We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
£1,573
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
£1,574
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£1,574
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
520
26
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
520
26
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water solar power game drives two nights personalized service watching the sunrise day safari our honeymoon rock hyrax every meal the entire staff assistant manager endless plains main area treated like royalty personal butler magical experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This place just captures your senses.
Its location is great and once you get there the View of what everyone has heard of Serengeti (The endless plains) can be seen from the Lounge!
The tents are actually on the ground and make you feel the real bush. Though offering all the luxuries you can need. The Chef was superb and we loved the managers!
Will try to find our way back here for sure.

Room tip: Tents are Far Apart so if you can not walk long or are afraid of the night walk to your Tent book close to the main area.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arushan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Thank you for your review on our little gem in the Serengeti.

The view from our lounge overlooking the great plains of the Serengeti is as you have experienced simply breathtaking. Our chef and his team are delighted to hear you enjoyed their food! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Alison, Tom and the Serengeti Pioneer Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We are a family of 4 and stayed at this camp for 1 night amongst our 7 day safari. This camp was probably the most expensive of the 5 we visited but it lived up to and in fact exceeded our expectations. The location is spectacular and the staff lead by Tom and Alison were efficient, excellent at their jobs and all very friendly and welcoming. From the moment you drive up and are greeted, to the welcome drinks up in the lounge (what a view!) to the fabulous and almost decadent tents, the unbelievably good food served outside under the stars and everything else in between this is a very special place. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlasGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review! Lovely to hear we exceeded your expectations. While the view from the lounge is unbeatable and the tents are amazing, it is our wonderful team that makes all the difference.

Best wishes from Alison, Tom and the Serengeti Pioneer Camp team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We have just spent a night at the Pioneer and wish we had had some more time there. The Camp is the best I have ever seen in terms of luxury, the management and staff the friendliest people I met in TZ, and the food at Pioneer the most creative. My kids are saving to go back to Pioneer. Many thanks Alison and team.

Room tip: Closer to restaurant to avoid long walk in the dark.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mayuri-O-Straub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Mayuri
Thank you for your kind words on our camp.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we are the friendliest people you have met in Tanzania!
Hope to see you again one day
Best Regards,
Alison, Tom and the Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We went there with my Mother in low of 85 year old and my daugther of 3 years old, which make hard every trip but they here was perfect, In all our circuit serenguety pioneer was the best resort of our choice, Allison and Tom were there every moment for help they are excelents chef and the team respect them a lot and this good ambiance you can feel it , the team of the camp were great,they are corcordial amaical and always worried about of your needs, I was surprise of the great food and watter controls,we were lucky , we had excellent wether for the rain seasson

PS for planing distance Serengety is at 5 hours of NGO ghoro canon and 6 from Arusha but never do Serengeti Tarengueri is too far is at 8hours non stop so in real is becomes 11

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daphnekeufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear Daphne,
Thank for you taking the time to write such a lovely review on our camp.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have shared your comments with our fantastic team and they are also delighted to read your kind words.
Wishing you all the best,
Alison, Tom and the Serengeti Pioneer Camp team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The first thing you see, are various wonderful, very large rocks. Simon, the Manager stands smiling with his staff, waiting for your dusty body to jump onto the ground.

Thoughtfully, nice bathrooms are close to the spot, where the car leaves you. Your tent is very elegant with an excellent floor plan. There is even internet reception in the lounge. The staff helps with flash lights, instructions and baggage. The staff is well trained, and supervised. You get hot water for a shower, You are now ready for a sunset view, climbing up stairs to a lounge placed above some enormous rocks. A spectacular location. I also liked how elegantly the tents were spread over a large piece of land, giving each tent privacy. But that also meant that whenever it was dark, you called for the staff to guide you with flash light and knowledge of the animals that are allowed to roam on the grounds.

Yes, I would return tomorrow, if I could. Thank you Simon for your wonderful sense of humor.

The food is very good, and picnic basket nice. We had stacked up on a lot of water and beer in Arusha, as things are pretty expensive in the Bush.

Room tip: Best view is from the lounge/bar
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MaudH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Elewana Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear Maud,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to hear Simon was looking after you very well. He does have a nice sense of humour!
Hope to see you back again one day.
Kind regards,
Alison, Tom and the Serengeti Pioneer Camp team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews