We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A very nice lodge with beautiful grounds in the middle of the Serengeti. Plenty of hand carved wood columns and local craftsmanship used though out the lodge. There drive to the lodge included a informative and very interesting stop at Oldupai Gorge- would highly recommend a stop here. Plenty of game viewing also along the way. The room was clean and comfortable and pool refreshing with a stunning view of the plains. Unique round kitchen with plenty of live cooking stations & many options. Would like to include a ballon ride on return trip. Only negative comment would be the inability anywhere in the lodge to break down large Tanzanian bills into smaller ones for tipping purposes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 154914PandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our Serengeti safari. Located in the centre of the park it enables you to travel to almost all parts of the park to see the migration, regardless of the time of year. The accommodation itself was excellent, the rooms were fantastic, staff very friendly and helpful, and the views from the lodge and rooms are amazing. This is a true safari lodge, there are no fences around the lodge and during hours of darkness you require an escort to get from the main facilities to your room. But there are plenty of trained escorts to provide this service. During our stay leopard was seen at night wandering between the rooms. The food is probably not true 5 star quality one would expect in a 5 star city hotel, however given the remoteness of the lodge the food was more than satisfactory, with ample choice catering for all ages and tastes. A great base for those wishing to visit the Serengeti, and would recommend to others.

Travelled as a family of 4, and the lodge has interconnecting rooms to cater for families which was great. Our driver/guide also informed us that the Serena Serengeti Lodge has the best driver accommodation of all the lodges. Thus helps make for a happy driver in staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelindaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Serena chain of hotels continue to live upto their luxury offerings with this venue, with lush green landscapes, wooden cabins/huts with thatched roofs set in wildlife surroundings and awesome decor & food options. But the staff if not trustworthy & we lost $400 on the very first night of the stay.

We reached Serengti Serena hotel on late evening of December 15th, 2013. On check–in we were escorted to room # 59 by the hotel’s security guard. We took about 15-20 minutes to settle down and freshen up and called the security at extension #2 to ask for escort back to the restaurant for dinner. While we were waiting for the escort guard, we tried locking up our valuables, passports and purse in the room’s safe but the safe didn’t lock and showed error code of “Err2”. We called security again at extension #2 and reported the problem. The receiver informed us that the escort was on his way to pick us up for dinner and the manager wasn’t available to help with the safe at that very moment. He suggested that we get hold of the manager after dinner on our way back to room. Per his advice, we waited for the escort and followed him to the dining restaurant but realized that we didn’t have change to tip the escort or the server at the restaurant so we decided to go back to the room with the same escort. He called up someone over his phone /transmitter
and spoke in a language that we didn’t understand. On questioning about what happened, he said we need to escort guests from room #33 on our way back to the restaurant. So we hurried up to our room #59. We were surprised to see a helper (hotel employee) inside our room setting our bed (in other hotels, helpers don’t clean the room unless requested). It seemed a little odd since we had just checked in and hadn’t used the bed and had not requested any room cleaning. Nevertheless, we were told that he was helping with the mosquito net. We picked up some change for the tips & left the room to go to dining restaurant. On our way we reminded the escort that we had to pick up guests from room #33 but he said that someone else will be escorting them. (We did not see or hear any phone conversation about this change of plans about room #33. Maybe it happened when we were inside our room picking up change). After dinner, we stopped by again at the lobby asking for manager & we were told that someone should be at our room in about 5 minutes. We went to our room with the escort and started getting ready for bed but didn’t hear anyone knock on the door to help with the safe, we called the front desk again and were informed that someone is on his way to help us. A person showed up in about 2 minutes and showed us how to close the safe, also he was professional enough to look away while we punched in the security code for the safe. With the safe now closed, we retired to bed as we had an early start of 4 AM for balloon safari.

Our Monday, December 16th 2013, was started with balloon safari and we got back to hotel for lunch. Post lunch we took a nap & started with our safari guide to spot few animals. We got back to hotel around 6:30 PM, freshened up in our room, had dinner at the hotel’s restaurant and retired to bed.

On morning of Tuesday, December 17th, 2013 we opened the safe (after it was closed the night of December 15th) and checked out of the hotel. Note that we did not open the safe after it was closed with the help of the hotel person on night of Dec 15th. We started driving to Ngorogoro Crater where we were staying with Serena hotel at Ngorongoro Crater. On our way we realized that $400 were missing from the purse that was inside the safe.

What we would like to know is when the security at Serengeti Serena was informed on the evening of Dec 15th, that the safe is unlocked, why did they send someone to set the bed? We hadn’t even requested any room or bed cleaning. If this is a practiced norm to setup beds for guests, why would they send someone when they were aware that the safe is unlocked which means the guests do not have a place to stow their valuables? We find this a breach of privacy and incompetency on the management part to send helpers to room when their guests were in vulnerable situations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Sona_G81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed at the Serena for only 1 night. This is a fairly large resort in a good location at the Serengeti National Park, however, the resort is fairly tired and needs a serious upgrade.
The Buffet Style dining was based on quantity and mass dining. The Serena Group has the best choice of hotels in Tanzania however there is an urgent need to renovate and upgrade all their hotels as times are changing...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanjG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have stayed 2 nights during our Safari at the Serengeti on the Tanzania side, the park is the best our of the 4 we have seen. Serena was the main chain we have stayed during our trip.
The Serena hotel at the Serengeti is in excellent location just as part of the park very natural with all that you need. The staff is super nice and helpful and we enjoyed allot from our stay there.

Room Tip: For family try the family room or the family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNIGHT_WEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The construction and location of this lodge is absolutely amazing.
They have incorporated the Kopje into the building so it feels like we are on top of a Kopje looking down at the plain. The food and service were excellent. We were very comfortable and it was a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I'm running behind on my hotels so here it goes it's worth every penny!!!! Amazing breakfasts!! While on safari in the park they will provide a boxed lunch that was okay, the only reason for the boxed lunch is that your way out in the bush which takes close to 30-40 min to get back to have lunch. There's a good chance you'll miss something exciting. Once you've completed that days safari you go back to your individual lodges which over look the open tree lined jungle!! The hotel will enforce that after 7 pm you need a escort by security to the main dining area reason being is that a wild animal could potentially wander into the complex!! Yes!!!! On our last night there we heard a lion roar a few times during the night. You're also told no to sit on your balcony after 7 as well once you've finished dinner and want to go back to the lodge you another escort back. However over all I'd go back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank alyd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
12.4 mi away
Melia Serengeti Lodge
Melia Serengeti Lodge
#4 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
7 reviews
18.1 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#6 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
526 reviews
27.2 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.3 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#17 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
333 reviews
8.7 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#20 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
176 reviews
14.9 mi away
Serengeti Sopa Lodge
Serengeti Sopa Lodge
#22 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Mbingwe Valley, Serengeti National Park N/A, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £244 - £672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by a traditional African village this extraordinary lodge presents a vibrant design concept rich in indigenous craft and cultural detail that is without compare. Set high on a hill with rolling visas over the teeming plains of a natural amphitheater it also enjoys a ringside seat for the greatest show on earth, the annual migration of the wildebeest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Jovago.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Serena Safari Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing