We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I do a lot of research on accommodation before booking. Boy did I get this one right! The camp setting has a view to die for. The tents take you back to the Bwana Brit days. The food takes you to a five star restaurant. The open jeep and guide take you to another world. Alison and Tom are the kind of hosts one hopes for -- there when you want to talk and absent when you want alone time. There is a wonderful large comfortable common sitting area overlooking the plains. Also, we were promised/contracted 5 game drives -- we had 6 without our request. And 2 full days with picnic lunches (no boxes, the full fare.) If you have to stretch your budget this is the place to do it. FYI I've travelled much of the globe and this is the second review I've written.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroadToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

It's hard to fully describe the magnificence of this place. We stayed for a couple of days during our honeymoon. Everything was great about our stay. It's a tented camp, but a tent resembles a luxurious hotel room. We are fretful with regards to matrasses and quality of sleep when we travel...the mattress at Pioneer Camp was probably the best we ever encountered! There is everything you need at the tent (including a shower and a toilet), but at the same time you feel close to the wildlife. At nights (after the sunset) there is a Masai warrior to see you to the tent and back to the main building. Food is great, with five chefs in the kitchen. Views from the main building over Serengeti park are gorgeous. You can spend a day just watching the migration. It's a great spot!
Peter and hosts Alison & Tom were just amazing. We felt very special, but at the same time there was nothing pompouos about it.
We recommend this place a lot to travellers coming to Serengeti.

Room Tip: Does not really matter which tent really. You would hear sounds of wildlife at night (eg wilderbeast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ivan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our whole family - mom, dad, 5yr old, and 14 yr old - absolutely loved the camp! Lying in our tent listening to the animals at night, watching the hyrax play around the lobby, and getting special attention from all the staff made this a magical place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thisiscrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We found it to be very special. An effort is made in many respects to replicate the British experience of African safari as it might have been a century ago, right down to the use of steamer trucks as furniture elements and electric lights disguised as oil lamps. There was even a pith helmet to be found on the coat tree in our room. But it doesn’t stop there. There is a full bath, with hot and cold water, and the fittings are all designed to continue the 19th Century facade.

The biggest surprise was that we were assigned a butler who handled all of our details, from wake-ups, to meal service, beverages and more. Peter, our butler, was a gentle, lovely young man who worked very hard to please us. The road into camp passes through a small wood, so one doesn’t see the camp until you arrive. It amazed us that no matter what time of day we drove in, there was Peter, standing with a tray of hot or cool towels to greet us. We don’t know how he was able to manage it. We could never fool him.

The food was excellent, and the presentations were the equal of any fine restaurant. Even the picnic hampers were an experience, copious, delicious and complete with tablecloths and chinaware.

Alison & Tom, our hosts, were charming, and despite the exclusive level of service, were down to earth, without any air of fine hotel snobbery.

Of special note is the common room or lounge tent, which is up a small hill. The view out from there is spectacular. It defies capture on film. Of the four places at which we stayed in Tanzania, Pioneer Camp was by far our favorite. We loved our time there, and given the opportunity would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Liberalman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wow, what an amazing experience! The person care and attention to every detail for our stay was so impressive. The food was 5 star, so delicious! Our group had 14, which is a large group to serve and attend to and they did it very well. We joked how we wanted to bring Peter and Julius home with us - we just adored them.
Thanks to the entire staff, we had an amazing time!! Many thanks!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gibbcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed one night at this lovely oasis on our way into the Serengeti. Tom and Alison were very welcoming and our tent was elegant, comfortable and set apart from other guests with a wonderful view over the Serengeti. The food was not quite as perfect as the setting but overall it was a wonderful place to stay. (and a great bonus to have WiFi available!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calgaryconnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Elewana does it right, and Serengeti Pioneer is an Elewana-operated camp. Great setting and view, amazing food, and as always with Elewana, it is the incredibly hospitable staff who make the difference. I couldn't recommend this place, or any Elewana site, any higher.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Revhedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
32.6 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
480 reviews
19.9 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
900 reviews
54.9 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.4 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
460 reviews
2.9 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#23 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
182 reviews
20.1 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#2 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Pioneer Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Address: Seronera, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £1,008 - £1,221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serengeti Pioneer Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Southern Serengeti (within the Moru Kopjes area), Serengeti Pioneer Camp is ideally situated to offer unrivalled access to the annual migration and the 'Big 5' with sweeping views overlooking Moru Kopjes, Lake Magadi and the endless plains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Serengeti Pioneer Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing