We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Better Way to Experience the Serengeti” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mbugani Camps Tent Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mbugani Camps Tent Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nathrop, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No Better Way to Experience the Serengeti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I spent two night with Barnabas and his crew at Mbugani Camp in January 2014. We had no idea what to expect other than we were staying at a tent camp in the Serengeti. We were excited but my wife was a bit apprehensive as she is not necessarily the camping type. What a pleasant surprise we had.

The accommodations were perfect. The tent was spacious and as comfortable as any fine hotel. The dining tent was as fine a place to enjoy a good meal as I can imagine. The view down the plain with the Sun setting in the west was breathtaking.

The staff could not have been more friendly, accommodating, professional. They went out of their way to help make us feel completely at home. Barnabas has a VERY fine crew.

The food was much more than we expected. How they made the meals they did with the remoteness of the camp is a tribute to their commitment to a wonderful customer experience.

The experience was memorable. Listening to Lions roar at night is not something that I ever dreamed I would experience. Waking to the sounds of the Serengeti is something I would love to experience again. There would be not better place to do it than Mbugani Camp.

All in all I would give Mbugani Camp my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanDowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    6
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just returned from Tanzania Safari. Stayed 3 nights at Mbugani Camp in western Serengeti. "Tent Camp" does not capture how great the accommodations are. Over 500 sq foot, tall-wall, tent with wood floor, electric lights, 3/4 bath with hot water, queen size bed, and sitting area for served morning coffee. Food is also great with lots of fresh fruits and vegetables. Chef will even bake you a cake for special events. Staff is most welcoming and accommodating. And the wildlife is almost literally at your door. We saw elephants, baboons, and impala from camp and heard the roar of lions at night. Highly recommend if you want luxury camping close to the Serengeti wildlife

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I have known the owner of Mbugani camps, Barnabas, for 7 years. I met him while he was my safari guide on my first trip to Africa and we bonded. He has remained a good friend since then and on my return to Africa in JUly 2013, we stayed at his new camp. I have been to other camps and his is TOP NOTCH. Plus, it is much larger than most, so large groups can attend and if you're a small group, socializing and meeting new people and their experiences can be optimal. Those are some of the best experiences about the camping experience. Meeting other people and exchanging stories on safari and life experiences. Lodges don't much encourage the campfire experience. The rooms were clean -- HOT RUNNING WATER (which some camps don't have) and the beds super comfy The food is exceptional, especially considering you are in the middle of the Serengeti! All of the comforts of a lodge but with wildlife all around. Nothing like walking to your tent avoiding animal droppings while watching a herd of zebra graze through the front field (the local Cheetah had passed through the day before). And listening to the lions all night long - all around you -- nothing like it. Awesome experience and Mbugani Camp is a wonderful choice. I know the owner is looking to set up another site, so look out for that too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sag Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Unbounded enthusiasm was part of our daily life while at Mbungani Camp. We arrived after a 10 to 12 hour hard drive from Ngorogoro Crater and we were met with the warmest of welcomes, the most comfortable tent arrangements that I would have imagined (bigger than my NYC apartment! and very hot water in the shower) and a fabulous dinner. That was for starters. Our nature drives twice a day were always fabulous. I loved the evenings around the campfire, hearing the animals at night, seeing them first thing in the morning. The camp manager and employees were so warm and joyous and truly wanted to anticipate every need and meet it. It was the highlight of a 10 day safari and I would return tomorrow if I could. Highly recommend this experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skeets1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I cannot recommend Mbugani Camps enough. My partner and I went on a 5 day safari and LUCKILY stayed at Mbugani for two nights- had we know what it was like we would have spent our entire time there. It is incredibly beautiful, the tents are everything you could want, it is so romantic, bush rustic and yet luxurious at the same time. The staff were absolutely wonderful, they were completely on top of every whim and we didn't want for anything the entire time. Honestly I can't rave about this place enough. On a day trip out from Mugbani Camp in the western corridor we saw 3 wildebeest get eaten by crocs as they crossed the river, a cheetah, two "honeymooning" lions, countless elephant and giraffe... Mugbani follow the migration so know where to set up that is for sure. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Recently, I went with Kensington Tours on a spectacular safari trip to Kenya and Tanzania. It was truly a trip of a lifetime. We stopped at several wonderful places in the two countries and far in a way our favorite was Mbugani Camps.

Picture yourself in the middle of the Serengeti Plains, in an absolutely lovely tented camp, in an gorgeous area surrounded by wild animals (we were told that a few nights before we arrived, a pride of 11 or 12 lions decided to rest right outside of our tent!).

The camp is owned by a bright, entrepreneurial Tanzanian named Barnabas, who is a Masai and has spent his life in this part of the world -- much of it as a well known and greatly respected guide for safaris.

Given his background, he knows exactly what to expect and what his guests want and need and he delivered it beyond our wildest dreams.

The tent was adorable, with all the necessary amenities and a man who brought us hot water each morning and evening to draw our bath.

The food? Just terrific! My travel companion liked vegetarian cuisine and I loved meat. No problem. You tell us what you want and we will deliver it and then some. Tasty, well prepared and served cuisine served in a dining tent with Barnabas and his family (they were visiting from the big city :-).

I had mentioned that I missed chocolate, and poof -- there were chocolate chip cookies for us.
How neat was that????

We sat outside by the fire each evening (they had one each night), looking up at the stars, hearing the animals calling out to one another, in the middle of the Serengeti, and felt that we had found paradise.

Not a care in the world, in a safe, wonderful place that made Jurassic Park seem like South Park.

In the morning and afternoon, we would go out for game drives. Go a tenth of a mile in any direction and there are lions....and wildebeests....zebras....leopards....giraffes....rhinos...cape buffalo...., essentially in their back (and front!!) yard.

One morning we went outside the camp area, and there was a lion eating a crocodile!

There were so many great aspects to being there, but let me tell you my personal favorite. Barnabas and his staff. Each person was nicer, harder working, warmer, more innovative than the next one, and Barnabas would regale us with stories of his life out there and his safari adventures.

During our stay, several guides who were passing through (my guide included!) stopped by, said hello, and talked about what a great guide, friend and manager Barnabas is, and I couldn't agree more.

I could go back here once a year -- hopefully for big block of time.

To put this in perspective, I am an ex-travel magazine publisher who has been to 150+ countries.
The idea of being in the African bush in lovely, comfortable surroundings but being part of the natural world around us is what we had hoped to achieve, and these people delivered so much more than we could ever have hoped for.

I really appreciated Kensington Tours for finding this place for us, and whether you use them, someone else, or plan the trip yourself, this should be at the very top of your list.

If you are planning a safari adventure of any kind in East Africa, you must include this magically special place. You will never, ever regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
4.0 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#10 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
#36 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
35.7 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#54 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.2 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
41.9 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
29.8 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#4 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbugani Camps Tent Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbugani Camps Tent Camp

Property: Mbugani Camps Tent Camp
Address: Central Serengeti, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mbugani Camps Tent Camp, in the famed Serengeti National Park in Tanzania, is the way camping should be! Each of the 15 spacious tents (Number of tents varies by season as Mbugani also has mobile tent camps that follow the Great Migration. Please inquire at our website if you would like to find out more about our mobile camps) are furnished in hardwood and wicker furniture, comfortable beds, en suite bathrooms with flush toilets, roomy showers with 2 shower heads, fluffy towels, locally-sourced sisal rugs on the floors, while still being a canvas tent set in the bush and close to the animals. Mbugani Camps is solar-powered, with a back-up generator, and hot and cold running water are available all day (with 5 minute lead-time on hot water needs). Tents have canvas-covered verandahs with camp chairs to enjoy a beverage, a book, or just quiet reflection overlooking the vast plains of the Serengeti. Each tent features two queen-sized beds and one tent is devoted to honeymooners...a king-sized bed and a bit of privacy please! The dining tent also features hardwood furniture, crisp linens, china, glassware and flatware along with locally-made fabrics and decorative items. The walls of the tent can be removed for al fresco dining and boasts a full bar with fine wines from South Africa. A lounge tent is available to all as a gathering place to meet other guests, charge up your electronics, or just relax on the sofa and reflect on your good fortune to be staying here! Offering 3 multi-course meals each day, as well as lunch boxes for game drives, Mbugani Camps has an accomplished chef who prepares scrumptious and generous meals, along with freshly baked breads and desserts. Vegetarian cuisine is available upon request.The friendly and expert staff of Mbugani Camps will greet you upon arrival and are there to assist and serve you throughout your stay. You'd like a bottle of wine or a soft drink brought to your tent? No problem. You need an extra pillow? A place to recharge your camera battery? A little snack before bedtime? Anything your heart desires, they will do their best to accommodate you if it's possible. Each evening a campfire is lit, encircled by safari camp chairs and side tables for a 'Sundowner", (snacks and beverages), story-telling and a re-cap of that days' game drive. You will be escorted by staff to your tent and although animals will occasionally wander through the campsite at night, you will always be safe and secure whether inside or outside your tent. Close to nature without sacrificing the little comforts of home...this is the ONLY way to experience the Serengeti. Imagine yourself here. We do. Welcome to Mbugani Camps. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing