We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay of my life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamai Serengeti, Nomad Tanzania

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lamai Serengeti, Nomad Tanzania
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Best stay of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Lamai Serengeti is a paradise. The location is spectacular, the lodges without a flaw complete with awesome views and great touches, the service is perfect including the early morning coffees, the dinners are very special, the guiding is unparalleled and Nic and Jana complement this with tremendous hosting.

Staying at Lamai has me considering the need for a new rating category, or the need to go nack and reduce all my previous ratings of other places by 1.

If you only ever take 1 more holiday, make it here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTBSteve11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
142
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Lamai 2 weeks ago. When we got there and saw the living and dinning area we were left speechless! What a beautiful place! the view is fantastic and the decor and details make you feel in a magical place.
We were welcomed by Jana and Nick who are incredibly friendly and nice. The rest of the staff was wonderful as well.
We stayed in room #10 which is the farthest one from the living area. A person of the staff has to walk you to your room after sunset or very early in the morning when there is not much sunlight.
The room was spectacular! You are not only in contact with nature but you feel you are out there. There are no walls that keep you locked, you just have a mosquito net that lets you have an incredible view of the landscape. The swimming pool are is really nice too.
The room has a beautiful bathroom with a great shower. What amazed us was the attention to detail like the hot water bottles in the bed at night and the blankets during dinner.
Food was delicious and the company fantastic. We met such interesting, wonderful people when we were there. The guides are very knowledgeable and will do everything they can for you to see as many animals as possible.
We had such an amazing experience it was hard to leave the place.
Thank you Lamai, especially Jana and Nick for your hospitality and your never ending smiles.

Room Tip: Any room would be fantastic. The farther you are from the living area, the more exciting since your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayra05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nick and Jana superbly manage this fantastic property in the north Serengeti. We spent 3 nights here and loved every minute. Our room was fantastic with wooden floors with one side open just protected by a net onto a verandah with great views and a very comfortable bed. The game drives were sensational and Anaphi was a great guide and gave us some memorable sights including a cheetah which jumped on to our bonnet.
The bar/sitting area is beautiful and very relaxing after a long game drive.
One slight niggle, we did not particularly enjoy shared eating especially if you are landed with rather uninspiring neighbours. Food was Ok but the morning picnic breakfasts were memorable.
I have the view from our room as my screen saver
A truly fabulous experience - we wish we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Nomad was the 3rd and final stop on our safari honeymoon adventure. We absolutely loved this part of our trip. Having it being our final destination was excellent. The accommodations were right up our alley; well designed, open and clean. The porch opened into an open field and since there aren't any barriers, we saw an Imapla grazing one afternoon and even heard a lion roaring on our last night.

Nick and Jana, as well as the rest of the staff, were amazing hosts and they made us feel right at home. The lodge allowed guests to choose to dine together or by themselves, so on a few nights we met others on the trip that were great company. We had a romantic dinner with just the 2 of us on our last evening and they surprised us with a bottle of champagne in celebration of our honeymoon.

Our guide, Analfi was super sweet, he was a bit more mild manner than the other guides we had, but very knowledgable and well versed in the landscape of the bush. We had 4 days there, so we were able to take things more slowly and since it wasn't high season up north, we really love being on drives with minimal cars on the road. Overall, the Nomad Serengeti made for a very intimate and unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycgirl3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I travelled with my mother to Lamai Serengeti in Oct 2014. It's amazing how you can find such luxury in such a remote part of the world.
We stayed at Lamai for 2 nights. The room was perfect. We woke up to the sun rising over the panoramic vista reaching all the way into Kenya. The touches to the rooms and shared areas were beautiful and there was even an internet connection in the shared are so I could show all of my friends in real-time, the beauty of the place. The food was generally very good but the chicken a bit gristly. But we did get some salmon which more than made up for it. It was a shame that there was not much choice though and I ate the same main meal two nights running as I don't eat pork which was one of the two options on my second night. It would also have been nice to have been able to have private dining rather than all sitting together. I like the idea of eating together but sometimes its nice to have the option of a bit of privacy.
The game in the vicinity of the lodge is phenomenal. It wasn't a great struggle to find the big 5. Our driver, Agafi, was very knowledgeable and took us on a game walk as well as several drives.
My only feedback was that there was little flexibility with regards to meals and schedules for game drives and activities. Even though we had a private driver, we were required to do activities at set times. I'd have preferred it to have been a little more flexible.
All in all, a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachieLandmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
274 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is a great resort, with beautiful huts dotted on a hillside above the Northern Serengeti plains. We had already seen the big herds in the south (this was January) and we were looking to finish our holiday with a more private experience. We couldn't have guessed in advance how private - we were the only two guests, looked after by 35 staff(!), and we rarely saw other groups on our many safari drives with Anaphi, our excellent guide/driver. Our hut was Number 1, at the top of the hill, with a quite stunning view across the plains from our big terrace. The hut was completely open at the front, just protected by a mosquito net, guaranteeing fresh air and birdsong, and views of hyraxes and lizards from the bed. Anaphi found us lots of game, including all the usuals (and a leopard), and a family of seven lionesses and 14(!) cubs just a half a mile from the huts; we watched them playing for hours, with not another safari vehicle in sight! The managers - Nick and Jana - were great company, and we mostly ate with them and once with Mark and Cornelia too, managers from a nearby camp. The food and service was excellent, and we immersed ourselves in the decadence of huge breakfasts on the morning safaris and gin and tonics on the evening ones. The best breakfast was on the Mara River, watching the hippos and crocs while a group of perhaps 200 baboons crossed the plain next to us.
My screensaver as I write this review is the spectacular view from our terrace, with a group of a dozen elephants playing in a mudhole in the foreground. Wow!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is paradise! Wonderful rooms with a stunning view, excellent food and very friendly staff.
We spend 5 nights here and our guide was Anaphi. We can really recommend Anaphi. He has a tallent for his job and he is very friendly.
Jana & Nick run this place and together with the nice and friendly staff they make your stay unforgetable!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acg1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
40.7 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
36.6 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#13 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
64.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#19 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Serengeti, Nomad Tanzania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Serengeti, Nomad Tanzania

Property: Lamai Serengeti, Nomad Tanzania
Address: Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you were to visit only one place in the Serengeti, it should be here. This is no idle boast; the iconic Kogakuria kopje in northern Serengeti. A few years ago the Tanzanian government chose a handful of responsible companies to build small permanent lodges in this remote sector of the Serengeti. Nomad Tanzania was offered the prime site and Lamai Serengeti now sits tucked amongst the rocks of Kogakuria Kopje with panoramic views of the surrounding landscape. Beautifully designed open-fronted rooms, a spacious lounge and clear pool provide an ideal place to escape to for some relaxation in between your wildlife adventures, for both families, groups and couples.The area boasts year-round fantastic game viewing, including the Big 5, and between July and November, the wildebeest migration moves through, crossing the Mara River in dramatic fashion just 20mins from the lodge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing