We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, outstanding hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
Certificate of Excellence
basel/switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location, outstanding hosts!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed for three wonderfiul nights at Kusini and where blown away by its location, by its food, by the friendly service and especially by our hosts, Debby and Chris. Unforgettable moments on the rocks during sunset, having drinks and sharing the daily experiences with the other guests - a dream. Thank you so much for making us feel home! We hpoefully will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dica_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Excellent review thank you so much!!

We are thrilled to hear that you felt at home... thank you for you kind comments especially about Chris and Debbie.

We hope to welcome you back one day soon for the unforgettable sunsets on the rock..

Would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreat and Kusini Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best Wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
74
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Camp is about 20 min drive from Serengeti South Airstrip and I got picked up my Chris the Camp Manager and my guide Emmanuel who took me on a little game drive before lunch. Sooo much to see and explore, he was very knowledgable, checked what my interests were and explained a lot, taking me to the best photo spots and ensure I get my share of food for the lens! Lunchtime in the Camp and welcome again by Chris and Debbie, the management couple who create a true family feel amongst the guests of the 11 or 12 tents. Food is creative, beautifully presented and of high standard, be it a picnic lunch ( in basket, with furniture ) or a meal in the Camp, the service is caring and excellent, good beverage list and a nice little shop to buy some local good quality souvenirs. Sundowners are taken on the "Rock" - the area is full of them and from the house rock the sunset looks beautiful and once the sun is down everyone sits around the fire for cocktails before dinner. There is plenty of wildlife on the grounds and after dark Askari guards escort the guests back and forth - you may meet one of the 3 resident buffalos, a few zebras, Wildebeest and other creatures - all fun! It's such a charming experience, they even offer Spa and massage service ( I did not have time ). Thankfully I had 3 days, a bit more time to enjoy the service and facilities. Excellent WiFi in the main camp area for the one's who occasionally need to connect to their world and of course a high quality of vehicles. You are taken care of from A to Z and Chris and Emmanuel waived good bye when I took off with the little plane, like seeing off a family member! Can HIGHLY recommend this Camp as a place and home to stay when visiting Serengeti

Room Tip: I had tent number 8 which seemed to have one of the best views, over an edge and into the woods. One...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagmar2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely detailed review and the recommendation muc appreciated!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us at Kusini and thank you for all your lovely comments.

Chris, Debbie, Emmanuel and the rest of the team absolutely loved hosting you and are eager to welcome you back one day.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreat and Kusini Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best Wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

It was the last stop of our trip, and the weather was rainy so on the first game ride our car got stuck in the mud, it was fun and it was different, all the animals were staring at us trying to get the car out, as far as safari goes I don't know if it really counted as one but we had been on so many safaris this was different and fun, one of those stories you'll tell everyone. Our second and last full day there the serengeti did not disappoint, the sun came out and we got to see what the serengeti really is about…wildebeest everywhere!! as far as the eye could see it was such an amazing sight we just stared in awe. At the camp we had a sundowner at the rocks (incredible). The management and staff are amazing hosts, they make your stay unforgettable and you like the camp even more. The camp itself is truly a tented camp and an excellent one, what you see in the pictures is what you get…animals right outside your door and you can hear them all night moving around amazing experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Tania,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Kusini on Tripadvisor!

We are very pleased that you had an unforgettable experience with us. Our team loved hosting you and would love to welcome you back one day soon.

Until then please keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreat and Kusini Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best Wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My family and I spent 3 days and 3 nights at Kusini over Christmas. The management (Debbie and Chris) and staff at kusini are exceptional hosts, knowledgeable, detail oriented and attentive to the needs/desires of their guests. The tents are spacious, wash rooms clean and great water pressure. :) The foods was great as well, including the proper hamper for the daily picnic lunch. After a long day on safari, Debbie and Chris set up cushions on a large rock overlooking the landscape to view the sunset with some cocktails. then the group can adjourn for dinner and then the fire pit for some toasty marsh mellows and a review of the celestial constellations. The camp's location is at the southern end of the park on a hilltop that gives a great perspective of the surrounding lands. I would also recommend the hot air balloon ride across the serengeti/ngorongoro plains. All things considered, Kusini was the nicest place we stayed in Tanzania.

Room Tip: I don't have a tip on rooms, but you can be very specific in your picnic desires. They have a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEWIS077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this great review, much appreciated!!

We are thrilled that you had an awesome time with us at Kusini Camp and thank you for all your kind comments, we shared this with the rest of the team they loved your feedback!

Was indeed a privilege hosting you and your family and we are eager to welcome you back one day in the not too distant future.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreat and Kusini Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best Wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

If you are going to be in the Serengeti, I can think of no better place to lay your head down, relax, and enjoy being in this beautiful area. The accommodations are simple but elegant, and as you look out from your porch, there are baboons and other animals right in front of you.

Debbie and Chris, the camp managers, are welcoming, knowledgeable about the area, and do every thing possible to make your stay relaxing and special. And they have a great team supporting them.

The food was probably the best we had on our trip--always interesting selections, and accommodations are easily made for anyone with food restrictions.

I can think of no better place to stay if you are blessed enough to go to the Serengeti.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Harvey-Jane,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed you stay with us and thank you for your kind comments especially about our team they loved your review!!

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back one day soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreat and Kusini Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best Wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was one of the first places we stayed at in A&K's Wings Over the Migration safari. It was also one of the two best places we stayed at in the two weeks that we were in Tanzania/Kenya. )The other was Sanctuary Olana in Kenya.) The staff, accommodations and food here were excellent. Chris and Debbie (Camp Managers) know what they are doing and make staying in a tented camp a pure pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for this lovely review!!

We are very pleased that you experienced two of our properties and had a enjoyable stay at both.

Thank for your lovely feedback, Chris, Debbie and the rest of the team loved hosting you and are eager to welcome you back again one day soon.

In the meantime you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Kusini Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed in five locations in Tanzania and Kenya on an A&K "Wings Over Migration" safari, and Sanctuary Kusini was probably the most special of the luxury tent camps. It lies in the Southern end of the Serengeti Park and is a relatively remote location on a hilltop. The tent-cabins are spaced well apart from one another and provide both the feel of great privacy, but also exposure to the animals, with baboon, elephant, and Cape Buffalo having the roam of the resort grounds. The cuisine was exceptional, the firepit at night the most inviting of all the places we staged, and the resort managers, Debbie and Chris, just exceptionally friendly, attentive and entertaining hosts. The wonderful benefit of this part of the Park is that the land cruisers were able to leave the dirt roads and wander endlessly directly onto the grassy savanna to track down the animals. Just an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Robert,

What a lovely review, thank you so much!

We’re so glad to hear that you had such an exceptional experience with us and that Kusini was the most special camp you stayed at.

It was an honour to host you and your family and we do hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Until then, please keep up with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Kusini by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
22.8 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#29 of 116 in Serengeti National Park
162 reviews
69.2 mi away
Kirawira Serena Camp
Kirawira Serena Camp
#28 of 116 in Serengeti National Park
258 reviews
58.0 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#20 of 116 in Serengeti National Park
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#4 of 116 in Serengeti National Park
226 reviews
100.7 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#7 of 116 in Serengeti National Park
476 reviews
61.3 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#59 of 116 in Serengeti National Park
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti

Property: Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
Address: PO Box 427, Njiro Hill, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Sanctuary Kusini's charm is its remote and private location within the park, offering exceptional and essentially private game viewing. Built around a spectacular rocky outcrop, or kopje, the camp's communal areas include a dining area, lounge and library, as well as a campfire. The views from the kopje are simply sensational - the perfect spot for sundowners and stargazing. The library is stocked with reference books to read up on the day's discoveries, and of course, our experienced guides are always on hand to fill in about local knowledge where books cannot. Like all Sanctuary properties, Sanctuary Kusini is designed to have minimal environmental impact, in fact the camp can be packed up and removed without leaving a trace. The open-plan ensuite twelve tents at Sanctuary Kusini are shaded from the sun by acacia trees and all are positioned carefully with thought out views of the surrounding plains and extremely spacious at 48 square metres. Each tent has its own personal attendant to look after guests during their stay and feature mosquito netting, hairdryers and in-room safe. A large private wooden veranda with comfortable furnishings extends in front of each tent, with many having views of the plains below where zebra, buffalo and lion are a common sight year-round, the ideal spot to relax for a sundowner after a hot restorative shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and South African Hotels so you can book your Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing