We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was a great property, excellent service, lovely place. Watch out for the flies and ants! Klipspringers and other wildlife right on property. Large rooms, good beds, desk and electricity in rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJCphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights recently and were very pleased indeed with our stay. The camp is small and staff are very welcoming and friendly. The tents are superbly decked out and spacious and clean. And the food was excellent - lots of home made breads, soup etc.
We would have no problem staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Tents were very nice! Large beds, great bathroom and the food was good. Game drives were close to the Camp and we saw plenty of animals. The location is surrounded by large rock formations which were very pretty, but they also meant the views were not great other than 200 feet or so, right outside your tent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyVA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Mbuzi Mawe is an outstanding tented camp located in the Serengeti. This was my favorite Serena property on this trip as well as my trip in 2012. The tents are huge (this time tent #15) and have two queen sized beds. The colors inside are nice and bright making it light and airy. Not only was there a desk area with an appropriate height chair but there was a small seating area which was great for reading or journal writing. The bathroom had double sinks and there was a large reclining lounger on the patio area.

The food was excellent and the staff exceeds in their friendliness. While staying here, a young couple was celebrating their honeymoon. The staff brought them a lovely cake and sang to them much to the enjoyment of the rest of us.

The best part is the closeness of the wildlife. Since the camp is not fenced, you are escorted starting early in the evenings. There are plenty of photogenic klipspringers throughout and if you’re quiet, they will come very close. During a terrific rainstorm, two klipspringer parents brought their youngsters to stand near the tent wall under the overhang while they continued to stand watch in the pouring rain. There are however, naughty baboons and it is important when here to totally zip up your tent as well as place the lounger cushion across the zipper area.

Internet is available at no charge at your tent although on this trip, apparently there were some problems and I couldn’t get it to work as I did last time.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Any tent is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganLaurena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

One of the most thrilling night of my trip to Serengeti. Scenically located in a glade, known as ‘the place of the klipspringer' (mbuzi mawe), and guarded by three million year-old granite towers, this luxury tented-camp is unique. Cleverly located on one of the main annual migration corridors for over one million wildebeest, half a million zebras and gazelles, and their accompanying cast of predators it is also located at the very epicentre of one of the world's most famous national parks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKARIMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was the most thrilling night of my trip to Tanzania.

Pros:
You are smack dab right in the middle of the Serengeti. Animals all around you. You even need an escort to go between your tent and dinner every night.
You might get eaten by a lion- what a way to go out.
Super friendly staff
Great food
An EXHILARATING night's sleep in a modern tent- great bed, shower, everything you want to feel like an old British explorer.

Cons:
Nothing. Loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights here as a base to see the Serengeti. The tented rooms were very comfortable and unique. The staff were delightful and so warm and friendly. Breakfast and the packed lunches were the best we had in Tanzania. Laundry prices are very reasonable. About $1US a shirt. We have spent our week in Tanzania in Serena group accommodation so the meals tend to be very similar and repetitive but the quality here was the best of them. The evening meals were okay but the main meals were disappointing. We found the massage prices exorbitant $95 US. For an hour. With staff costs as they are in Tanzania we thought this was over the top. The staff tried to do everything to make us happy - roasting some nuts for us to have with our drinks and also bringing some cheese on request. Drink service during the meal was slow as the staff were busy coping with a full house.it is billed as luxury camping but the food is a bit of a way off to be 5 star.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glentromie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
57.6 mi away
Kirawira Serena Camp
Kirawira Serena Camp
#31 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
273 reviews
37.3 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#26 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
185 reviews
46.4 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
920 reviews
18.3 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#35 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
47 reviews
26.7 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#64 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £336 - £771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by an amphitheatre of monolithic rock sculptures known as kopjes, the reincarnated Serengeti Mbuzi Mawe Camp nestles in a secluded acacia glade with sweeping views over the alternately lush and burning plains of Serengeti National Park. Carefully sited on one of the main annual migrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mbuzi Mawe Tented Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing