We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Camp” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Rooms Food and Staff are wonderful, we hope to stay at an Asilia camp in 2015 northern Serengeti we liked the experience that much! I loved the camp fire
the only downside is it is a 2 hour ride to the airport

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
87
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our days earlier this month at Ubuntu Camp in the Serengeti were perfect. Mark and his staff anticipated our every need. The food was excellent, and special accommodations were gladly made for my diet. Mark and/or a member of staff were always there when we returned from game drives with hot towels, ready to deliver hot water to our tent for showers. Everything was done for us including our laundry so that we could concentrate on a half dozen or so of the most productive picture-taking game drives you can imagine: the migration, cheetah, giraffes, zebra, lions, wild dogs, lion cubs, dozens of birds, and on and on to absolute perfection. Great sense of community with the other four or so guest couples and families; we spent a festive New Year's Eve there, and Mark & Co. made sure to have special sundowner drinks and roasted goat ribs etc. to help celebrate the holiday. The fact we had heavy rain late that night just added to the fun. Great place to bring in the new year, on a ridge overlooking the Endless Plain.
Thanks Mark. You guys are absolutely THE BEST!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bin-Bin-Tarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place is hard to get to and hard to get away from. We had a fantastic two nights in this amazing lodge. The shower you can order in advance and the water is nice and warm. In the late afternoon you sit around the fire and than you join diner together with all the guests. The walking safari in the afternoon was interesting and we saw a lonesome hippo in the little lake around the Lodge. The staff is extremely nice and the food is excellent. Many good reasons to get back to this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

What can I say about this tented camp - except that it was a fantastic experience and wholly made by David and Epimark and their great team. This is a mobile camp and moves around according to the migration pattern. I definitely do not DO camping but this was something else. The tents are extremely comfortable with a well defined sleeping and dressing area and Showers with plenty of water, as well as a flush toilet. My bed was very comfortable and despite this being an open camp I felt quite secure even in a tent on my own and my son was staying in the next tent but tents are spaced out to ensure privacy. You are woken by an amazing dawn chorus of animals and birds and a pot of tea or coffee at a time of your convenience.Food was delicious ( with plenty of wine!) and beautifully prepared and served in a beautiful open tent with a view out on to the Serengeti and also a bush christmas tree!Days were spent out on the Serengeti, the Endless Plain, and we had an amazing Guide/ Driver,Comfort, who was also provided by Asilia, and it was great to be welcomed at the end of an exhausting and dusty day out on safari by the team with a cool damp flannel and smiling faces welcoming us home!!
Can't wait to go back and already planning our next trip! We will certainly be recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Wow. This is tenting at its best. Amazing views over the plain and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were welcomed by Epimark and David ( the bosses) and nothing was ever a problem. Cold cloths, Beer, wine, water, or whatever you needed. Food fabulous, even more so given you are in the bush. Enormous tents bring back memories of the army BUT double beds, ensuing flushing loos and showers. This camp should make a lot of European establishments sit up and think oh no. Food was delicious including lunch boxes and I would return in a dash. It was a truly amazing experience only adders to by seeing the Big Five. Loads of animals to listen to as you go to sleep and wake up to

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Ubuntu camp was the last stop of our safari trip in Tanzania. After this excellent experience, we will surely come back to this wonderful place.

A superb camp, great food, super service and very friendly and professional staff only add to what was a brilliant experience. It surpassed all our expectations.

We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
459 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I do not camp - at all- and was extremely nervous about staying at Ubuntu but this 8 tent mobile camp visited near the end of the season in the Northern Serengeti was in a word fabulous. Epimark, the manager, runs an excellent camp. The attention to detail was first rate as was the delicious food (always several vegetable offering at dinner if you are a vegetarian and don't miss the french toast at breakfast!) the staff, the tents and our guide Goodluck. We stayed at another Asilia facility in Tarangire and I can only say they need to take a page from Ubuntu. Ubuntu was far and away our favorite place in Tanzania. Even though early rains in September had started the migration early, we were able to see a small wildebeest crossing. Goodluck guided us to cheetah, leopard, lions & cubs, rhino & baby and so much more. Again, if you had told me that I would enjoy the smaller tents, the water pull shower (on demand) and remoteness of this camp beforehand, I'd have bet you anything you would be wrong. I did this camp for my son to enjoy but this was the most real Africa on the trip and I would only go the small tented route on any return. It was that amazing. PS we used Avon bug repellent wipes and did not get a single tse-tse or mosquito bite!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#29 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Serengeti National Park 1000, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubuntu Migration Camp stops at three spectacular locations across the north, west and south of the Serengeti, following in the tracks of massive herds of wildebeest as they cross the vast plains of the Serengeti in an ancient migration cycle. Shadowing the wildebeest's every move, Ubuntu Camp uncovers fascinating and unexplored corners of this great wilderness, ensuring that first-class game viewing is never far away. With their unwavering focus on keeping pace with the migration, Ubuntu's guides have an enviable reputation for bringing this remarkable natural phenomenon to life. The camp itself is intimate and personal, and the seven spacious tented suites epitomise traditional East African safari charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing