We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exiting Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soroi Serengeti Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Soroi is little far from Other Lodges, but near to Grumeti River, Game Drive to Central Serengeti is bit far. Lodge is well design and with full privacy. Concept of Shower in open Balcony Provides feel of bath is Jungle. Dining area is isolated, they provides a cart to commute between the tent to Dining Area. we have chosen to witness the great migration of wilder beast in the month of end June, unfortunately it has passed the Grumeti to Lobo area, well before we could reach there. overall Excellent stay during Safari.
Tips:
1. Keep a Torch Handy
2. Not Advisable to roam out of tent after Dark
3. From Central Serengeti to Lodge Approach path has one Patch full of Tse-Tse Fly

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiren_D_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed 4 days at Soroi during our safari this year. One thing that can't be contested is that this hotel has some of the best views I've ever experienced at a hotel! Sweeping vistas over the Serengeti with all sorts of animals wandering by at all hours. The rooms are what I would calla hybrid between a permanent tended camp and a bungalow with 3 walls being canvas with zippered windows and the others (mainly in the bath) made of wood. I did notice that there were quite a few gaps in the wood and doors, but we didn't experience any insect probelms because of it. As others have noted ther is an area of extensive tse tse flys on the way to the resort, but we just put the windows up and dealt with it. We had no problems with flys at the resort itself.

The Pros:
--as mentioned the views!!!
--Most comfortable bed ever!! Slept better here than I have in a long time
--Laundry service
--Friendly staff and management
--intimate atmosphere

The Cons:
--The food - mainly the proteins were not good. Tasted old or recycled. Not a great meal experience here (I maintain the sevice is still good even at dinner though)
--water - water temp was inconsistent and nowhere near the 100 liters they said we'c have
--instant coffee-- the go to the trouble of bringing you a carafe of hot water, why not a carafe of brewed coffee?
--The whistle - they give you what we'd in my area call a "rape whistle" that you are to blow if you need anything or are in distress. Now this is a big property, not sure this is an effective means of communication. Plus, I'd feel silly blowing this whistle just to ask for another pot of hot water. Perhaps an investment in some walkie talkies would be better.
--They did not accept credit cards - important to know especially since you need to pay for any wine or drinks as they are not included

Overall the charm and peacefulness of this place really grew on us and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatnJenCaveCreek_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

One of the most beautiful hotels I've been in my life. What a shame then that the food was not well taken care of. Both breakfast and lunch and dinner were definitely the worst we got served during our safari.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

If You look for a warmness welcome, an hotel with a gorgious view on Serengeti Park,
If You want to Know the pleasure of having a warm shower outside, with the view,
If you like to sleep in a confortable traditional room, well decoreted,,
If you wish to test good food well prepared,
Funny to have the masai warrior driving a golf car !
We sent in 5 hôtels during the Safari : it was the best !
So then don ´t hesited, book to Soroi hotel : it is absolutly charming

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Amazing views overlooking the Serengeti - one of my favorite rooms I've ever stayed in. I could have sat on the balcony for days and no detail was forgotten in the room. The service staff was excellent and the food was delicious. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeds_Around_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at Soroi Serengeti Lodge in late June 2013. Can't fault the place at all. Our stay was arranged by the wonderful Rose of Swala Safaris as part of our 12 day Tanzania safari. Accommodation, food, & staff were all excellent.

This is an excellent location to see the migration on its way west & north. The Lodge is perched on the top of a hill which overlooks the plains. Many small herds of migrating animals travel along the plains, past our hill on their way north towards the Grumetti river 20km away. We were lucky enough to witness a small group of wildebeest crossing the Grumetti river. But there's more to see than just the migration. Wildlife abounds all around, and they don't all migrate.

Would definitely recommend as a wonderful place to stay - want to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was our 3rd stop in our safari trip, and it certainly has the most amazing hilltop views. The room, (we had the buffalo suite), made the most of the view, as did the restaurant on the other side of the slope. The rooms and buildings are spread out such that the staff use a golf cart to escort you from your room to dinner and back- very amusing. It was too cold to use the pool, but the dinner was excellent and the staff friendly.
Our guide for a drives, Amani, was far and away the best guide we had over our 8 days on safari. It was such a pleasure to spend time with him, both learning about the landscape, animals and birds, as well as Tanzanian life. We felt really lucky to be his clients.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
11.4 mi away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#12 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
234 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kisura Serengeti Mobile Camp
Kisura Serengeti Mobile Camp
#49 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
40 reviews
21.7 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#64 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
88 reviews
20.7 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#21 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
182 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
#47 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soroi Serengeti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soroi Serengeti Lodge

Address: Western Corridor | Seronera, Serengeti National Park 20965, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £445 - £958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soroi Serengeti Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Soroi Serengeti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soroi Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing