We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury "camping"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serengeti Migration Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for just one night at the end of our safari. This is a fairly large camp with beautifully decorated, luxurious tents. This was very different from the other camp we stayed at and the tent is actually more like a cabin. The sleep quality wasn't great as we woke up to a lot of animal noises but it's definitely an experience! We also enjoyed seeing hyrax running around outside our tent and around the main lodge. The whole camp is beautiful and the staff was very friendly. There was a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room when we arrived even though we were only there for a night.
Also, be careful of the baboons at the entrance. We closed up our car but didn't lock the roof and they broke in and went through our trash and stole our bananas.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccjs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a wonderful experience and saw some incredible sights during our 2 nights at Migration Camp. The tents (you can hardly call them tents) are extremely comfortable with large comfortable beds, solid timber floors, lovely roomy bathrooms and a nice deck to relax and listen to the nearby wildlife. On the lawn outside our tent we had a visit from a family of warthog grazing on the grass. The views from the main restaurant and public areas are gorgeous and the wildlife in the area is amazing. We saw a pride of 20 lionesses and their cubs and watched them for some time without another vehicle insight. The meals were delicious but my favourite was without double the simple breakfast, whilst on a game drive, in the middle of the Serengeti, you just pinch yourself and cant believe the stunning setting. I would highly recommend Migration Camp not only is it a beautiful camp but it also boasts a truly beautiful location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhnafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I decided on a safari were completely and totally satisfied every step of the way at the Migration Camp. The hotel team, accommodations, dining options and ambiance were outstanding! We used a private vehicle from the camp for day game runs and enjoyed the wonderful surroundings at the camp at sunset swimming, sitting by a fire and throughout the night…whether they be hippo, elephants, baboons, or the stars. We can't wait to share the experience with our children next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a tree up on the hill. You have to be up for a little climb, but the views are wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed three nights. The accomodations were out of this world. The mana
gement and staff were excellent. Location for game drives was fantastic, This is the only way to tent, Very large cabins so close to the action. Treated like royalty.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryF994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

what a perfect place to stop over while on safari in the Serengeti. we arrived 3 weeks after the migration heards had passed through this area but still had an absolute ball. They do not rate safety second, we were escorted to and from our cabin which was beautifully presented. the pool is amazing. overall a tremendous place to stay. also try one of their walking safaris if you're brave enough.

Room Tip: all rooms are great. you really cant go wrong here. but try to get one right on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandM0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Staff and owners were awesome! Beautiful accommodations and luxury right on the Grumeti. No need for a safari vehicle as the wildlife is right around you. Would definitely recommend the Camp as a perfect spot to relax in luxury after a day on safari!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clewcuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Migration Camp lies just above a hippo pool. The hippos serenade the rooms closest to the pool as they leave to forage in the evening and return in the morning. There is a nature walk that gets you close to the hippos. The tent cabins are large, spacious and comfortable with 24-hour electricity, running water, and hot (solar heated) water during the daytime. The service level is high. Meals are served in a garden or in an open sided dining room. There were no insects during our meals while we were there in February. The Camp is at the northern end of the national park. During February, the great herds of Wildebeest and Zebras are in the southern end of the park; you will not see them. This has its pluses and minuses. On the one hand, you will not see 1,000s of animals massed together. On the other hand, you will have the northern end of the park, which has plenty of animals (but few or no wildebeest or zebras), pretty much to yourself. We saw no other game watching vehicles the whole day we were out game watching. This means there was less dust, and a greater sense of being on a unique adventure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southwind3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#1 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
207 reviews
22.4 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#7 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
500 reviews
38.3 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.3 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
467 reviews
54.9 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#9 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
275 reviews
57.4 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#27 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Migration Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Migration Camp

Address: Northern Corridor, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £633 - £1,201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serengeti Migration Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the vast plains, the Serengeti Migration Camp is located at the starting point of one of the world’s great wonders - the Annual Migration. The Serengeti Migration Camp, part of the Elewana Collection of Lodges, Camps and Hotels in Tanzania and Kenya, has been recognized for its exemplary experiences in accommodation, culinary excellence, and game viewing safaris. Travelandleisure, one of the travel industries largest travel trade portals, has conducted a comprehensive poll with its large readership of travel professionals and has subsequently voted the Serengeti Migration Camp the 6th Best Safari Camp in the World and the Tenth Best Hotel in the World. The Migration Camp comprises 20 unexpectedly large elevated canvas pavilions, featuring hardwood floors and luxurious furnishings, and each room has its own private deck with a 180 degree view of the Serengeti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Jovago.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Serengeti Migration Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Migration Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing