We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a 6-night safari in Tanzania in June of last year. We chose June because of the wildebeest migration - the weather was great (in the 80s F), and we literally saw hundreds of thousands of animals over the 6 days. Really quick background/side note. We arranged the trip through a UK company called luxury-safaris. They were amazing and extremely helpful with organizing everything and working within our budget. I believe that the tour/guide company with which they set us up was called Warner Safaris - if that's correct, see if you can get Dynamite as your guide for the week. The guy is incredibly nice, knowledgable, and he truly cares about the animals and conserving the area (he would stop the car in the parks if he saw any piece of trash, hop out, pick it up, and then carry on). Luxury-Safaris partners with Serena lodges, and they were all great! We felt like we were in “Out of Africa” because during the day we’d get absolutely filthy bouncing around in the safari jeep through the dirt. Then at night, we’d come back to the lodge to get cleaned up, have pre-dinner drinks with our group, a four-course dinner, and after-dinner drinks before heading to bed and repeating the process again the next day.

During our check-in briefing at the Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge, the receptionist explained that there are no fences around the property and the animals are free to come and go, and often use the pool for drinking water. Therefore, we were not allowed to walk around alone at night, but had to call a guard to escort us - pretty cool! And that night after dinner, we did see an owl next to the pool, dik-diks running around, and even a serval cat.

This lodge is really nice. The "huts" look very traditional and not at all out of place from the outside. On the inside, they are clean, luxurious, and comfortable, with huge glass doors to the balcony, so you can wake up with an incredible view of the sun rising over the Serengeti. The food was great (buffet style), drinks are reasonably priced, and the staff are all extremely friendly.

If I could, I would fly back to Tanzania tomorrow and do this trip all over again. Just go - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhouse85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

stayed here for 2 nights in feb. the rooms were excellent and modern. super clean, and very spacious with sliding door to mini patio. has mosquito net around the bed.....hot showers any time! we had some problems with our toilet not flushing properly, but the staff were very responsive (like immediate!) and fixed the issue right away. great job!

the food is buffet style.....(go for fresh juice in the morning! pineapple particularly good! if you get it at any other time..you pay.) with good selection. dinner also has a nice selection too. good was solid (no complaints..but nothing wow-ing either).

they have free wifi in the main bar/lounge area, just ask front desk for code. lots of seats with free coffee. a lot of ppl smoke on the outdoor lounge area though. also beware of old ladies facetiming with their children while walking around the lounge area as well.

can also pickup stamps at the gift shop as well (expensive..but convenient)

overall, very happy with this place.... which is a must considering the place is pretty expensive.

Room Tip: chose a room close to the main building....upstairs suite if possible since each hut has an upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aki86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Six of us (three couples) stayed at this lodge for 3 nights. This was the last stop on our Safari. We stayed at two other Serena Lodges (Lake Manyara and Ngorongoro). Each one is set on a beautiful location. However this lodge felt really special. As there is no fence separating the lodge property from the Serengeti National Park, you experience the feeling of being in the wild. During our stay the lodge was not overcrowded with guests.

Our check-in was prompt and we were given wi-fi passwords as well as instructions for calling the reception for a guard, if we wanted to walk to and from our room to the main lodge after sunset, as animals roam freely on the property after dark. We did see gazelles, monkeys and dik diks during day time while having a drink on the verandah.

Our rooms were nicely furnished. The regulation mosquito net and insect spray were there. But the best part of the room was the balcony, where you can look at a large expanse of the park as far as the eye goes. I never got tired of standing there and taking in the beautiful site, specially at sunrise.

The food and service was excellent. Lots of choices for all tastes. The picnic lunches were substantial but on the bland side. The servers and the chef were very accommodating for special needs of some of the members in our group.

To sum it, all of us enjoyed our stay at the lodge. If I get a chance, I will gladly go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms will offer you views from the balcony, that you will cherish for a long time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curiousrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The rooms are charming with balconies and views over the plain. Upstairs rooms would have even better views. There's a decent sized pool, and a lookout point from which you can see lots of game in the distance. The unfenced grounds are interesting. The resident leopard - which we didn't encounter - has eaten all but 3 of many dikdiks so may have to move on soon. After dark you must be escorted to and from your room! Sadly there were no visiting elephants, lions or buffaloes during our brief stay but we saw evidence of their visits within yards of the attractive dining area. The resident naturalist, Hagai, is excellent. We recommend a walk with him to learn about the vegetation and how the Maasai use it for all sorts of purposes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19lenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our last night of an 8 night safari having stayed at various other lodges and tented camps. The setting and
Accommodation was great with a nice pool overlooking the Serengeti, as were the views from our rondel. It was nice to have abit more luxury than some of our other stops, but this was spoilt by the large number of other guests, which created long queues at the quite ordinary buffet and was not dissimilar to one of the stampedes we'd seen on our travels! If you're looking for quiet rustic accommodation this is not the place to stay but if you want luxury in a hotel style setting you will probably not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeasonedTraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The Serengeti Serena sits in a nice location overlooking the plains and mountains. The rooms are good sized, and are similar to other Rondavel style rooms at other locations. The food was buffet style, and had a good variety, and pretty good quality. The food staff was not very attentive or friendly, especially compared to the other places we stayed on safari. We arrived after a large group, and were not given the type of room we had requested. We mentioned this to the front desk staff, and the manger assured us we would get a better room the next day, and we did--the Presidential Suite. It has a living room and large bedroom, great views from the balcony, 2 bathrooms, and a large bathtub.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a king-sized bed when you make your reservation if you want one. Room 43 has a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The first class accommodation in Serengeti. Serena is beautifully located on the hill overlooking Serengeti. Excellent view with elephants, giraffes and antelopes around.

Large rooms with your own patio. You can see animals in the morning or to hear them at night. Tasty and large variety of foods. They offer entertainment program before dinner.
Shortly, it is the type of accommodation you would expect in some Caribbean resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drago_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
18.1 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#7 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
494 reviews
27.2 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
465 reviews
38.3 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
183 reviews
8.7 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#19 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
167 reviews
21.4 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#25 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Mbingwe Valley, Serengeti National Park N/A, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £306 - £701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by a traditional African village this extraordinary lodge presents a vibrant design concept rich in indigenous craft and cultural detail that is without compare. Set high on a hill with rolling visas over the teeming plains of a natural amphitheater it also enjoys a ringside seat for the greatest show on earth, the annual migration of the wildebeest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Serena Safari Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing