful. two of us had stayed in a park in South Africa where the animal density was much higher, but this was certainly a more stunning landscape.
- We had an amazing experience watching sunset over the serengeti - we were brought atop a large rock where after climbing up a ladder had a picnic area with drinks and snacks.
- We talked with the owners on the flight over and at the main tent, and enjoyed our short conversation with them... down to earth, and very pleasant.
- The lodging is the fanciest "tent" you'll ever stay in, with hardwood floors, a jacuzzi tub, nice shower that views out to the open (you can close it if you want to of course). sure beats the tents in kilimanjaro!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank windycity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

After a short flight we were greeted by our Ranger 'Deus' and Spotter 'Yusuf' who served snacks with a welcome cold bottle of beer and or wine. What a welcome! Then off for a drive, where we saw a large number of animals.
When we arrived at the camp the ever enthusiastic manager 'Pantoleous' was there to greet us, he had us all laughing in minutes. He is a complete asset to the camp and heads up a great team, who can not do enough for you.
Our tents (which are not like any normal tents!) were very luxurious, with the most comfortable beds, each tent has its own toilet, showers that look over the Serengeti, even a hot tub on your own deck. This isn't camping its Glamping...!
Every evening guests have pre dinner drinks around an impressive open fire, the chef circulates introducing her dish of the day. The Menu is impressive, as is the wine list.
Deus' knowledge of the animals was extensive, Yusuf's eye for spotting well camouflaged animals was quite incredible; he spotted a couple of leopards and the ever elusive Cheetah. Unfortunately we didn't get to spy the Black Rhino, apparently there are thought only to be 6 in this area of the park.
Due to the size of the Serengeti (approx the size of N Ireland) it isn't crowded, it's easy to go for quite a time without seeing other people which is quite refreshing as at other parks you may find yourself swamped by vehicles and lenses! On the other hand there is a quite astonishing number and variety of animals including 'herds of Wildebeest sweeping majestically across the plain' as John Cleese might say.
Such a memorable stay, I hope one day I have the opportunity to return.


NOTE:
-It is cool in the morning drives and the weather varies from region to region in the Seringeti, so bring warm clothes.
-No mosquitos therefor no Malaria, but there isTsetse fly
-Daily washing available, which is returned by night fall, so no need to bring too many clothes if weight is an issue
One slight negative:
- get taken to your tables at night early, so if you happen to be last to be seated service can be slow.
-We requested ahead of our stay that we could go on a walk, we were told to arrange on arrival, when we came to do so apparently we needed to have someone with a gun; it therefore wasn't possible. In stark contrast after a balloon ride we walked across the plain amongst the wild animals to get back to a vehicle and none of the locals had a care in the world about any of them!


Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We unfortunately only had one night here, although we really enjoyed the limited time we did have. Really fantastic location during the migration – we saw a river crossing just a few minutes after our plane had landed along with cheetah and countless other animals!

Check in was very efficient, helpful, and gracious. All the service was great. We received a lovely tented room with a huge outdoor deck with a hot tub. The deck was so nice we chose to eat our dinner at the table there. Breakfast was also very good. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheLadyinRed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
10 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
532 reviews
68.4 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#24 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
185 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#13 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
327 reviews
35.5 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#27 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
275 reviews
46.9 mi away
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
#42 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Bushtops Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Bushtops Camp

Address: Wogakuria 10, north western Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 14708, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:5 star — Serengeti Bushtops Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tanzanian haven for serious safari seekers, Serengeti Bushtops is an oasis of 5-star luxury within one of the world's most magical settings. Picture yourself gazing out over the stunning scenery of the Serengeti. Imagine returning from safari and watching the sun set from the comfort of your tent's private hot tub. Consider the thrill of watching the annual migration thunder across the mighty Mara river. Or simply revel in the thought of being pampered by your butler and our friendly staff, before enjoying our fabulous cooking and fine wines in the comfort of our restaurant and shared spaces. This combination of safari adventure, first class facilities and blissful relaxation has delivered Serengeti Bushtops' unwavering promise of Wild Luxury ever since we opened in June 2010. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serengeti Bushtops Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing