We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“African luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kirawira Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is an elegant tented camp, situated overlooking the western corridor of the Serengeti. The rooms and bathrooms are beautifully appointed and very private. Service excellent. We awake in the middle of the night to hear loud crunching and munching alongside our tent. A couple of water buffalo were having a midnight snack on our doorstep! Very attentive staff and manager.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowjoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Could not believe the reception tent and champagne that greeted us. Staff was gracious. Our tent was elegant with wood floors, marble top vanities in the bath, separate tiled toilets and showers, canopied beds. The food was superb. Homemade ice cream every day. Loved the sounds of the animals and the views from our porch were incredible

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Acey071368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Set in a spectacular location further to the west, meaning a less crowded experience from other vehicles. The tents are high quality and towards the upper end of what you would expect from a luxury tented experience. Very well fitted out, with wonderful shower and bathroom. Food is to a good standard. The migration had passed through by the time we arrived in September, and while pretty good, if you are able to schedule for June/July then I expect it would be even more spectacular. Having said that, we still had many good and close up sightings, with one of the highlights of our trip 4 young lion cubs frolicking with mother. Our guide was excellent, asked what we wanted to see and did his best to accommodate this. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shane1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July and loved it. (We were also staying here when the lion came through and killed the zebra nearby. We heard the attack overnight and were very glad to know that security guards were always nearby.) This tented camp has great views with close proximity to numerous animals. We were fortunate to witness part of the Great Migration and even got to see the zebras and wildebeests begin a crossing of a stream, then make an abrupt turn in the opposite direction as they saw the large number of crocodiles in their path. The surrounding landscape is beautiful and we had a great view from our tent, #12, and a good bit of privacy is it was located far away from the public areas; no tents in front of us or to our left either. The tent was very nice, charming immaculate and well appointed. The tents sit off the ground with an outside sitting area where coffee and tea is served in the morning if requested. The bathroom has a shower only but is so nice, with robes and quality toiletries. There is a desk, bedside fan and wonderful ambience. You must not have food sitting about and must also be sure to be totally zipped in before settling in for the night: our lion experience proved this to be a necessity! Loved to hear the lions roar at night. The main reception area is very cushy and offers more extraordinary views of the Serengeti. The staff was absolutely delightful: so friendly! and every single one of them from the front desk to each person in the dining area, called us by name every time they saw us. They are willing to go above and beyond to do whatever it takes to make you happy. There will also be a guard to accompany you to your tent each evening after dinner: once more, this is not a show, this is necessary. Our meals were very good and the service delightful. There is a very nice gift shop with local crafts available as well as some useful items you might need. We saw a very large number and variety of animals (lots of birds too) in this area and also enjoyed the gorgeous sunsets each evening. This property does have a lovely pool area but we did not take advantage of it because we spent every minute we could on game drives. Make sure you have insect repellant and beige/tan clothing for your game drives in the Serengeti: you will need it for the afternoon drives to help repel the flies. (We were not bothered by flies in Tarangire or Ngorongoro Crater.) This camp is close to the airstrip and we loved seeing dozens of zebras on the runway, preventing incoming aircraft from landing as we waited for our plane. Kensington, their guide Jackson and Kirawira Camp finished off our African adventure in grand style. If you can, go the extra mile and do a private tour instead of a group: you will be much more comfortable and have a much more laidback enjoyable experience if you can make choices individually instead of as a group. Your time, your decision on what to do, where to go! I can't imagine our trip being any better than it was. I have written hundreds of reviews on Tripadvisor, visited many places and this trip by far, was my favorite travel experience ever. I will be forever blessed and fortunate to have made this journey. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We loved our tent, number 12, due to its great views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smiles4miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Kirawira in July. This place exudes old world charm. The tents were very nice. Loved the wake up call in the morning with tea and muffins! Woke up to animals right outside our tent - giraffes, buffalo, zebras, impalas and dik diks. Needless to say, the security was very serious about escorting us to our tents after sundown.
The food was one of the best we had during our 2 weeks trip. The restuarant staff was very friendly and the service was excellent. They even served us a Tanzanian meal one day which was not on the menu! Another day they served us Indian food, again not on the menu. They would just ask us what we were in the mood for and would try their best to make that for us. Very nice!
It was a great location to see wildlife too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefig2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Vincent from Ketas Safaris for upgrading my husband and I to this great lodge. Kirawira Camp was brilliant. The staff were very friendly and always on hand to help. Listoning to the lions walk pass our tent in the morning was something we will never for get. We will be back again very soon I hope.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Cinpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Tents were great. Service very good. Overall stay met expectations, but not to the level of Treetops or Bushtops tented camps. Didn't feel as familiar/intimate as the others, more corporate. Only real complaint, not true "full board"; you pay additional for the drinks. Great setting. Old world charm.

From here we spent an amazing morning in a local fishing village on Lake Victoria. What a cultural exchange. Visit and check out this site: Zariki Nursery & Primary School (https://www.facebook.com/ZarikiPrimarySchool/info), what a story. Visit the school. Visit the fishing village, Magu- Mwanza, meet Susan Nicholaus; she has a very heart warming and inspiring story to tell. The children in the village and at the school will melt your heart. Susan can help you with a guide for the village.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
57.6 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#25 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
273 reviews
15.8 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
465 reviews
41.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#63 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
89 reviews
51.6 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
183 reviews
34.2 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#33 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirawira Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirawira Serena Camp

Address: Western Serengeti, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £409 - £859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kirawira Serena Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in luxury safari ambiance, this hilltop-tented camp offers all the romance of sleeping under canvas whilst providing all the opulence and amenities of a world-class hotel. The camp also offers the finest in game viewing, a brilliance of birds and driving safaris that is unrivaled in East Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Kirawira Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirawira Camp Western Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing