We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our whole family - mom, dad, 5yr old, and 14 yr old - absolutely loved the camp! Lying in our tent listening to the animals at night, watching the hyrax play around the lobby, and getting special attention from all the staff made this a magical place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thisiscrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We found it to be very special. An effort is made in many respects to replicate the British experience of African safari as it might have been a century ago, right down to the use of steamer trucks as furniture elements and electric lights disguised as oil lamps. There was even a pith helmet to be found on the coat tree in our room. But it doesn’t stop there. There is a full bath, with hot and cold water, and the fittings are all designed to continue the 19th Century facade.

The biggest surprise was that we were assigned a butler who handled all of our details, from wake-ups, to meal service, beverages and more. Peter, our butler, was a gentle, lovely young man who worked very hard to please us. The road into camp passes through a small wood, so one doesn’t see the camp until you arrive. It amazed us that no matter what time of day we drove in, there was Peter, standing with a tray of hot or cool towels to greet us. We don’t know how he was able to manage it. We could never fool him.

The food was excellent, and the presentations were the equal of any fine restaurant. Even the picnic hampers were an experience, copious, delicious and complete with tablecloths and chinaware.

Alison & Tom, our hosts, were charming, and despite the exclusive level of service, were down to earth, without any air of fine hotel snobbery.

Of special note is the common room or lounge tent, which is up a small hill. The view out from there is spectacular. It defies capture on film. Of the four places at which we stayed in Tanzania, Pioneer Camp was by far our favorite. We loved our time there, and given the opportunity would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Liberalman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wow, what an amazing experience! The person care and attention to every detail for our stay was so impressive. The food was 5 star, so delicious! Our group had 14, which is a large group to serve and attend to and they did it very well. We joked how we wanted to bring Peter and Julius home with us - we just adored them.
Thanks to the entire staff, we had an amazing time!! Many thanks!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gibbcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed one night at this lovely oasis on our way into the Serengeti. Tom and Alison were very welcoming and our tent was elegant, comfortable and set apart from other guests with a wonderful view over the Serengeti. The food was not quite as perfect as the setting but overall it was a wonderful place to stay. (and a great bonus to have WiFi available!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calgaryconnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Elewana does it right, and Serengeti Pioneer is an Elewana-operated camp. Great setting and view, amazing food, and as always with Elewana, it is the incredibly hospitable staff who make the difference. I couldn't recommend this place, or any Elewana site, any higher.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Revhedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our 4th stop in a luxury camp site,and what a wonderfull 3days.Tony the camp manager picked us up from the airport,and the cat sightings began then,our personal valet Julius was an amazing host and cared for my wife and I with great service
The camp could not be faulted in anyway,food wine and SERENGETI was always available,the guide spotted 4 Leopard sightings in 1 day and Cheeta ,Lion were in abundance
10 out of 10 fellows

Room Tip: try not to get one to far from the camp centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beveric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

In late April, early May 2014 I was lucky to have an opportunity to visit Tanzania. A safari was, of course, a must-do! The tour company had a choice of lodges, but once I read about SPC, I was hooked. I am so grateful for the experience. I spent three nights in a lovely tent with amenities that rivaled most five star hotels. The location gives one a true feel of being in the Serengeti. The manager and staff were most welcoming. Each night I was escorted to my tent by a personal guide. Each morning I had a wonderful wake up call outside the tent! The meals at the SPC are absolutely delicious and provide something for everyone. The elegance and simplicity were wonderful. I could rave on! There is a lovely lounge with magnificent views and comfy chairs for the end of your day. I will visualize the camp and try to recapture the sky, scenery, and obliging, warm people every time I feel some stress coming on. Three cheers for SPC. A warm thank you to them. Noreen L.

Room Tip: I have no tips - did not see all the tents. They are all lovely, but I would imagine if you did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank serenity4928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
18.5 mi away
Melia Serengeti Lodge
Melia Serengeti Lodge
#1 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
11 reviews
32.6 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#6 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
528 reviews
19.9 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.9 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#16 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
336 reviews
36.4 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
480 reviews
17.3 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#19 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Pioneer Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Address: Seronera, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £711 - £1,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serengeti Pioneer Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Southern Serengeti (within the Moru Kopjes area), Serengeti Pioneer Camp is ideally situated to offer unrivalled access to the annual migration and the 'Big 5' with sweeping views overlooking Moru Kopjes, Lake Magadi and the endless plains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Serengeti Pioneer Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing