We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kirawira Serena Camp
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
221
33
17
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
33
17
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswestern serengetimarble bathroomdining tentcolonial stylewake up callpersian rugslake victoriafour poster bedbush dinnergenet catgrumeti rivergame driveson stiltskenya and tanzaniadining staffeach eveningtsetse flies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very high-end tented camp with terrific food....BUT two of the tents had bed bug infestations! And beware of the tze tze flies during the day. Excursions in the early morning were the best! Late afternoon kind of buggy, but decreases later in the day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The food here would be considered excellent if it were in a restaurant in San Francisco - and to manage that with the supply issues involved is quite a feat. Staff is friendly and always helpful, from the office to the dining room staff to the staff that walks people to the rooms after dark. I forgot a shirt, and five minutes before my plane left a car pulled up at the small local airport to deliver it! That is really going above and beyond! I like that there are bird baths by the dining room, creating ever changing entertainment with Coqui francolins, White Browed Robin-Chats, Green-Winged Pytilias and more. The pool in well maintained and very pleasant. Although this was "off season" for the migration, we saw lots of wildlife including Bat-Eared Foxes, Cheetahs, Jackals, Hippos, Crocs, Colobus Monkeys, Lions, African Buffalos, and much more. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This small tent lodge tucked away in the Western Serengeti was absolutely fabulous. The views from the tent were breath taking, the food was wonderful, and the staff was very kind and courteous. The tents were very comfortable and very nicely furnished, gorgeous hardwood floors. The main lodge was also beautiful. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Despite the fact that I think I have misspelled the first word...you will have 'No Worries' staying at Kirawira Tented Camp. What a delightful place! Our tent was as comfortable as home and very user friendly. Once again, escorts took us back and forth to and from the DR tent each evening and one dark morning! All meals were delicious and plentiful. Service was impeccable. Our tent had a wonderful view of the Serengeti Plain and apparently was a favourite hangout for the roaring lions, we heard each night. Next to the dining tent was a lounge where lovely, soft, live music was played while you visited and chatted with friends. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethAnn151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Kirawira Tented Camp is truly amazing, with superb views of the Serengeti plains, extraordinarily well appointed and tastefully decorated tents (on raised hardwood-floor platforms), top-notch service, and great food. Kudos to Serena for such a feat in such a remote bush! We stayed two nights and enjoyed great game viewing (although the end of our day was spoiled by a nasty storm). The pool is very nice too, although rather cold, owing to the altitude and pumped water. This was part of a "Serena Royal Safari", and surely the high point of our stay in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews