We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best vacation”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our stay at the Sayari Camp was absolutely incredible! From the moment we were picked up by our driver at the airstrip to the moment we sadly left, we were treated like family. Our tour guide Promice was incredibly knowledgable and did everything he could to make our trip enjoyable. The camp was so beautiful and comfortable and the food was delicious. The Serengeti is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. Seeing the animals in their own habitat was so awesome! The entire staff made us feel like they were genuinely happy that we were there. Promice, Victor, Iyoub, and Elise; I will never forget any of you. You will all hold a special place in my heart. Asante Sana for a wonderful experience!
Sue

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    46
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
111
254
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I had been to the Serengeti before, but never during the Migration. What a breathtaking event! And Sayari may be the perfect place in which to experience it.

Positioned conveniently near the Mara River, the camp is a very good place from which to reach the crossing points in the daytime. The sounds of wildebeests and hippos become a welcome constant and your morning conversation is likely to include discussion of the previous night's visitors (jackals, elephant, etc.)

Our driver/guide Keyvutu was superb. He ably answered a myriad of questions about the game and the landscape, knew every bird and plant, and excelled at positioning the vehicle for the best photo shot. One of the best driver/guides I have ever been privileged to have guide me.

Sayari is a permanent tented camp, even 'though the teak floors, elegant bathrooms, beautiful furnishings, and Japanese-style room dividers underplay the "camp" aspect. The meals are very good and the service is friendly and attentive - never intrusive, but always available.

If you are considering the Northern Serengeti and looking for an exceptionally comfortable place with a very professional staff, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonriser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have just returned from our two week safari in Tanzania. We spent our last 4 days at Sayari Camp. In our group were my parents, my husband and our two sons. We all had such amazing experience at Sayari. I highly recommend that should you have the opportunity to stay here that you do it. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Each time we arrived into the common areas, we greeted by name and waited on with much care and kindness. The chef prepared special meals our picky eating youngest son and served him with a flair that made him feel special, often they were delivered by the wonderful and charming chef personally. It also happened to be my birthday while we were there, lucky me had a birthday song and parade by the staff that will never be forgotten - utterly fantastic and heartfelt. The rooms were lovely with personal touches from the managers, Katherine & Ross. Did I mention that we were almost always greeted by Katherine & Ross when we returned from our twice daily game drives, along with a tray of cool cloths to freshen up? It is a special place in so many ways! Calson, our guide was knowledgable, kind, funny & managed our group which ranged in age from 76 to 12 effortlessly. His passion, depth of knowledge and humble manner kept us all constantly engaged. It was an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had one of the best vacations ever at the Asilia camps. The staff was unbelievably gracious, and took pride in their jobs. We loved the variety of the camps we stayed especially the Sayari, it was comfortable and peaceful. The food was outstanding. It was clearly a five star experience.
The game drivers were very experienced and fun. They were GREAT!

We look forward to returning to Africa in the future and staying at Sayari!

Patty from Plano, Texas

Room Tip: all the rooms are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
432 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This is a very good camp for those that do not want to subject themselves to a real Safari experience but to continue to pamper themselves. However, I would strongly recommend staying at one of the more rustic but exceptional mobile camps also owned by the Asilia Group. This will give you a true African Safari experience of a life time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kmquek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The photos don't do it justice! Rooms are large and comfortable though bathroom is only separated by canvas. Shared areas are plentiful and comfortable. Views are panoramic. The camp can be very noisy in migration with Wilde beast, hyena, hippopotamus , leopard etc outside the 'tent' all night, but we loved it. Spotlighting from our rooms was a highlight! Katherine, Ross and the staff look after everyone 24 hours a day and at no time do you feel unsafe. The packed meals were interesting and generous and the meals in camp were delicous and fresh. Our guide ' Promise' was faultless. What a wonderful, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable young man. The best ' tented ' camp of several in the Serengeti we have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldenjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My Husband and I stayed at Sayari as part of our Honeymoon experience in Africa. We had not have a holiday in over 2 years since I launched my business and had to wait 6 months to go on honeymoon, so we were banking on a trip of a lifetime. Our experience at Sayari did not disappoint!

The camps were gorgeous, luxury, with an authentic feel.....coming from the desert in Dubai, we truly appreciated the abundance of green and the cool fresh air that surrounded us every day. The food at Sayari was award winning in my opinion...absolutely delicious, we really enjoyed dining with other guests too on long beautifully set tables, however, we loved our romantic outdoor dinner by candle light on the last evening set up just for us by the staff.

Our Safari Guide Emmanuel and his trainee 'Promise' were brilliant, informative and good company. Emmanuel is also a genuine member of the Masai Tribe, and gavve us a fascinating insight into the culture of the Masai's. We saw a zebra migration, and unfortunately a baby zebra being taken down by a croc, we saw lions, giraffe, elephants, hippo's, buffalo, a rare black rhino and the highlight was patiently waiting for a leopard to come down from his day rest at sunset, he came right up to our jeep, gracefully prowling around, stretching and at one point, he lay on his back and had an itch.....it was incredible..!

It was my husbands birthday during our stay on the last morning, so the camp arranged a light champagne breakfast in our tent (which they do not usually do due to ants having a feast, but we were leaving shortly after, so they made an exception).......All in all, we had an amazing time! T

he staff were all fabulous and we miss them already, Michele, the relief manager made every effort to chat to us daily and we enjoyed some interesting conversations. I would love to return one day when I have children so they can experience the joy of seeing wildlife in their natural habitat!

We think Asilia is a great group,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desertspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
45.2 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
387 reviews
57.3 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
855 reviews
25.1 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#14 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.8 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
431 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#21 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
186 reviews
60.7 mi away
Kati Kati Tented Camp
Kati Kati Tented Camp
#9 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Sayari Camp is renowned for extraordinary wildlife sightings and supreme comfort. Set on the unspoilt plains of the Northern Serengeti, close to the famous Lamai Wedge, Sayari gives you easy access to the Mara River and multiple river crossing points. Sayari Camp offers some of the world's finest game viewing - and it does so in remarkable style. Relax in your extra-comfortable hillside suite after a day on safari, or take a dip in the glorious rim-flow swimming pool with dramatic views over the northern plains. Intimate, contemporary and elegant, it is no surprise that this permanent camp is regularly voted one of the top safari escapes on the planet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing