We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serengeti Stop Over Lodge
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This place looks from the road a bit poor as signposted by a beaten up sign which also displays an advert for Coka Cola but dont be put off by that it is worth the visit. Rooms are cheap and clean albeit somewhat basic but what you need is there, with hot water. The site itself isquite pleasant and you can sit out back of your lodge on provided chairs and listen to the wildlife. Plenty of birds visit the placeincluding the colony of weaver birds in the tree within the camp where they have nested. Staff are attentive and go out of their way to accomodate your needs.
Food for the evening meal was good and delivered at the time we requested.
5 mins from the Ndabaka Gate and so much cheaper than the lodges/camp sites in the park itself.

I would certainly recommend this place and the gate is one of the less used entries so there is no problem queuing to get into the park. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Care with some of the electrics in the room -- it might have been just mine (I was in the Rhino lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coopebbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel was clean, welcoming and situated close to the park entrance. The staff were friendly and very happy to help us with any special requests that we had. The rooms are functional, if not very exciting, but for the money they do exactly what you need. I could recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I can really recommend to stay at this hostel. Really friendly staff, affordable rooms, good food! We also went on a one-day safari with them which was a fantastistic experience! You will get good value for the money you spend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karolina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I had long planned to visit this place on the western edge of the Serengeti where you can also enjoy the facilities of lake Victoria. I was not disappointed. Situated on the tar road from Mwanza to Misumu and almost adjacent to the Ndabaka Gate of the Serengeti it is a convenient place to spend a few days.
Accommodation is in small semi detached Brick Banda with en suit facilities each comfortably furnished with beds and chairs etc., Good Nets over the bed and working showers and WC etc.,
Meals were taken in the main Lapa which had a well stocked bar that was not the usual overpriced concern that plagues some Lodges. There are small mini Lapas or pagodas in the grounds for outside air while relaxing. Despite the proximity of the main road we did not find traffic noise too intrusive. Staff were very friendly and obliging to the extent that they were actually enjoying their job and helping guests. Meals were from a menu card and it was best to order dinner for set times earlier in the day. You could pick and mix starters, main course and desserts from the list in virtual a la carte style. Not all dishes were available every day as all food is fresh. I had Fish Fillet and rice or Spaghetti Bolognese followed by Banana or Pineapple Fritter washed down with a cold Kilimanjaro for around 13500TZ which is about $9. I don't think that at all unreasonable.
There was wonderful Birdlife in the grounds to watch from Bushshrikes to Paradise Flycatchers and even roostng Bats. Further afield was Lake Victoria and the Serengeti to explore. One plus was as we are away from main tourists were were not beset with kids screaming "Mzungu give me money" that so plagues kids where they get pre-conditioned to this regrettable activity.
To sum up. I was glad I managed to stay there after so long and enjoyed every moment of my stay.

Room Tip: My room was furthest away from the lapa and I guess it was quieter because of this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The place are a bit rundown but rooms are clean and food are really great. The staff is very friendly and welcoming and try to help where ever they can. A good place to stay when travelling to or from the Serengeti.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trippinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We camped at the Serengeti Stopover Lodge on June 10th. At $13 per person, the Stopover Lodge was a welcome respite from the exorbitant $30 per head price charged for camping inside the Tanzanian National Parks. The Stopover Lodge had hot water, clean grounds, and a restaurant, which is more value for your shilling than you get at the national park's campsites. Unfortunately the lodge's kitchen burned down the week prior due to some negligent campers so we were not able to cater for ourselves. However, this gave us an opportunity to sample the restaurant's menu and enjoy a bottle of wine. The campsite featured chair & table arrangements, many acacia trees for hanging and drying damp clothes, multiple showering and toilet facilities, & lots of ants (so be sure to zip up your tent lest you invite them inside.) Being close to the roadside, the campsite had some road noise but not enough to disturb one's sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psgriffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

It is a good stop over. You do not want to stay there many nights but the bandas and camp side are fine. I bit run down but still clean enough. Staff is helpful and food is fine.
It is easy to find and you do not have to make a detour.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hypercube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#7 of 125 in Serengeti National Park
526 reviews
0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 125 in Serengeti National Park
927 reviews
0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 125 in Serengeti National Park
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#35 of 125 in Serengeti National Park
50 reviews
0 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#17 of 125 in Serengeti National Park
330 reviews
0 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#32 of 125 in Serengeti National Park
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Stop Over Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Stop Over Lodge

Address: Mwanza-Musoma Road, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing