We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place in the Central Serengeti”
Review of Chaka Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chaka Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in May for 2 nights. Was our favorite place in the Serengenti. Excellent staff. This camp is owned by Duma Explorer, which we have used for 3 safaris in the past 5 years. Wonderful safari operator and they have build an outstanding camp out in the bush. We have stayed at several tented camps during our 3 safaris and Chaka Camp was the best one we have stayed in. It was comfortable, informal and you somehow felt like you were right at home! Bed were wonderful and comfortable. Food was great and staff could not do enought for you! Wish it were closer to California so we could go every year!! If you are anywhere near the Central Serengeti this is the place to stay. Try it, you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: All the tents are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joni53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Who should you use and where should you stay on safari? It all seems so overwhelming when you’re trying to decide from your home base. But take all the stress out of it—choose safari specialists’ www.dumaexplorer.com (who also own and run Chaka Camp) and stay here. Everything is perfect! This is a moveable camp (its location dependant on the migration), established by an independent tour operator (who is US-born, Tanzanian-married, owned and based – so you’re supporting local!).

Chaka is not exclusive to Duma, so no matter which safari tour operator you choose, you can just request they book Chaka Camp as your accommodation. Nor do you have to stay at Chaka if you use Duma, but I guess of the accoms they book, they’ve heard it all—the praises and the grumblings—so at only a few years old, Chaka Camp answers to pretty much everything (and more) that you’ll be considering, (and trying to guess about!) researching from home before you go. Don’t worry, they’ve got it covered and, the price for this level, among the best!

Not camping tents, Chaka is a “tented camp” – luxury hotel standard, in stand-up, loungeroom-sized marquees, in the bush, with ensuites: (hot) showers and flushing toilets! Better frankly, than you get in many major cities. It’s quite astounding. Room marquees are big: king-beds for couples, and can be configured for singles sharing, and families. The camp is solar-powered and there is electricity in-room, as well as UK points for recharging electronics. There’s no wi-fi but mobile reception works in some places. Décor is hand-woven and hand-made African designs and bed linens and pillows are the crisp, comfy, plump, plush, kind. Room marquees are positioned good distances apart to maximise privacy and the camp itself is a secluded oasis on the sea of the Serengeti.

Food for each meal-sitting is specifically-made dishes prepared by a professionally-trained chef (no bain-marie style) and wakeup tea/coffee and breakfast breads are served to your room early morning so you can watch the sun come up across the Serengeti, from your patio, in your pj’s! Made-to-your-liking breakfast is ordered the night before and ready in the open-to-the-Serengeti dining pavilion, ahead (or on return from), your morning safari. Lunch is either a generously portioned packed takeaway, or a dining-pavilion-sitting depending on your safari schedule, and both are great. Dinner is entrée’d with pre-dinner drinks around a fire on the Serengeti plains and is an appetite-pleasing end to a dream-like day. All meals and drinking water included; alcohol additional. *TIP:* Advise of any dietary needs and alcohol preferences on booking, and if it’s possible in the Serengeti, Chaka Camp will most certainly accommodate it.

Boiling hot water is dispensed to your tank five minutes ahead of your arranged shower time/s and allows for about a five minute steaming hot shower from a great shower head. Room marquees are serviced daily as well as swept of dust or mud between safari drives. A “bush taxi” (staff escort) is provided to-and-from your room from dusk onwards and all rooms are equipped with walkie-talkies and an emergency siren/horn. The dining/lounge pavilion has couches, easy chairs, a small library and of course, the bar.

The provision and appointment of decadent luxury in such a remote and spectacular part of the world; with just the division of canvas between you and your surrounds; and ably protected and serviced by a team of professional, funny, accommodating and proud-of-where-they-work staff is simply the stuff dreams are made of. Recommend adding a day to your safari schedule and just hanging out here: eating, drinking, reading and looking out across the Serengeti. Would return, and live here forever (!) ... if I could.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoozSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great camp, excellent staff and hosts, fabulous tented accommodation, Eco-friendly, superb service, great food and of course excellent value. To wake up and have coffee delivered to the tent so you can sit on your veranda and watch Zebra and Impala graze nearby was an unforgettable experience. The serenity of the camp is made more so as there is no heavy drone of a generator in the distance. The camp runs on solar power which is great to see. Having visited pretty much 80% of the camps in the vicinity, nothing beats Chaka on overall excellence.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraKaribu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This Ndutu area Serengeti camp was our favorite. Great chef and kitchen, and everything
was kept very clean. The private tents have built-in showers and toilets, and hot water would
be delivered for showers within a few minutes. From the porch of the tent you could see the birds and other wildlife, and the safari trucks did not need to take long to take us to all the large
Mammals. We strongly recommend this camp. J&J

Room Tip: No significant differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jepandjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We enjoyed a 15-day safari in Tanzania in February and stayed in several lodges and camps. Chaka was my favorite accommodation. The staff were all friendly and attentive, the tents roomy, clean and well-appointed, the food excellent, the showers comfortably warm, and the night skies were dark and filled with stars. The atmosphere of a mobile tent camp in the African wilderness is wonderful, where the wildlife passes near and even through the camp, particularly at night. Not to worry, though, the Chaka staff ensures your safety at all times. We highly recommend including Chaka Camp on your African safari itinerary.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMK256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

When you are aware of the tariffs charged by other accommodations grouped around Chaka Camp on TripAdvisor you realize that Chaka is in a class by itself for value. One can stay at least two nights here for the cost of a single night at any of the camps ranked near it. I and another member of my safari group celebrated our birthdays during our four-night stay in mid-February. To our great disbelief our individually decorated cakes were included in the cost. Cost is not the only bargain at Chaka. Hubert heads a staff proudly dedicated to providing each guest with individual attention, including rubber boots of the right size when the rains descend as they now tend to do increasingly unpredictably. Any mud that you inadvertently track into your spacious tent has disappeared by the time you next enter. Beginning with your coffee, tea, or hot chocolate brought to your tent at wake-up to the hot water bottle you discover at bed-time, your day is their mission. Don't think twice about missing a delicious lunch by scheduling an all-day game drive, you will also find your picnic in a class by itself. Despite being in the Ndutu wilderness we enjoyed hot showers as requested, either one huge or a pair of comfortable beds as requested, properly operating flush toilets, and friendly accompaniment from & to our tents mornings and evenings. Your otherwise silent nights may be punctuated by the sounds of hartebeests, wildebeests, zebras, hyenas, or lions. When your departure day arrives, as will happen all too soon, the entire staff will gather by your vehicle waving and saying "Kwaheri."

Room Tip: We enjoyed tent #1 at the easterly end of camp with a variety of wildlife in close proximity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afriCATreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed four nights at the Chaka Camp. The accommodations were wonderful. The staff was so attentive and considerate. The chef was spectacular. The food was tremendous. They had all the little perks that made the stay so enjoyable. Definitely a place to stay and return too!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tmwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
53.1 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#7 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
499 reviews
63.5 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
467 reviews
46.4 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.3 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#13 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
327 reviews
40.5 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#19 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
169 reviews
35.6 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#35 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaka Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaka Camp

Address: PO Box 2289, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing