We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great outback experience with fantastic cuisine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serengeti Halisi Camp
Graz, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great outback experience with fantastic cuisine”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

it´s camping at high level. you do have your toilet and shower in your tent. you'll get warm shower every day in the evening by the staff.
very friendly staff and real good meal which you don´t expect right in the middle of serengeti.
after dinner we enjoyed campfire atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birgitta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived in the middle of a rainstorm and did wander what we were letting ourselves in for but once we'd dried off and settled in we found Halisi to be a lovely camp right in the middle of no where with wildlife all around. Tent was great, food amazing considering the facilities available (not sure why they cook it such a long way from where they serve it though). Woken in the night be the noise of wildebeest and lions roaring- awesome! It's an ideal base for exploring the Serengeti and Ndutu area. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the Halisi camp for 2 nights, and this is the perfect lodging if you want the outback experience, but still don't want it to be that rough where you have to leave your tent to go to the bathroom, for example. The temporary tent is so simple, but yet designed to have the feel of a lodge room. We were very impressed with the way the staff there provided the housekeeping and especially the 'dining' services. They really make you feel special! Pete was a great host and the chef also did a great job with the food considering they have such a small area to cook and a limited number of facilities. Although I was a bit nervous the first night, it was a lot more relaxing the second. It was an amazing experience hearing lions and all types of other animals outside your tent at night, you're right in the middle of Serengeti. My favorite moment was sitting outside by the camp fire!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

You can not get much closer to a real African safari experience than in this camp - at night you hear all kinds of animals, and during day some of them also "visit" the camp: we've seen a giraffe almost in the camp, and a few elephant really close by (a very thrilling encounter).

Do not expect the luxury of a lodge - this is a mobile camp that moves a few times a year to be close to the great migration. That said, there is still a lot of comfort given you're sleeping in tents in the middle of nowhere: there are comfortable double beds, a separate bathroom tent section, and you can have a warm bush shower whenever you ask. There are also some chairs and a table to relax outside your tent after a long day of safari.

The food is quite good given the location (though I could have done with more authentic food and less pizza), the dinner tent is really nice and it's easy to get into a conversation with other travelers. The staff was always friendly and helpful, too.

If you want an "out of Africa" experience but still a bit of comfort: highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

- The camp is following the wildebeest migration through the Serengeti
- You can't get closer to nature (e.g. heared hyena howling at night)
- Real "out-of-Africa" feeling !! .... but be prepared for bush shower, shaving in the light of your
torch, chemical camping toilet
- Very friendly staff will e.g. fill-up your bush showe, guide you to your tent at night etc.
- Tents are mosquito-proof i.e. no need for a separate net over the bed

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My girlfriend and I were staying at the Halisi Tented Camp for two nights. It was a very special experience sleeping in the midst of the Serengeti with all its sounds at night! Besides this you have everything what you need: Toilet and shower within the tent, solar powered light, excellent food, extraordinary friendly staff and NATURE!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I genuinely loved this place! it's a tented camp in midst the wilderniss of central Serengeti. Personally, I've never stayed in such a camp and found it incredibly exciting. The tents are nicely fitted out, with a comfortable bed, chemical toilet and shower You even get 20l of hot water for showering, so no need to freeze... we were greeted by incredibly friendly staff, who held the (in Tansania seemingly inevitable) "briefing" thankfully short so we could freshen up from the Serengeti dust. Before dinner, a fire is lit and you can have drinks in front of the "bush TV" with the other guests. Dinner and breakfast are served in the mass tent and were tasty.
in the morning, you can get a thermo mug with coffee or tea to your tent which I found very attentive. The best thing, of course, was being so close to the wildlife. we even heard lions roaring very nearby in the early morning...perfect location for a game drive!
Thanks to all there for an incredible experience, in particulari to language talent Nikolas.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
0.0 mi away
Robanda Safari Camp
Robanda Safari Camp
#83 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#45 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Heritage Camp
Serengeti Heritage Camp
#42 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#25 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#17 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Halisi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Halisi Camp

Property: Serengeti Halisi Camp
Address: Ndutu area of Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing