We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ubuntu camp is fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Ubuntu camp is fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

This mobile luxury camp gives new meaning to "mobile luxury!" The entire camp is spotless, clean and very easy to stay in. The entire staff is kind and eager to please. The chef prepares food that is so wonderful and healthy! I highly recommend this camp experience as the best way to be a part of the beautiful Serengeti!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
87
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Unbuntu is a mobile camp that was in the northern Serengeti in the Kogatende area when we had the pleasure of being a guest of Mark and his wonderful staff.
The camp is ideally positioned to take advantage of the Wildebeest migration crossing of the Mara River at this time of year. We were fortunate enough to see this natural phenomenon, it was quite spectacular.
From the moment we arrived our every need was taken care of by the most caring of staff whose hospitality compliments the very essence of the sense of freedom the East African wilderness offers.
The entire camp is under canvas which adds to the wilderness experience. The accommodation “tents” are extremely comfortable with all the create comforts. Awaking at day break under canvas in your comfortable bed to the sound of lions in the distance enhances the sensors and leaves one with sense of being part of the bush.
I really appreciate the thoughtfulness of the Unbuntu staff. Under the management of Mark and David, the friendly service could not be faulted. Japhet and Jackson in particular took the time to get to know everyone in our group and made sure that individual tastes were met. Thank you to the entire staff for the magnificent birthday song and dance and cake for one of our party, cooked in the canvas kitchen, it was delicious.
The attention to detail at this camp is second to none. It is highly recommended.
Thank you, Mark, David, Japhet, Jackson and all the exceptional staff for your wonderful hospitality and assisting us to awaken our senses.
P&J

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We recently spent a total of twelve nights in four different tented camps in the Okavango Delta, Masai Mara and Serengeti. Each was quite superb in all ways but each provided a different experience. Ubuntu, as the only non-permanent camp was a most pleasant surprise, being much more comfortable and established than we expected. Other reviewers have described the wonderful level of attention, comfort and service .... exactly as we experienced. What seemed to set Ubuntu somewhat apart for us, was an extra level of friendliness, warmth and caring that each staff member seemed to have for all guests, right from the top. Mark was always there, beaming with friendship. Japhet was always hovering around knowing exactly what to serve next. Goodluck, about to become a father, was our most enjoyable guide.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feelcrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverell, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Have just come back from a trip in Rwanda and Tanzania which was great! Stayed in a Tented Camp in Tanzania which was the Best, From the time we arrived to the time we left we were treated like Kings. Mark and David were great and my special waiter Japhet was the Greatest, never wanted for anything, he looked after me night and morning, Thanks Japhet.
We had the best Game drives from there and our Guide Martin was the greatest, Thanks Martin.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

The service at this camp was the best that we experienced in Tanzania. The setting in northern Serengeti was impressive, the food was delicious and the tents are comfortable. We also had two successful games drives with Good Luck, one of the camp drivers. We would highly recommend this camp to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at Ubuntu camp for three nights. The camp was situated on the northern part of the Serengeti.  I cannot say enough good things about this place but I will try. 

This is no ordinary mobile camp. Each room had a king size bed (or so it seemed) and a full bathroom with nice furnishings. The tents were so well sealed that it is hard to believe that it is indeed a mobile camp. 

Service and hospitality are second to none. They were extremely attentive and always available even in the middle of the night. The managers Mark and David really took care of us along with the staff. Jackson Agga did a great job as our room host. The entire staff was amazing: John & Ebenezer (Waiters), Godbless, Haji, Alfonce & Dominic (Rooms attendants), Daniel (Head Chef),
Makame, Godwin, Daud (Assistant cooks). 

The food was outstanding and catered to each guest. They made every effort to accommodate people's tastes and dietary restrictions. We had people who were vegetarian, gluten-free, and dairy-free and this was no problem for them. I had gotten food poisoning on my previous leg and they were able to make food for me as well. 

The camp was outstanding. Look no further.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sproozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

It's so hard to put in words what the Ubuntu experience was like. We spent the last two nights of our 2 week safari here, and it was an amazing way to top off our trip. This was absolutely our favorite place out of the 4 different lodges we stayed at in Tanzania.

Clint and David were the most amazing hosts. They made sure that we were always comfortable and with a drink in hand. Clint in particular made the nightly fires and family style dinner so much fun. We very much enjoyed sharing stories with Clint and the other guests. The intimate social experience was definitely a highlight.

The tent, the food, and everything else at the camp was beyond my wildest dreams... And this is after I've read all about it online! Everything was just so well thought out, down to the warm water bottles they place in bed to warm the bed during those cold nights. The two chairs in front of the tent were perfect for enjoying those awesome morning deliveries of tea. Our last night there, they actually served traditional Tanzania food. We had fun learning how to roll up the ugali in our hands and then dipping it in the stew. All of the food at the camp was great. The chefs really put a lot of thought and heart into each of the dishes they prepare.

Our experience at Ubuntu was absolutely unparalleled. I'm not sure if we will ever go back to the Serengeti, but if we did, I will certainly go back to Ubuntu.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkTravelBalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 114 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#30 of 114 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 114 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Serengeti National Park 1000, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubuntu Migration Camp stops at three spectacular locations across the north, west and south of the Serengeti, following in the tracks of massive herds of wildebeest as they cross the vast plains of the Serengeti in an ancient migration cycle. Shadowing the wildebeest's every move, Ubuntu Camp uncovers fascinating and unexplored corners of this great wilderness, ensuring that first-class game viewing is never far away. With their unwavering focus on keeping pace with the migration, Ubuntu's guides have an enviable reputation for bringing this remarkable natural phenomenon to life. The camp itself is intimate and personal, and the seven spacious tented suites epitomise traditional East African safari charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing