We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Setting, Great Food, Great Service!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I spent 2 nights at Ubuntu with my husband in the southern part of the Serengeti. The camp was fantastic. We weren't sure what to expect from a tented mobile camp but can honestly say it was more comfortable then the hotels we stayed at in Tanzania. The location was great- one morning we woke up and there were giraffes about 200 yards away from our tent. The next morning it was zebras. There was plenty of game nearby including a pack of the rarely seen wild dogs, as well as lions, and cheetahs just a bit further. The food at Ubuntu was also excellent and they accommodated our dietary restrictions very well. Also to note was the superb and friendly service. Everything you needed was taken care of quickly and with great care. Mark, the manager, and DiDi stood out especially.

During this trip we had an Asilia driver/guide for our entire Tanzanian trip and we stayed at 2 Asilia properties (Ubuntu and Matemwe Lodge). Our guide, Aflred, was top notch and can be credited for elevating our trip experience from wonderful to one of the most memorable in our lives (and we do our fair share of traveling). He shared his immense knowledge of the game life, the serengeti, Tanzanian culture, and everything else we could have wanted to know. He was consistently outstanding with his customer service and had a great sense of humor. He is highly recommended and definitely worth making a special request for. The other Asilia accomdation we stayed at, Matemwe, was also a fantastic. Asilia has definitely earned our trust when it comes to providing a top notch Tanzanian experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ubuntu Camp for 3 nights at the end of a overland trip through southern and eastern Africa. What can I say - it was certainly the most memorable part of our holiday. The service, tents and guides were exceptional. And there was a real atmosphere to the place that's hard to describe. We really felt we received personalised service from Mark and the team. Despite being a couple hours drive from the main game watching area at Ndutu, Ubuntu offered some very unique extras such as walking safaris, hikes and a visit to a traditional Masaai boma. For us, this was perfect as we had already spent time in Ndutu. We would highly recommend Ubuntu to anyone looking for a unique safari experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussietraveller363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We spent four nights at Ubuntu in southern Serengeti. We all enjoyed it immensely. The tents are very comfortable, the food tasty and the people there are great. We also had the luck to meet some wonderful people there. Everything worked perfectly (even though the camp was much further south than we initially thought.

The surroundings of camp are beautiful. Giraffes everywhere. Very nice walking safari near the lake. And the sighting of African wild dogs in action was one of the most exciting (and gruesome) experiences in my life.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brazilian_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a great time at Ubuntu tented camp. Staff was really friendly, tents were amazing, so clean and well equiped, the food was of the best quality, and the atmosphere was supurb! We had a great time, not in the least because of the pack of wild dogs we found and followed on their hunt for a wildebeast. Together with the whole staff and Masai we witnessed how nature works. It was an experience we will never forget. And we were happy to share this with Mark, Alfred our guide, and the whole super staff!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I just returned from a 2 week vacation in Africa. This was my 2nd East African safari, and was seeking a luxury style camp. To my great pleasure, Ubuntu exceeded all expectations! From the moment that we arrived, we were greeted by Mark (Manager) and his team. Their attention to detail was unbelievable! Mark would also dine with the guests each night, which was nice, as it allowed us a chance to get more information about the local game, but more importantly, it demonstrated his watchful eye that everything was perfect! They were also informed that I was celebrating my birthday while at the Ubuntu camp, and they baked a birthday cake for the occasion. I would HIGHLY recommend this camp for anyone who wants a truly unique and upscale safari.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveler10n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We recently spent three nights at Ubuntu, and enjoyed the experience immensely. Markus and the team provided an atmosphere of personal interaction and caring that went beyond expectations. My wife had particular dietary requirements and the staff went out of their way to make her comfortable (including sourcing soya milk because she is lactose intolerant). Not an easy feat in the Serengeti!
The meals were excellent; the tents were luxurious & the personal attention & attention to detail were very much appreciated.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claricky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We spent several days travelling around the Northern Circuit and can honestly say that this was by far the best site I have EVER stayed in.
The site is sat atop an escarpment and has spectacular views of animals walking past. To add a touch of security the site is patrolled at night by the Massi warriors who also acted as guides on our first day. On arriving at the campsite you are greeted by the campsite manager and you will be introduced to the staff at the campsite. We arrived late and the chef was very kind to provide us with a lunch which would rival any top London restaurant. We were shown to our tent which is one of only about a dozen. In the evening you are invited to sit around a campfire with the other guests. Dinner is served on a communal table which was allowed a friendly atmosphere. Other guests would share their stories and experiences.
Unlike other campsites all the drinks are free (except spirits) and this includes some amazing local wines and beers.
The tents are very well furnished and the site boasts a strong commitment to the environment. You can order a shower because all the hot water must be brought to your tent by hand. I will never forget watching the game crossing the escarpment whilst we had breakfast. A short distance from the campsite you will find a vast number of cats and other animals. The campsite manager had sited a large family of African Wild Dogs passing through the site only days before our arrival. We found a family of Cheetah a short drive from the campsite who I believe were possing for us¬
On leaving the campsite it felt as if we were departing home. An unforgetable location and experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank courty55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Usa River
528 reviews
0 mi away
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
#38 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
35 reviews
0 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#16 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
480 reviews
0 mi away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#11 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
257 reviews
0 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#9 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park 1000, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubuntu Migration Camp stops at three spectacular locations across the north, west and south of the Serengeti, following in the tracks of massive herds of wildebeest as they cross the vast plains of the Serengeti in an ancient migration cycle. Shadowing the wildebeest's every move, Ubuntu Camp uncovers fascinating and unexplored corners of this great wilderness, ensuring that first-class game viewing is never far away. With their unwavering focus on keeping pace with the migration, Ubuntu's guides have an enviable reputation for bringing this remarkable natural phenomenon to life. The camp itself is intimate and personal, and the seven spacious tented suites epitomise traditional East African safari charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing